Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Teradata Vantage Enterprise (DIY)

Teradata | 17.05.03.01

Linux/Unix, Other 4.4.140-96.54.TDC-default - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

138 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Insurance

Teradata Encryption

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is fantastic at running analytics. I like how they are moving everything toward the cloud and not worrying about storage as much as the actual analytics, which is where the focus should be.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike. They are really working on being more scalable and realize the cloud is where they need to be moving forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a great platform for performing data analytics.


    Information Technology and Services

Teradata- A complete datawarehoousing platform

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata is the best in processing data as it uses AMPs to do parallel processing on a massive data. The each AMP shares the same amount of work so that no resource stays idle and the output can be quicker. The time taken to process data is the key element to choose any database.
What do you dislike?
The Teradata is good in any many ways for data processing. But. the services provided on Platform are a bit less. Reporting services can be developed on top of the database to maintain integrity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The datawarehousing solutions can be easily managed on Teradata. We can use BTEQ, FLOAD and MLOAD utilities for fast processing of data. The seccurity layers on Teradata are more and can process humungous data with ease unlike Oracle, SQL server.


    Pharmaceuticals

Teradata review

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can handle huge amounts of data
Easy to execute actions and commands
What do you dislike?
Coding/commands are not for beginners
Interface is not very user-friendly
When you encounter an issue while on it, it cant be fixed by doing basic things. Always has to contact Teradata support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to be a support for this program. simple terminating sessions and password resets/unlock.


    Financial Services

Teradata usage

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the best databases I have used and helps greatly
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular it is very user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business continuity


    Al S.

Clunky and awful

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What do I like best about Teradata? Not much. Seems like it was made by a kid in a garage somewhere. I hope we don't pay for this.
What do you dislike?
What do I dislike about Teradata? Everything. Not much. Seems like it was made by a kid in a garage somewhere. I hope we don't pay for this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problem we're solving here is looking like we're actually busy doing work because otherwise not much else is getting done on this system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
don't use it


    Information Technology and Services

The best Relational Database Ever

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance, Muti-process, Handling huge volume of data effectively. Ease of use.
What do you dislike?
Does not support Non-ANSI SQL statements in stage generated SQL statements.Does not support byte data types. Other than this we don't need anything to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Extract Transform and Load. Bteq queries, fastload,fastexport


    Rmn C.

One size fits all

  • February 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data processing, really helpful when you have to troubleshoot an error because it provides great diagnostic information, Parllelism
What do you dislike?
The client tools, weird/lame installation process on windows, table mapping features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To store and retrieve our huge traffic history data. Teradata is helping us to move the real material across US with efficiency
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Big data equals ease in Teradata. Teradata's connectivity capabilities to other DB systems is a big plus. Implementation with JAVA was very easy. The only thing with Teradata is you should have clear picture about what you want to do with Teradata because if you don't scale it right it will be like they say, it will be killing a fly with an atom bomb.


    Information Technology and Services

Teradata Databse

  • February 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great place to warehouse data, create new tables, manipulate current tables and extract to Excel for additional analysis.
What do you dislike?
Syntax differs from basic SQL, no unified help function to quickly correct mistakes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Lots of data analysis from predictive models to specific adhoc questions for the business on commercial sets of data.


    Information Technology and Services

Good relational database

  • January 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It take very less time to execute queries
What do you dislike?
It’s cost, the database is very expensive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It’s throughput is fast


    Director8158

It helps us with connectivity and making sure the data is secure

  • January 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We have all our workloads on AWS.
How has it helped my organization?
Having Teradata in AWS:
* Helps us with connectivity.
* Making sure the data is secure.
* Reduces the hops.
* Helps us more with real-time data.
We had few reports which were taking more than 45 minutes. Then, with Teradata, we received results within minutes, and a few under a minute. We thought that something went wrong, and we hadn't done the work properly, but we saw the exact same results on both. So, our end users were pretty happy.
What is most valuable?
It is quick, secure, and has less hassles because we don't have to involve our networking team, infrastructure, etc. It is very easy to deploy and make market ready.
What needs improvement?
Teradata wants to come out of the hardware business and to run its own cloud on other public clouds. I think that is a great way to go. However, there are challenges to doing this. There are multiple layers of security and caching. E.g., if you have a lot of compute or a caching that will offload a lot of compute activity because it's already there, it will save its cycles for something which needs to be done. This way, you are offloading your compute, so you can go with a lesser capacity than a higher capacity. That is what this appliance does. If they are moving off of the appliance, I am curious to see if their software will withstand the change, or will Teradata still run but need a bigger box?
I would like more security and speed. These days, everyone is not just moving to cloud, but they are moving to clout. In a multi-cloud environment, you have to be cognizant of data transfer, bandwidth, and egress charges, not just from a performance and scalability point of view, but also how to keep costs low.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We haven't had any outages in one and a half years. That is a good statement.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
I have not heard anyone complain about performance.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support is pretty good. The response rate is good.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We had a bunch of legacy warehouses, which we wanted to consolidate, as well as stay up-to-date with warehousing options. This is why we moved into Teradata.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration were seamless for us.
We have multiple sources of data, so Teradata has a lot of connectors which pulls all our data from different workloads. The integration works really well.
What about the implementation team?
We had help with the integration and configuration.
What was our ROI?
When your customer is happy, dollars and cents sort of blur. Our return on investment would be customer satisfaction, which I think is priceless.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
We had a lot of parties involved when purchasing from the AWS Marketplace. They are very flexible and aggressive in trying to close the deal. They are good at what they have to offer and listening to the customer. It's a two-way street.
In this day and age, we want to get things done quickly. So, we go to the AWS Marketplace.
Also, we have a consistent experience with Teradata usage on its cloud, so we already know the product.
For what Teradata has to offer, their price is comparable to its competitors.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Redis and Teredata, doing PoCs with both. We had more support from Teradata to start with, and we were new to both. We were not in a situation to tell which one was good, because both were new to us. We just had more support from Teradata to help us see the results on what we are looking for.
What other advice do I have?
Do your homework before you make a decision. Everyone is different; every shop is different. That is what makes it fun to be in IT.
When you look for a solution, you will uncover many advantages. All those hidden things which are not clear initially when you do a cost analysis. A cost analysis is something that you have to do from the get-go, but it also has to be an ongoing process. Your workloads change, requirements change, everything changes, so it has to be a constant feedback.