Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Dynatrace - Cloud-Native Monitoring powered by AI

Gain comprehensive visibility into your cloud-based applications Dynatrace provides cloud-native monitoring for tomorrow's applications. In under 5 minutes, you can start monitoring your full stack with no manual configuration. End-to-end monitoring that covers the front-end and the back-end of your... See more

Customer Reviews

14
Create Your Own Review

The artificial intelligence engine in it is able to do alerts and some good analytics

  • By Chris G.
  • on 12/28/2018

The primary use case is for application performance management. So, we are using it to identify outages of different parts of the application as well as how we can make the application more efficient and rightsize it.
How has it helped my organization?
We can see down into the layers, such as with databases. We can see database queries which are causing problems.
We can see CPU usage for different containers. I can do a run and see what errors exist in containers which are causing problems. We can rightsize containers on the fly and understand what is happening with our Docker, microservices, etc.
What is most valuable?
The most valuable feature is it has AI in it. The artificial intelligence (AI) engine in it is able to do alerts and some good analytics. During outages, it is able to identify and correlate where the actual root cause of a problem is. This connectivity allows us to be able to see a bit further into the application down through the layers. If it is a problem within AWS, a problem within a container or something that a user did. We are able to see and coordinate that, then we are able to tell the developers how to fix it.
What needs improvement?
The GUI has the most room for improvement. Sometimes, it can be a little cumbersome to find things and be able to create your own views, or be able to dig in and understand where things are.
Some additional features would be the ability to break out some of the permissions and allow some additional or different ways to tag services, events, and different things which run. We want to push down the ability to do that, so developers and other folks can get in there. Currently, more permissions are needed to be able to do certain things, and we want more people to be able to use it, own it, and understand it.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We don't put very much stress on it. We could probably stress it some more, but we don't have enough systems right now on it to stress it. For the most part, the ships don't cause as much stress.
We are going to have it on about 40 ships around the world which will run it independently of our AWS platform. Those are don't stress it too much. We will probably stress it at a certain point, along with AWS, but we still very much growing the platform.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It can scale very well and very high. We don't need it to scale as much right now. It is able to absorb a lot of the systems that we have with the agents and and the API Gateways. It seems like it can scale very well when we need it to, so scalability is good for us right now.
How is customer service and technical support?
If we needed technical support, we usually call our account team to help us figure out where the errors are, whether it is something with an agent or management servers.
How was the initial setup?
It is pretty easy to integrate it into the AWS environment. You give it a username and password and it asks some basic permission. It can pull a lot of information very quickly. We are able to correlate more and provide more data for it. So, it was easy to integrate it into that environment.
We have it running on AWS. It integrates pretty well there. We have it on Red Hat Linux servers, as well as Windows servers. We have it running on VMware where it integrates very well. It understands these productions and understands our platform. It is able to read into Docker containers and all the databases that we run. However, it is limited as far as how many of a certain type of database that we can have, but for the most part, it runs pretty well and integrates very well.
What was our ROI?
It has been doing a good job of alerting us to issues. It has been very helpful and effective at identifying how we can do things to make our infrastructure and application a little better.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We considered AppDynamics, Datadog, and Crashlytics. We even considered things like Splunk for different pieces of it.
We chose Dynatrace because we needed something which could run both on AWS and VMware on our ships that might lose their Internet connectivity. This product gave us the flexibility of being able to do both. Dynatrace had the ability to run independently, so we could access it while it retains information.
What other advice do I have?
A PoC is the best way to go. Put it against an application and go through the paces of tagging, analyzing, and alerting on it. You can understand what it does and how it does it. Give it a very complex application, so you can see how well it works.


