Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 Standalone or HA (PAYG)

Sophos | 9.712

Linux/Unix, Other 9.712 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

16 AWS reviews

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Sophos UTM Review

  • September 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?

Network protection
Wireless protection
web protection
What do you dislike?
Cost
No support for earlier versions
Complicated system
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Securing assets in the data centers


    Utilities

Sophos UTM

  • August 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of data available to change, lots of things to change and monitor
What do you dislike?
Support hard to reach sometimes, takes time to get back to you
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Firewall and protection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get third party support if possible


    Retail

Great UTM at a great price

  • February 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is pretty much set it and forget it. It does everything we need and there is little I need to tweak once its running.
What do you dislike?
Some of the reports are still not very non-it friendly. Went to a different app for Web reporting for managers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed something that would just do its job and not be a pain to manage. this does it.


    Jens S.

Best Firewall Solution On The Market

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have started using Sophos UTM when it was still known as Astaro. While I have been looking at other products to follow new innovations, I consistently found that Sophos delivered the best features in its category. It is fairly easy to setup and it just works. I cannot say the same for many other solutions I have evaluated over the years.
What do you dislike?
For the past few years, Sophos has been telling us that we will soon be able to migrate to their new solution Sophos XG. Sadly, the new solution is behind on features and I have yet to see the promised migration tool. That said, I can see that Sophos XG is a forward looking solution. I just wish that development would move along a little quicker. Why am I talking about Sophos XG here? Well, Sophos has pretty much stopped development on Sophos UTM and so we are only getting fixes and maintenance patches at the moment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It works well protecting my company's assets in the data center. At the same time, we can safely connect our office to work with our SAP servers in the data center.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are running a smaller company like me and are looking for reliable features for your money, you should give Sophos UTM a try. It worked extremely well for us and it allows us to safely connect our office to our SAP servers in the data center.


    Accounting

Not the AV Product we choose

  • September 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very nice unified interface. Clean looking product. Multiple features available in suite.
What do you dislike?
Slows down computers, false positives, buggy software. Did not work how we thought it would.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We ended up choosing a competing product because it did not tick all the boxes that we wanted.


    Wireless

Sophos Security

  • September 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The company chose Sophos for our systems and it gives us the security of allowing employees to have their company email on their personal devices.
What do you dislike?
To this point, I have not encountered a problem.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The program is available to be downloaded on our mobile devices, which allows employees the ability to have the company email on their private devices. They can review and respond to their email regardless of where they are.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recomend this program to other companies. This has brought a secure feeling to allowing employees to use their personal devices to monitor their company email.


    Graphic Design

Sophos UTm review

  • September 22, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Solid security, ease of setup, great looking GUI and customer support is helpful
What do you dislike?
The fact that port forwards have to be done with werid source ports.

Also don't like how network ports can't be bridged and Vlan'd .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security, endpoint protection. Very easy deployment and central is awesome
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Solid UTM but do your homework. Port forwarding has caveats like source port has to be 1:63365 or something like that.


    Frederic L.

Very nice entry level / SMB firewall appliance

  • September 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of setup and the feature provided with this little appliance is absolutely amazing. I was quite impressed by the feature for price. I like the fact that it runs Linux in the background.
What do you dislike?
Support is not reachable easily and eventually, you get somebody over the phone.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The lack of security in a SMB (a customer of mine) who wanted to have more visibility and enforce some security rules inside the teams
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sophos UTM is a great entry level firewall who provided access to enterprise features/protections and the entry ticket is low. I really think it worth the investment for SMBs or branch offices.


    Higher Education

excellent computer security

  • September 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy platform to use, easy to run updates on any operating system and provides security for all applications in use where confidential information is used.
What do you dislike?
No problems with this software. It does its job, and there have been no outstanding complaints in my department (IT) on campus or any other.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Able to ensure security over all computers/laptops at the university I am employed with (Southwestern University). There are no issues with security at this institution, (meaning no viruses or scam-like entities have been encountered) because of our use of Sophos UTM.


    Education Management

Sophos is easy to manage and does the job.

  • August 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos basically runs itself, so any kind of update just happens in the background, and we don't have to interrupt class time to make changes.
What do you dislike?
Can't say there's a lot I dislike, except it's not the most extensive anti-virus.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sophos is automatically dealing with threats we likely couldn't catch in time on our own.