Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Virtuozzo 7

Virtuozzo | 7.0.7.2

Linux/Unix, Other 7.0.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

54 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

I feel very comfortable with how OpenVZ works and with what it can do.

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
If your use to Virtual Machines on Windows and Mac, such as VM Workstation or VMWare and you want to do something similar on the Linux side, then this is for you. It helps your learn and create containers which are very similar to virtual machines. It covers the details of the free OpenVZ with tons of command line references.
What do you dislike about the product?
Updated kernal specs would be nice, along with additional support from the devs for bug issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
100x easier than trying to build your own OpenStack cluster. We use it professionally for hosting small clients that require "root" level access to their machines while also being able to be profitable on cheap hosting plans
Recommendations to others considering the product:
know your target market, OpenVZ is great for small implementations but for large cloud based services maybe stick with OpenStack


    Maciej R.

Jelastic Rules !

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I pay for used resources not allocation
Intuitive approach and interface
Easy scalling
Flexible Configuration
Build in https certificates
What do you dislike about the product?
no GPU processors,
Everything works so nothing to dislike more
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Deployed my own hobby project, when price was a key requirement. I'm able to run at jelastic all the technologies I wanted


    GOUTHAM S.

OpenVZ - Amazing container platform

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Container style virtualization - Runs containers using a shared kernel which provides more available memory to users.

There is no additional virtualization layer and so getting better performance.

Cost is less. Also, easier to setup and maintain
What do you dislike about the product?
Not able to get all kernal modules.

The CPU and network port are shared
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its light weigh. Bringing up OpenVZ is fast and easy.


    Computer Software

Openvz is good tool to manage containers. I highly recommend to others

  • December 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
No additional layers in architecture so less resources will be used
What do you dislike about the product?
Manual or customise OS installation not there
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using for Development application on local machine


    Computer Software

Review by Imtiaz on OpenVZ

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
openvz uses less resources as it does not do a complete hardware virtualization like VMware. It acts like a container like LXC. Low overhead.
What do you dislike about the product?
Configuration of hardware resources are cumbersome, specially the container memory params. I had to calculate and understand all those parameters.
More user friendly template based configuration would have helped.

I used to do it few years ago and every time I had to read and understand "Container Memory Parameters".
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were using one server hardware to create multiple VM instance per customer. So, they need to be as low resource hungry as possible.
We have achieved quite a bit of VM density with this model.


    Miguel C.

Jelastic is awesome!!!

  • November 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
1. Simplicity: Jelastic makes very easy move aplications to the cloud with just few clicks we can get on it
2. Flexibility: It have an incredible variety of option that will cover nearly every case
3. Freedom: Is really great to have the posibility to choose between multiple providers that can meet specific SLA's
4. Price: The prices are so convenient that is nearly imposible not to try
What do you dislike about the product?
Would be great to have clusters with multiple availability zones that give aditional high availability options that could meet big clients challenges
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The bigger problem solved by jelastic is the cost and complexity movind classic applications to the cloud.
The benefits are many: flexiblility, easy to deploy, low prices, easy to config high availability, etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recoomend to try to define a basic cloudlet configuration as static y let the vertical and horizontal scaling do the job it will be awsome to see how the cost goes down while the availability goes up


    Mohamed Z.

it's outdated comparing to current market

  • November 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
easy installation
I can have access to VMs folders
What do you dislike about the product?
compare OpenVZ to KVM for example I can't run windows and it's not that sample like docker
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
it's light wight tech and don't consume a lot of resources also have access to all VMs files is big plus


    Rick C.

Test tool development

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Full network stack and containers can be managed as processes
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing. This tool allowed for a great deal of flexibility integrating vpn client endpoints with commercial throughput tools
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed to build a test tool to accommodate a large number of vpn clients on a single OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
worthy of consideration


    Computer & Network Security

After the Docker Age, OpenVZ is going down.

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It was like what is Docker today - fast start, lightweight and secure
What do you dislike about the product?
Missing support as part of the default linux distributions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it for containerising client software - to separate the environments in lightweight and cost effective way


    Information Technology and Services

OpenVZ - mostly gets you there

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Once you get familiar with it, it is a pretty capable and easy to use platform. It allows you to quickly get an overview of how the system in whole is behaving, and to jump into a container causing issues for other containers on the host, and resolve the issue.

The provisioning of the containers is pretty fast, allowing quick delivery time for new clients.

It is a free solution (which allows to ignore some of the potential issues which come with using it).

When setup with a proper backup solution, it becomes a pretty sturdy solution for what it does.
What do you dislike about the product?
Aforementioned "issues for other containers on the host" are the biggest issue - one misbehaving container on the host can cause headache for all other sharing clients, which in worst case scenario makes them regret moving from shared hosting to higher price solution, to again be greeted with the same issues.

High number of active containers on the host can lead to disk IO issues, slowing down all containers.

Occasionally network issues arose (interfaces missing, IPs being lost, connectivity problems).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In what it does it is pretty good - servers are not being underutilized when multiple containers are running on them.

The clients have more freedom in choosing what kind of OS and environment would they like to use.

With SolusVM in the mix the managing and provision of the new containers was a breeze.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not ready (or finances do not allow) to go with cloud solutions, the containerization which OpenVZ offers is a pretty stable solution, and you might have a pretty good uptime score.

It is worth to take into account the issues which might arise with shared responsibility for the underlying host stability, when you host multiple clients, but with a proper monitoring and backup systems in place you should be ok.