It gives complete stats of the user and what they are doing

  • By Technica9689
  • on 12/27/2018

We use it to get the network stats and know how many clicks happened on both the front-end side and back-end side, then drill down on debiting to obtain the stats around that.
Dynatrace is working fine right now. It is working as we expected.
How has it helped my organization?
We can dig into Dynatrace to analyze data, then know where the user is going based on user navigation.
Performance-wise, we can see if there are any issues. Then, we can dig into them.
What is most valuable?
It gives complete stats of the user and what they are doing.
What needs improvement?
Because we are financial, there are certain things that we cannot put on the cloud. However, that is a given fact, not only for us. It is a given fact for any financial company because of PCI compliance. Because of PCI compliance, companies don't take the risk of putting data in the cloud. Otherwise, we have had a very good experience with the cloud.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is good. I have not seen any issues.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
I would rate scalability at least an eight or nine out of ten.
How is customer service and technical support?
Everything is excellent with technical support. Some of their personnel are our main point of contacts. They are always in touch with us.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration is very easy.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace is excellent.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We did not evaluate any other products. Top management said. "Just go and use this."
What other advice do I have?
It functions well. We are getting good support. It gives us everything that we were looking from it.


It works quickly with all of our servers, databases, and load balancers

  • By ManagerO54e5
  • on 12/25/2018

We use it for application performance management (APM).
How has it helped my organization?
It alerts us, or can detect, potential problems which are building up. Then, it let us quickly adapt our websites.
What is most valuable?
* Dashboards
* Problem detection
* Troubleshooting
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable and reliable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We use a cloud version for everything that we look into, so we have had no issues. Scalability is working well.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support is excellent.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We were previously using AppDynamics, then we switched to Dynatrace because it has more functionality, better additional components, and better management of problems. It also has a good AI.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product were very easy.
It works quickly with all of our servers, databases, and load balancers. We are now testing it in AWS with AWS features.
What was our ROI?
It's helping us stay alive, afloat, and scale up as we need.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing and licensing are very expensive.
What other advice do I have?
Try it. It is a good product.


We are able to quickly go through logs and figure out what is happening

  • By Rohit R.
  • on 12/25/2018

Our primary use case for the product is going through logs and tracing through what has happened.
How has it helped my organization?
In general, it has helped me go through different logs more easily when something breaks.
What is most valuable?
Being able to quickly go through logs and figure out what is happening.
What needs improvement?
It needs a better way to figure out how to dig deeper into the details, e.g., sometimes we have to wade through multiple logs, etc.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It has been stable. It doesn't break.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Its capabilities are good.
We have a couple AWS accounts that we are running on the cloud. Then, we have a lot of on-premises applications, as well.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support is readily available.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment is pretty seamless and easy to configure.
We don't really integrate it with anything else.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was a pretty straightforward process. We had no hiccups.
I think the pricing is at a fair value for what it is.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We looked into New Relic and other logging solutions.
After doing our research, we figured out that Dynatrace was the best for us.
What other advice do I have?
It is a very useful product.


It provides a nice graph, and we can see where everything goes. If it could go agentless, that would be great.

  • By DevopsCo6663
  • on 12/24/2018

We are using it track how the data flows throughout the entire AWS environment and seeing if there are any road blocks in between and trying to fix those. Dynatrace is really good at illustrating those. It provides a nice graph, and we can see where everything goes. It is easy to explain both to the people that work with it and the customers who want to see where their data is going.
How has it helped my organization?
In terms of tracing where the data is going, some clients don't want it to hit a particular instance, or even worse hit a database that is not part of what its designed for. Therefore, it makes sure everything is where the customer expects it to be. It is a great tool for that.
What is most valuable?
The graphical interface is helpful, as it illustrates things well for anyone who wants to know about the information it provides.
What needs improvement?
If Dynatrace could take out the controller that would be great. It is one less thing to install right now. Though, I understand why they would need it.
The less stuff that you have on the instances which are running on the actual apps themselves are better for people that watch user products. So, if it could go agentless, that would be great, but I understand why Dynatrace would need it to capture the points. However, every time we spin up an EC2 instance, we have to slap an agent on it and that is more work.
I would like them to make those agents and controllers as small as possible. That would be great. Or, if they could remove them entirely, that would be great too.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I haven't had any major issues with stability. Sometimes, the controller feels a little overloaded if you have a lot agents running, but that's just a matter of sizing things up.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability ties into the Dynatrace controller, because there is just one which talks back to your on-premise. While it is nice to have just one point to talk to, when you start having a lot of apps and things trying to connect to the same thing, it can cause some issues. I do get it, it is just a networking thing along with design.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have not used the technical support.
Which solutions did we use previously?
It is a brand new environment. They didn't have anything before.
What was our ROI?
In terms of explaining to a customer how their data works, it has been a great tool. Instead of trying to draw it out, then hoping that is exactly where the data goes.
What other advice do I have?


