Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ruby on Rails - Web Application Framework powered by TurnKey Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

74 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ryan R.

Solid for simple applications or early stage web products

  • January 09, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ruby on Rails is an excellent choice for developing simple applications or early stage business products due to its full-stack scaffolding capabilities. It provides developers with the ability to quickly get up and running without having to write a lot of code. This means that developers can focus on the functionality they need in order to create their product or application, rather than spending time writing boilerplate. This is amplified drastically by utilizing IDE and intelli-sense tools like Github co-pilot. Development speed is incredible.

The framework also has fantastic support from its creators at Basecamp, including various auxillary libraries like Stimulus JS. They continue to release updates and new versions, as well as providing helpful documentation and tutorials that make it easier for new developers to get started. Additionally, there is a thriving community of experts and professionals who are always willing to lend a hand when needed.
What do you dislike?
On the flip side, Rails has a lot of "philosophical conventions" that doesn't necessarily match with modern web paradigms and also allows critical parts of the website functionality to happen magically. The later is only a problem in the early/middle of adoption, as the debugging can be time-consuming and demoralizing and as a result you'll learn to make fewer mishaps. Pairing Rails with a solid IDE and a tool like Github Co-pilot significantly reduce the painpoints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Rails provided a quick and efficient starting point for launching a website product. Since the business is in very early stages, the framework fits nicely to provide flexability and speed without terrible overhead costs.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Rails lets us focus on delivering features

  • August 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Convention over configuration. A rails developer will be able to work on any rails project without a steep learning curve. Rails "magic" lets us focus more on delivering new features instead that the minutae.
What do you dislike?
Performance is not comparable to other languages/frameworks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy configuration and blazing quick setup for a startup project. Lets us focus on implementing features rather than the structure of the application and inner workings.


    Ankita P.

Popular web framework with a quality code base, slow run time and less control over the framework

  • June 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RoR makes the language easier to learn for novices and it has better code readability. It encourages avoiding code duplication and provides a standard structure for web apps, where all the common patterns are taken care of. The MVC principle promotes modularity and extensibility of the application. It enables the development of features incredibly fast thus productivity is fast. There are lots of publicly available gems (3rd party libraries) to help to build a web app. RoR has a huge active community of developers to ask for help and use their code snippets.
What do you dislike?
It can be hard to find good documentation. RoR has a slow runtime process that makes it hard to scale the RoR application. The boot time can be really slow depending on the gems and dependencies. Developers don't have total control over the framework architecture, and modules. Lack of stability because it's constantly evolving and this makes it challenging to learn for beginners because you always have to be up-to-date.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
RoR was to made to speed up the development process thus it makes it beneficial for projects that have limited time. RoR is perfect for MVPs and small, and medium websites. The Don't Repeat Yorself principle makes RoR projects efficient to maintain. It can be easily extended with new features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Every framework has its own pros and cons. Read it carefully before deciding your choice of framework to use in your application.


    Computer Software

Ruby on Jets integration with AWS

  • June 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Ruby on Jets is a new framework which is similar to Ruby on Rails. The jets framework gives us the extensive power to create serverless applications and it's deployment.
What do you dislike?
Since the framework was introduced lately, the implementation examples and lack of proper documentation was a point of pain for us.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ruby on Jets
The implementation of microservices architecture was very easy with this framework.
Since each of its controller will be considered and deployed as a single lambda function.


    Ashok D.

Fastest web app development framework

  • February 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- scaffolding feature gives you fastest development experience
- mvc structure facilates manageable file structure.
- gem library gives you some well developed and tested features without investing time in those features.
What do you dislike?
- upgrading rails version is such a pain, we need to upgrade all the dependecy Which might break your application , need thoroughly testing after rails version upgrade.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- stand alone web application development
- embedded shopify applications development
- real estate application development
- survey based application development
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For faster development go for this


    Daksha K.

