Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 Standalone or HA (BYOL)

Sophos | 9.718

Linux/Unix, Other 9.718 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

6 AWS reviews

External reviews

86 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Trang P.

Sophos UTM

  • July 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Full protection small company network, strong security and make a wifi for guest separately.
What do you dislike about the product?
Best software, I like it, there is no any comment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Free cost for home. Full protection small company network and home, make a guest network separately. Protect and monitoing the web access log.


    Information Technology and Services

Greatest Firewall/UTM Product I Have Ever Used

  • March 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simplicity. Interface is superb and the ability to quickly configure advanced routing, static routes, DNS, DHCP relays using object-based configurations just makes the unit so easy to use. I don't have time to work through Cisco router CLI, this Sophos UTM does the job of a router and more with the time to configured about 1/3 of the time required for other vendors. The logs are extremely clear to read through and identify issues if reported by end users. And let me not forget that the Up2Date firmware process is so easy, when you have to do firmware updates on other appliance types you immediately miss the convenience.
What do you dislike about the product?
POP3 Scanning requires Accounts, although it does scan POP3 messages, it is unclear how to configure it properly from the beginning. A bit too much research required to get POP3 scanning running smoothly
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Improved Performance for End-Users across the board. Simplified Security policies by Network, User, User Group, Time-Based Policy, Granular Categorisation and recategorisation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to be able to deploy and managed reliable and secure appliance, the Sophos UTM running UTM9.x is the right choice. The ability to centrally manage and monitor all appliances from a Sophos UTM manager with no addiitonal licensing is invaluable. The TotalProtect(FullGuard) license/subscription includes warranty for the hardware, and the High Availability is extremely effective and easy to support.


    Information Technology and Services

Sophos UTM Review

  • September 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The setup was smooth and easy, the GUI is simple and has all the features and tools you need. Sophos's key points are the excellent security and threat management which is essential for any company.
What do you dislike about the product?
Can't really say anything negative about this product other than the price is a bit too high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This solution has secured and protected our business for over 2 years now. Very easy to manage, requires little training to get familiar. Would buy it again.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend you check out this solution for your business. Setup is easier than Sonicwall and Cisco, and managing Sophos is simply a breeze. Do yourself a favor and go check their website.


    Information Technology and Services

Solid, Feature Rich, Reliable product!

  • August 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The user interface is simple, the controls logical... these things are just bullet proof!
What do you dislike about the product?
The next generation (XG firewalls) really mangle the UI, making it much less user friendly... Sticking with UTM for now!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
UTM protects my business network and keeps me informed of its health and status. it blocks serious threats in real time!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stick with UTM over the XG for now...


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Leader in firewall

  • August 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The visibility that this software platform provides is top of line. Data are displayed in real time without any delays and that is great.
What do you dislike about the product?
The wireless protection aspect of the software needs improvement as I have seen people can penetrate that part.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used it as a rial for our firewall in the beginning and then moved on to another platform because that platformm was cheaper however this platform was better but a little pricey.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you can afford it, then please use this software. over any other software.


    Luis P.

Is a robust and easy to use administrative plataform to our network

  • June 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The easy interface and the multiples features , no matter whats device we use; stations, mobile, all network and data are safe from threats, regardless of where tour users work. Only a small training of few hours are enough to get started in its basic configuration.
What do you dislike about the product?
Honestly, the price compared to similar solutions is high, in the same way the access point devices have high prices despite its technical characteristics.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our UTM resolved is a very good way to our network management and protection of our emails plataform. Also allowed a simpler administration of broadband connections and our remote locations and office.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Your must make a very thorough assessment of your needs, infrastructure and number of computers and users. It is not convenient to use the Sophos UTM in his maximum hardware requirement


    tkent

Buyer beware, you're on your own

  • August 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We've been using the UTM in our VPC for a few months now. A few solid pro's for the product:

1. If you're coming from the Cisco ASA world (we were), you'll find the UTM interface incredibly simple. It makes common setup a breeze.
2. It supports a lot of stuff you wouldn't expect without extra cost (e.g. OTP soft tokens, a solid LDAP integration, Site2Site VPN, etc)
3. It's linux under the hood, so you can script certain things - even use tcpdump to analyze traffic.

Unfortunately, the product & company also have some huge drawbacks.

1. Sophos doesn't really care about it's documentation. As another user noted, the documentation provided by Sophos is just terrible. A good portion of it is plain wrong or outdated, and well over half of it is simply useless. An easy example is their documentation for HA support for EC2 (spoiler, they have no HA support for EC2, they have a rough idea of how somebody might do it).