The visibility that it provides through the application's behavior allows us to find trends based on our customized metrics

  • By SrQA656894
  • on 12/17/2018

The primary use case is monitoring and diagnostics for production marketing usage.
How has it helped my organization?
The visibility into the application's performance helps the executives and managers by using easy dashboards. Our engineers are also super happy with the ability to drill down and fine-tune based on issues which we have seen. A bunch of issues with OpenID were easily investigated, then we were able to fix them quickly.
It has been a very enabling tool for us, especially for my team. The visibility that it provides through the application's behavior allows us to find trends based on our customized metrics.
What is most valuable?
* Alerts: The alerting system is really nice.
* The ability to drill down and pinpoint issues.
What needs improvement?
The new Managed Edition is too complex. I feel like a fish out of water. From the on-premise version to the AWS version, our initial use has been very complex.
For the integration, I use a hollow testing tube called Performance Center. I would like the ability to integrate with it. This would be a good feature. While I believe it is there, it needs to be fine-tuned.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
I'm pretty impressed with the stability.
With the AWS version, you can access the updates through the browsers, not worrying about the tick line.
With the on-premise version, you need to use the tick line for updates. There are times when architects, who do not use the product constantly, find their stage and production options out of sync, then they need to have two tick lines on the same system.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
There was an issue on-premise. We were trying to troubleshoot a production issue. We had to run a bunch of queries for different time frames to see where the issues were and how recently they had been seen. This crashed the Dynatrace server.
We are now moving slowly moving in installments of the AWS version because our environments are not large enough right now. So, we haven't tested it yet.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have only heard positive reviews.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We went with Dynatrace because of its ease of use and it is feature-rich. It helps you to drill down into bottlenecks and find issues. When you have highly integrated systems, it gives you an extra lens through your whole ecosystem.
What about the implementation team?
The Dynatrace team helped us with the integration and configuration in our AWS environment.
What was our ROI?
There have been many advantages in terms of production and issue resolutions.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The product is pricey, but it is feature-rich, which is why we probably haven't looked away from it.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We are also using New Relic. Our product teams keep explore new options to see what is out there.
I prefer Dynatrace over New Relic because there are better features.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend Dynatrace Managed because it has more features, and go straight for the AWS version because it is simpler to manage. It can also be accessed through the browser.


It gives us visibility into the product and what we are doing operationally

  • By Bill M.
  • on 12/16/2018

Our primary use case is operations monitoring.
How has it helped my organization?
When something goes wrong, we have visibility into the system, can find the issue, and quickly get things back up. This was previously much harder to do.
What is most valuable?
It gives us visibility into the product and what we are doing operationally.
What needs improvement?
As we move into using more AWS native architectures, it should support everything that we want to do. We don't want to adopt another tool.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The solution has been really stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
So far, scalability has been fine. We have not seen any issues related to it. It looks good.
How is customer service and technical support?
We had a good experience working with their technical support.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We were previously using CA Wily (CA APM).
What about the implementation team?
The technical support helped us spin it up, then we received training on how to use it.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We compared it to AppDynamics. While I did not chose Dynatrace, from a technical standpoint, AppDynamics and Dynatrace are pretty comparable. I liked how both of them worked. Because we were moving more onto the AWS platform, Dynatrace was more compelling because they were right there with us.
What other advice do I have?