A Fast an Easy Web Application Development Framework

  • February 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It makes the development process very easy and faster. It gives a complete MVC and can also be integrated with other frontend frameworks like reactJS, angularJS, ember, etc.
What do you dislike?
Upgrading a Rails version is such a pain, by the time a new version comes, we need to look for the latest ruby version, and the server stack should also support it unless your upgrading to the latest version will consume your time, and you have to give extra effort to upgrade version on server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- makes the development process very easy and faster
- web application development and deployment becomes very easy with the environment they provide
- with the testing suits it support it stabilize the application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- go for the faster and easy development
- lots of library to use
- open source community is wider to help you, so you won't stuck


    Carlos F.

The best framework used for startups.

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ruby on Rails has been growing in the last five years and it's a popular solution to build web applications. You can build agile solutions on the development. This feature makes Ruby on Rails a great tool for many companies around the world where the time it's equivalent to money.
Ruby on Rails it's an on-demand framework love it by experimented and non-experimented developers where we want to simplify common and repetitive tasks easily you can reuse existing components this feature lets you save much time.
Another feature that I love it's the way to implement gems easily you can build great solutions in a lower time.
You can create Unitary Tests using RSpec or web functionality with Capybara or Sellenium.
What do you dislike?
One of the things that I being facing this time using Ruby on Rails and I hate it; it's where you want to read or write the database.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At my work daily got tickets from our customers requesting new features. Ruby on Rails provides me a fast way to provide work in a lower time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I really recommend Ruby on Rails because it's a Test Driven Development framework where easily you could find bugs and let your clients a professional solution. Implement Ruby on Rails in your company in a short time you will see fast features and save a lot of money reinventing the wheel.


    Jonathan Alexander C.

Excellent web development framework for your agile and fast projects

  • October 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about this web framework is how fast I can make a page or web application using ruby ​​programming language and simultaneously handle the frontend and backend as a single in the same environment; this makes it agile and magical.

Also, over the years, I have made this tool part of my day-to-day functions at work since I do not need more tools to interact with the database or the console of my project; if not, I can achieve this in the same environment.

It is a tool that integrates with any operating system but for me it is more comfortable to use it in Linux operating systems such as CentOS or Ubuntu, they are the two distributions that I use and at the moment it is easy to configure and to be able to prepare the environment which makes it even friendlier and the best option when selecting an IDE for projects in Ruby or Rails.
What do you dislike?
what I don't like sometimes is the handling of javascript and some javascript gems that don't work well, but in new versions this has been improving.

Another issue is the cost, perhaps some developers cannot buy it at first, which makes it a tool for companies, there should be a version for independent developers with low resources or who are just starting out
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have made several applications in the company and this framework has helped us a lot to speed up these developments and at the same time to have a quality product and more now with the management of APIs


    Jordi L.

The best way to build your RESTful apps

  • October 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ruby on Rails is a great framework for building RESTful apps. It's extremely intuitive and easy to use and read. You can build powerful apps with just a few commands, and setting up a database for your API is extremely simple. Also the community is amazingly helpful, and given that Ruby is so popular nowadays most of the problems you'll come in contact with have an easy-to-follow solution online, just a couple of clicks away. There are also a lot of great talks on youtube by Robert C. Martin (Uncle Bob) on Ruby, Rails and RESTful apps which are really easy to follow and cover everything on the subject.
What do you dislike?
I can't say there's much I dislike about Ruby on Rails. My only issue is downloading and setting everything up to use on my workstations, but once that's dealt with everything's smooth sailing from there.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All of my backend developing is done on Ruby on Rails, and I wouldn't change it for anything else. It has a Gem (a Ruby library) for anything you might need, and the framework as a whole is extremely well organized, allowing you to work using a lot of different practices, like TDD or Test Driven Development, really easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's always fun to learn new frameworks, so the least you can do is give it a try. I guarantee you won't regret it.


    Vũ Q.

Building great Back End Services using Ruby on Rails

  • September 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Building Web application quickly.
- Lots of useful gems
- Provide lots of resources for working and researching.
- Documents and Tutorials are detail and updated.
- Large community with strongly support
What do you dislike?
They bring "magic" to the framework that it is hard to control when the app becomes bigger.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building webapp fast enough to show the features, improvements for my projects
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For startup: It is suitable for them as they build a web application as quick as possible.
Students and Developers can learn from Ruby on Rails framework to be familiar with MVP pattern, review OOP design and others Design Patterns.
Ruby on Rails also provides lots of useful gems which are need for web development.