Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MySQL 5.7

Jetware | 170503-mysqld_5_7_18

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

9 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gerald José F.

MySQL 5.7, a database management system that has not lost its validity.

  • August 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MySQL 5.7 has proven to be a very stable operating system and has earned its place based on results. It has functionalities that help enormously to protect our information, such as the creation of a backup copy and restoration of the MySQL database with the help of mysqldump, we also have functionalities for the restoration of corrupt MyISAM tables, through the myisamchk instruction.
In general, if we maintain the stable version and proper hardware resource allocation, we shouldn't have any issues with performance, which has gained popularity in the millions of installations that still exist with version 5.7.
What do you dislike?
My SQL 5.7 has proven to be an excellent product, its simplicity in implementation and use make it a great candidate, however, despite how tedious it could be to implement an upgrade, some of us may be thinking of migrating to the new version, due to the opportunity to maintain support on the platform, in addition to obtaining some improvements in security, efficient access to data such as greater efficiency in InnoDB row operations, as well as the handling of new functions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have been able to carry out implementations in a very short time, due to the simplicity of the deployments and the ability to integrate MySQL with our development framework.
MySQL is very easy to configure and does not require extensive configuration to achieve excellent levels of performance. We've also been able to use other third-party tools that make MySQL even simpler to get started with the database, which is a great help for those who don't specialize in databases.
Another enormous advantage is that we have been able to use it on multiple platforms, both Linux and Windows, and in general the hardware consumption is not very high.


    Nihal A.

Best relational database

  • July 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It had multi-source replication. So now multiple slaves can connect to multiple masters. The terminal interface is good and we can run queries without any issues.
What do you dislike?
The first and biggest issue is its end of life which is in 2023. So after that, we will not be able to use it. Secondly, there is no array datatype. So we'll have to use pivot tables to handle many to many relationships.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Since I am a backend developer, I need a place to store my data, and for that MySQL is helping me. Its fast and the queries are easy to use. I can use them anytime and even AWS gives the support for it.


    Financial Services

MySQL 5.7 - Easiest to Manage & Operate

  • July 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about MySQL 5.7 is that it comes with a community edition as well if you are not willing to opt for the enterprise one. You can simply download the package and install it on either Windows or Linux Platform.
What do you dislike?
The downside of using MySQL 5.7 is that you wont optimise the performance of you are database size is very huge. Even after doing all the Tuning and Indexing, you will find some queries taking longer than usual which might be a frustrating task to troubleshoot.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MySQL 5.7 Enterprises Edition comes with OEM Support. For a mid-size database, its actually very easy to use and operate. Even without MySQL Workbench, the data is in more readable format than other SQL Solutions like Postresql, Oracle etc.


    Shagun R.

Great when we talk about relational databases.

  • July 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MySQL has been the industry standard for many years now. The 5.7 release of MySQL is a great balance between the latest features and high stability. MySQL 5.7 is a great open-source database management system. This is the best version yet. The performance improvements are impressive, and the mutex contention issues are gone. The optimizer is also a lot better than the previous versions and the plugin interface is a huge improvement. It's an easy-to-use database that can be installed on any server, and the installation process is so straightforward that you don't need to have any prior experience with MySQL before you can get started.
What do you dislike?
Noting in my notice as previously it was hard to install start patch and manage the database server but they are working on it and making it better with the releases.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With a big update that makes the database run faster, more reliably, and with more features than ever before. I love the new buffer pools, which allow me to create a pool for different types of data and manage them separately. The async IO feature is also great because it allows me to process data much faster than I could before.
The new buffer pools are a game-changer, it's so much faster now! And the new compression is also fantastic, it's really helped me save space on my server.


    Lee S.

Best reliable database to use

  • June 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can use mysql with all my existing applications and that I can replicate all my data to another backup server with it being updated constantly with replication.
What do you dislike?
I dont really have a dislike to mysql although some settings could be made clearer on how they can be setup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
mysql helps me and applications to store data both easily and securely and also giving other people permissions to certain databases without giving them access to what they dont need.


    Anurag K.

MySQL 5.7 review

  • March 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly and easy to use. Though it is a opensource when taking help from community there is a huge helpful help which is required at different development phases.
What do you dislike?
As there is a requirement of installing the product on single machine, extra softwares needs to be installed on top of Mysql to make it work as per the requiremnt.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Database management at RDBMS level. Also this product is available for free so a learner can also use this product to make their knowledge upto the mark. This is required in learning perspectives.


    Gary M.

MySql 5.7 - Aging But Reliable

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Overall I like the ease of use of the language. It gets most jobs done, and it gets them done in a way that I can hand off to a less seasoned developer. It is a good database language, from a business standpoint, for a variety of application cases. Understanding that it lacks the bells and whistles of some other options, including MySQL 8.x, it does what you need it to do, and has been doing it for over a decade.
What do you dislike?
It lacks some advanced features of other offerings, and is even missing some quality of life features. There are certain design decisions that add workload when trying to accomplish simple tasks. It also predates some more powerful features introduced in MySQL 8.x like flow control statements.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We've used MySQL 5.7 in close to 20 different projects of varying scales over the last 15 years. It replaced some older MSSQL databases, handled a transition from an ancient CSV and DLL library database living MSDOS, and was used to stand up a myriad of small business data solutions across our company and affiliates. It has been implemented for in-house solutions as well as public-facing platforms, from simple data repositories to full APIs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MySQL 5.7 is reliable, and most importantly, easy. Unless you have a very specific business use case, it will handle pretty much anything you need it to do up to a certain point of scalability.


    Insurance

MySQL best for Operational Data Source

  • December 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My SQL is best for Operational data source, very easy , flexible and simple to use and implement data marts as well
What do you dislike?
For heavy data warehousing applications, MySQL is not very good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Build a advisor operational data mart for the customer so that advisor can get the latest details of the agents and measure the performance.


    John B.

Lightweight and Intuitive.

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Over the years I have experimented with a multitude of database solutions to integrate into my personal projects. I am certain there are few I haven't tried. Ultimately I always come back to MySQL because I find it incredibly easy to set up, use and manage. With a simple lightweight program, I can run Apache locally on my machine and handle unlimited databases if I choose.
What do you dislike?
This is by far my favorite database solution, so by comparison to other solutions, there is really nothing I don't like. There are a variety of ways to access the data, so learning the different commands and styles had a little bit of a learning curve, but once you find your sweet spot it's all good!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The biggest problem I had was the ability to house my projects locally on my laptop without using up a ton of resources. Using MySQL as my solution was the perfect fix. The apps running to support my database projects barely make the resource "radar."


showing 1 - 9