Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 Standalone or HA (PAYG)

Sophos | 9.713

Linux/Unix, Other 9.712 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

16 AWS reviews

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rudy G

Have been using product for years successfully

  • April 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Product does a great job at protecting our infrastructure, we use all features, and find the product easy to manage and configure. We use on a small environment, under 20 servers.


    Construction

Sophos Unified Threat Management

  • April 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to install. Easy to use. Can be locked by an administrator so no one can tamper with it after it's installed.
What do you dislike?
Kind of clunky graphical user interface.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Anti-virus on my MA


    Dale C.

Good product, but not a "one solution fits all needs"

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the capabilities of the software overall. You can effectively protect most any scenario and block anything you want.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is not intuitive at all. It is exceptionally granular and requires a significant learning curve just to deploy in it's most basic form. Although it has the capabilities to perform, it's capabilities are overshadowed by the difficulty in setup and usability. For most small to medium businesses I would personally say that it's overkill. When factoring in cost of software, configuration time and support it becomes very costly. Especially so when compared to equally as capable and robust solutions. There is the correct tool for every job. Although you could use a pair of pliers to hammer in a nail, a hammer would be the best tool for the job. Make sure to research all options for your scenario before committing to this as it may not be the best fit for you.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It provides protection for my network and the ability to minutely make changes and enforce rules.


    Information Technology and Services

Great firewall/IPS/IDS for small business

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The box is an all in one GUI for firewall and IDS/IPS solution.
What do you dislike?
The only downside I see is a novice could attempt to set this up and can really mess settings up.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Replaced firewall, IPS/IDS and email filtering solutions with one UTM.


    Hospital & Health Care

UTM brings best of new software to the table

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our workplace is finally streamlined with the reliability healthcare demands of its technology.
What do you dislike?
We had some initial issues with communications between project manager and company reps but they were quickly resolved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security, decreased likelihood of reportable event, increased technological compliance.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Unified Threat Management

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos UTM Appliances with Firewall Sandboxing Provides Maximum Network Protection at an Affordable Price.
What do you dislike?
Single Sign-On(SSO) user authentication is not possible prior to version 9.2
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Good threat protection


    Al W.

Sophos UTM - My Gatekeeper

  • April 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our Sophos SG230 has provided as much bang for the buck as we could get when it comes to protecting and administering our network security. It has all of the baseline firewall functionality in the definitions and rules that are either automatically set up or added by the user. I love the additional security I see as it blocks traffic to known bad actors using the Sophos database which though not as extensive as Cisco's is still quite substantial. I've seen this thing alert and block the wrong thing enough times to know I don't want to live with anything less and am seriously considering an XG230 in the near term. It also does a great job with the Sophos Wireless Access points.
What do you dislike?
It is complicated at times and you have to manually perform firmware updates. I would love to see that scheduled from the dashboard. I would love to see more granularity on the monitoring and reporting of traffic.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Before Sophos we had an infection that would have been stopped by the Sophos SG230. The current situation is so bad it's depressing. The network is under constant attack and probing for absolutely the worst of reasons. There is an army arrayed against us and products such as the Sophos UTM are our early warning system, first line of defense and counter-intelligence agency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at Sophos and keep in mind the companion products such as endpoint protection, WAPs, the variety of VPN flavors.


    Information Technology and Services

Hit and miss

  • April 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I guess the amount of features we've seen with Sophos.
What do you dislike?
Everything else.
We have to continually do Sophos remediations, scouring through dump logs and registry keys to fix host devices that break while using Sophos.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protection for users


    Brian O Mahony

Avoid like the plague

  • March 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I would give this a 0-star review if I could.

An entire two day's config was dropped from the system, which broke a production VPN. I contacted support to be given the run around [still looking for license details that are not provided, even though we have multiple sites with paired licenses connecting to the device in AWS].
Also I can no longer connect to AWS DNS servers from the device, which is shocking. It seems to have changed config overnight, without rebooting.

Unfortunately this is in production but I am actively looking for a replacement. This is a pile of rubbish, while having the audacity to charge a couple of grand for absolute crap.

Stay away. You have been warned. You can see all reviews since 2015 have been 1 star reviews, and a number of the others prior to that look dubious.


    Public Relations and Communications

Helpful for email filtering

  • March 14, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We like that it filters out spam emails and emails from people that we do not know.
What do you dislike?
Do not like that sometimes I don't get emails fro multiple days that would've been helpful to get earlier.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Spam/many emails