2. A lot of the advanced features are too buggy to use in production. For example, if you want to use their web application firewall (similar to the IDS feature on the ASA), you're going to be manually adjusting Apache mod_security configs or deal with regular connection losses due exceptions. Don't bother reporting these issues to Sophos, due to #3.

3. When things go wrong, Sophos support is not there to help you. This wouldn't be as big of a deal if it wasn't for the documentation problem. When dealing with Sophos support, you get the very strong indication that you're really dealing with Windows AV tech support reps. Most of the time, the tech's don't have the slightest clue about what the UTM does or why. A few days (or weeks) after you file an issue, a properly trained tech may contact you, but who has that kind of time?

4. If you undergo PCI/HIPPA complaint scans, it's probably going to be the device with the most violations. You can report the violations to Sophos support, and they'll tell you to file a UTM feature request.

5. You just can't fix certain things. One of the best parts about the UTM is it's super-easy web interface. However, it completely lacks a command line interface into a lot of it's core features (NACLs, etc). If something misbehaves (e.g. needing to remove a stuck rule), you're down to scrounging the internet for some example of how somebody got Sophos support to give out a magic command.

So, if you're ok being on your own, then the UTM is a great starting point. Lots of good open source tools and it's not terribly difficult to poke around and figure out were they've configured most things.


    Remy A.

Good overall product with some minor improvements to be made

  • July 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Using the UTM for over 2 years now, and still like it very much. The setup is easy and within 15 minutes your up and running. Web GUI has everything you need, all grouped together (some things aren't that logical, but as with the latest updates this is improving a bit).
For me this are the top features i like about the UTM;

-- It's relative light weight, so easy to run on some older hardware you have laying around. But I don't have any problems with newer more "enterprise" hardware as well.
-- A ton of functions (like a UTM should have). Everything from simple Firewall & NAT to Email (encryption) & advanced routing protocols
-- Easy and nice Web UI (speaking as a someone who normally skips products with a GUI), it contains all the information you need.
-- The Live log is just great!
-- The ability to "map" hosts, users, groups etc. is very handy. This way you just have to change your settings in one place in stead of reconfiguring everything where you use that particular host.
-- LDAP/AD integration is essential for enterprise usage, and works as expected.
What do you dislike about the product?
-- The CLI, it's just a regular Bash shell but with minimal packages. There also isn't a way to install your own sinds there is no package manager and build software is missing. I think they can improve here a lot. For instance adding a package manager so we can install software on or one but preferable add a "Cisco-like" CLI, so that we can manage all the functions that are in the Web UI with a sophos-*** command.
-- Some minor inconsistency in the menus, but as i mentioned already, this is improving and not that big of a problem.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Looking for a good solution I can deploy at my customers offices. It offers all I need, with the UTM Manager it's a breeze to manage all the instances.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Enterprise:
Have a good look at the different licensing options, they are based on the amount of active IP's so it's fairly easy to make your decision.

Home:
It's FREE :)


    Jeff Collins

Rolling out Sophos UTM in EC2

  • September 06, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

There are virtually no instructions on the Sophos or Amazon web sites, beyond the video <http://www.sophos.com/en-us/lp/aws.aspx>. There is no advice on how to size the UTM VM instance and how it interacts with internal interfaces (virtual network cards). This lack of clear documentation is a major stumbling block when attempting to deploy UTMs in EC2. Personally I wasted over twenty hours, and was almost on the point of giving up when I was finally able to get a UTM working in EC2. Despite the fact I have access to Premium Support from Sophos, they offered almost no support on how to size and deploy a UTM in EC2. The support from Amazon was very spotty. The Amazon technicians I dealt with had never used a soft UTM and did not understand how they work, so I spent a lot of time educating them about the Sophos architecture. All in all, the product is fine but the obstacles to deploying it in EC2 are very daunting. In summary, the lack of documentation could make the Sophos UTM almost useless in the Amazon cloud. If you are brave enough to attempt to use this product, make sure you have phone support from Amazon.


    Lahav Savir

Best Value for Money IPS and VPN Solution

  • December 25, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Sophos UTM is a very straight forward, easy to use appliance that does exactly what you want, GOOD IPS (Snort based), Stable VPN with very good interchangeability to AWS and other vendors plus lot more UTM features - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Emind has chosen Sophos UTM for lot's of our deployments.

Talk to us: info@emind.co if you need more help.

Lahav Savir, Cloud Architect