Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Matomo - Self Hosted Real-Time Web Analytics by TurnKey GNU/Linux

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

65 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    John R.

A great alternative or companion to Google Analytics

  • January 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you want to have absolute control over your own data, Piwik is the analytics solution you need. Regardless of whether or not you trust Google, it's a great advantage to have your own copy of the raw data collected from site visitors.

The ability to dive in deep on the data is a valuable asset. And since we have the data in our own database, we can run our own custom queries against it if needed.
What do you dislike?
Older versions felt like the admin screen loaded slowly. But new versions appear to have improved speed. The dashboards in general have improved. So use the newest version!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We run both Piwik and Google Analytics. The benefit we gain with this setup is they keep each other honest. This intentional redundancy lets us know if one or the other has stopped working. It also gives us two data points to compare so we have a more robust picture of the data.


    Cynthia R.

Piwik

  • January 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, user friendly, graphics not too busy.
What do you dislike?
Lacks funtionality, not as broad based as I need it to be.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I don't work in a department that would know of any issues.


    William P.

A great secondary web state program

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using Piwik to run as a secondary web metrics platform and we've seen it grown alot in the last year or two. It has a lot of features that make understanding metrics easy and manageable.
What do you dislike?
Piwik is still catching up to some of the features of the bigger named program. It has a great start and has grown alot recently, but still has some areas to grown in.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has allowed us to reach a different set of customers and allows us to confirm and compare the other web metrics that we have collected on other platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a great secondary program to gather stats and compare against your other platforms.


    Management Consulting

Really user-friendly

  • November 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The easiness to use it, easier than Google Analytics in my opinion
What do you dislike?
Less functionnalities than Google Analytics
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Identifiying the sources of trafics bursts


    Cort T.

Sometimes Piwik user in lieu of Google Analytics

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's really easy to navigate around. There are no sidebar issues like with Google Analytics.
What do you dislike?
Google Analytics offers Tag Manager as an easy tool to integrate events and goals (i.e. important button clicks). I have not found that to be as easy with Piwik.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We look at visitor data from different acquisition sources to see which channels perform the best.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setup a google analytics account and compare the UX and features to see which one you like more.


    Internet

A nice alternative to Google Analytics

  • April 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The dashboard can display a complete overview of the traffic: from visits, users, duration, downloads, graphics and map.
What do you dislike?
Some issue can be experienced to display the data for heavy traffic. Not as fancy looking as Google analytics.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a free self hosted Web analytics.


    Davide A.

It promises to be good... if I ever get any tech support to get it started

  • January 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It would appear to do exactly what I want.
What do you dislike?
Lack of support.

Installation multiple tries. I finally got it to run, sort of: all it shows is the logo.

I asked 3 questions in the forum, and got no help.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Website analytics.


    Daniel T.

Great interface, deep data

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Coming from the complicated spreadsheet world of Google Analytics, the clear interface of Piwik is a breath of fresh air. The layout is customizable and modular, and the front page gives you a great overview of your hits, as well as any detail you might want on trends or sub-set review. With our own installation, the 'cookie-less' options work great, and we are much happier now we can keep our users data private and not share with Google.
What do you dislike?
The mobile app-based dashboard is a neat feature, but needs some more work to display the information as clearly as in the desktop interface.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We now have a much better understanding of the trends driving traffic to our website, and can get a picture of users much quicker than when we were using Google Analytics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think that for a majority of web administrators, Piwik will provide a quicker way to get the essential data.


    Marketing and Advertising

Piwik Review

  • October 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, 100% Data ownership, customization options mobile app is handy and integration with CMS.
What do you dislike?
not as comprehensive as google analytics or adobe omniture, lag while loading, ux could be better
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Self hosted and owned web data analytics platform. Was required as upgrade on GA
Recommendations to others considering the product:
less bot traffic than GA and 100% data ownership but not as easy to use as GA


    Marketing and Advertising

Good alternative to Google analytics

  • August 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to read and interpret reports, covers all the important metrics.
What do you dislike?
Goal conversation tracking wasn't as intuitive as I would have liked to get set up.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tracking visitors and understanding the demographics... about them and e-commerce tracking.