It helps with monitoring KPIs

  • By Alex B.
  • on 12/12/2018

Our primary use case is application performance monitoring.
How has it helped my organization?
It helps with monitoring KPIs.
What is most valuable?
* Security
* Automation monitoring
What needs improvement?
I would like them to add serverless capabilities, because everyone is going there.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is rock solid. We put a lot of stress on it.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is amazing. It is the best. One of our customers is a massive healthcare customer.
How is customer service and technical support?
I am a partner, so I know people in technical support who I can contact.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration was easy.
What was our ROI?
We have seen ROI with this product.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The price could be improved.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluated New Relic and AppDynamics. We chose Dynatrace for the hybrid version and price.
What other advice do I have?
I want to tell people about its hybrid security capabilities. A lot of people have legacy experience with the tool, so it is valuable. They would not have to reinvent the wheel.
We use a hybrid environment, so we have to use the both AWS and on-premise versions.


It provides us a reference for being able to go back and look at data at a certain point, analyze it, then determine if something was the root cause. However, the experience needs improvement.

  • By Technolo4a4f
  • on 12/11/2018

We log everything. Anything that goes wrong, we want to make sure that we are able to see the reason why. Therefore, we check metrics around CPU usage, RAM usage, etc.
How has it helped my organization?
It's a different way of thinking. Before, we were with a big, monolithic app in the beginning before fully transitioning over to AWS Services, which has been breaking it down into a microservices architecture. It has allowed us to look at it and debug out from a different perspective. Previously, we were going in and looking at server logs, logging into SSH toolbox and debugging manually there. It puts everything in one place, so everyone has one center has one center tool to look at.
For what we're using it for, and having seen the other side of things, where we were debugging and looking into logs manually, then trying to run an analysis on them, it was a painful process. Looking at it from that perspective, it makes things a lot more user-friendly if you are using a tool like this. That is just been my experience with it personally, which is nice.
It is tool for the job. It does what it's meant for and does what it is supposed to, which is good.
What is most valuable?
From a debugging perspective, when we look at things, we want to ensure that we know exactly what is happening at a certain point in time. It provides us a reference for being able to go back and look at data at a certain point, analyze it, then determine if something was the root cause.
What needs improvement?
When compared with other tools, the experience needs improvement. I would like them to build out the interactions and make them friendlier.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
So far, so good. I know there are a lot of competing tools out there. For what it is and what we've used it for, it has been good.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have never had any issues, so I haven't had to contact them.
What was our ROI?
There is time savings. People's times have been cut in half using this solution because we were previously doing a lot of that manual work. Now, it's a lot more automated, and the data is just there.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We used a different tools out there, like New Relic. Dynatrace is good, but there are features which other tools provide that it doesn't.
What other advice do I have?


It reduces our efforts to identify services failing in production

  • By Kalyan J.
  • on 12/05/2018

Our primary use case is monitoring.
How has it helped my organization?
Previously, some of our web publications were so hard to find that we would be constantly monitoring it using a graph and a type of installation tool. Now, it is very different. Dynatrace has reduced the time it takes to detect the service failing in production.
What is most valuable?
* You don't have to configure it. It just needs to be installed.
* It locates services on its own, providing us good visualizations of them.
What needs improvement?
They should include more mission learning into the product and provide additional performance metrics for application learning.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is good.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Scalability is good.
What was our ROI?
It reduces our efforts to identify services failing in production.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Our experience purchasing through AWS Marketplace was good.
What other advice do I have?
It is perfect for application monitoring.
The integration and configuration of this product on the AWS environment is good. We are using the on-premise and the AWS versions, which are pretty much the same.