Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,036 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bruno L.

Real end-2-end visibility in minutes

  • December 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) Ease of use, with a streamlined and automated installation process. 2) Functional coverage, from an end-user business sensible view to a very detailed drill down of technical transactions. All of them, not sampling. 3) PurePath - the automatic correlation of transactions between multiple layers and dependency identification is brillian. Drilling down from a slow user facing transaction to a database or service call used to be one key APM promise. PurePath delivers in a way that can sometimes feel like magic. 4) Artificial Inteligence - It's early days but the results are already visible: rather than keeping an eye on dashboards or emails, AI can now tell us when something is wrong, including the impacts (e.g. affected users) and root cause. It's a new paradigm for incident and problem management. Happy days!
What do you dislike?
The initial transition from Dynatrace AppMonitor to Dynatrace created some confusion. This is much better now with a clear focus in Dynatrace and fortnightly increase in functional coverage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Large enterprise business process management (BPM) platforms, when deployed successful, quickly become a critical piece of software that is used by the entire organization and supports 100s of different business processes. This results in unusual opportunities for improvement (tweaking a single screen may have a huge impact) and in an extraordinary pressure on operations. Dynatrace gives us and our clients information about all layers and components of their platform, including the most important starting point for us: real time and historical end user experience.


    Information Technology and Services

Market leading APM

  • December 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to fault diagnose to code level through the entire delivery pipeline. Faults in Production are traceable through Dev/Integration/Test. This reduces the number of issues making it to live but also gives operations/infrastructure the ability to talk to developers in a common language.
What do you dislike?
This is not a simple fire and forget application. Time must be taken training everyone who uses the application, not just a few who set the system up. Buy-in must be top down to realise the full benefits of the application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are the obvious benefits of detecting issues early in the development lifecycle but there are benefits that are above what was expected - security threats, DNS poisoning, multiple api calls for a single action, the ability to track license costs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't under estimate the ability to capture 100% of all transactions. This should be a requirement when doing comparison. Not all major issues are in the top X of problems, some are in the 0.1% of visits but are the most costly.


    Information Technology and Services

Solution Engineering Manager

  • December 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The insight that the Dynatrace platform provides is quite amazing through the simple installation of the One-Agent. The replaying of "Problems" can provide deep understanding of how an issue developed.
What do you dislike?
The vast amount of detail available can take time to sift through to find the areas that are going to provide the most valuable insight on your environment. Take time to develop a relevant DashBoard.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a Managed Service provider the value we can provide to our customers, on top of infrastructure monitoring, is in a language that they understand more clearly and that is the experience of their customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the 15 day trial - you will be amazed at the insight the platform provides.


    Information Technology and Services

Steep learning curve

  • December 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the interface is nice and navigation is fairly easy
What do you dislike?
Inadequate training from the company. Very difficult to set up. Doesn't seem to provide enough detail.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We monitor several servers and processes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be prepared to spend a lot of time with set up and training. Insist on a proven trainer.


    Gopal B.

Helped solve our performance problems

  • December 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dynatrace provides the most comprehensive and detailed information about application performance of any of the APM vendors (and I've used a few). It makes it easy to access and lays it out in the way a developer or performance engineer thinks about it. It's an essential tool for anyone who cares about performance.
What do you dislike?
There is a lot of data provided, sometimes inexperienced users get overwhelmed and don't know how to optimally analyze the data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to have fast root cause analysis of performance problems during development and production. It helped enable our testing cycles reduce from months to weeks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is the best of the major APM vendors for detailed analysis needed to execute on performance engineering initiatives.


    Lakshmi S.

Problem resolver

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dynatrace gives you the full picture of why your apps crashed and how to prevent it from happening again. It has also told us exactly how we’re using our environment, so we know what resources to move to the cloud for greater productivity and efficiency. You get instant value from Dynatrace.
What do you dislike?
In Dynatrace, performance degradation problems are deviations from established baseline performance that affect the services and/or applications in your environment. Following is an example scenario involving a problem that has as its root cause a performance incident in the infrastructure layer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Immediately see where and how performance issues affect customers..
Prioritize troubleshooting to focus on problems that impact many users, not just a couple of outliers.
See exactly which user actions and service methods are affected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
its easy to adopt to your application and always helps in solving and to track the problem statement very easily ans in very less time


    Banking

Product didnt do everything that we needed while switching to new platform

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really liked the ease and flexibility of the test cases that it provided to us.
What do you dislike?
We dislike the cost. We switched to a new platform which would have been drastically more money in order to get the test cases we needed, according to our vendor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to make sure our website and core platform stayed up with a mildly complex step-by-step workflow.


    Financial Services

Great application monitor with easy and flexible configuration

  • October 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to diagnose issues and solve problems with applications in production. Although I never worked with the vendor personally, I heard from colleagues that they were very responsive. As long as you have someone on the team that already knows the application / UI, relatively easy tool to pick up. Able to solve and identify performance issues relatively quickly. Good at managing complex environments. Configuration for monitoring applications and services is very easy.
What do you dislike?
Very expensive. Developers need to deploy an agent on the same JVM in non-prod and prod environments, but it is a fairly easy configuration for a app development team.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used within financial services industry for internal applications, so I have no feedback for a cloud architecture. It was very useful to monitor applications in production, especially during installations of java services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Another team did the actual internal installation of Dynatrace, but configuration for other java services was fairly straight forward. Complimenting Dynatrace with Splunk worked nicely for Product Owners and developers that I've worked with.


    Kelvin W.

A easy-to-use application performance monitor software

  • August 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Dynatrace can provide in-depth monitor of application performance, like JVM, memory, CPU, agent, request, latency and database. It provide different forms of data representation, like table and chart. Dynatrace has feature like 'Drill down'. It can provide very detailed information about application, database and server performance in many aspects. You can use it to monitor application running and help you to debug.
What do you dislike?
The document is not easy to read. It is too long and most content is hard to understand for new users. Users still need to install client software. And the client has version conflict problem. For example 6.5 server doesn't support 6.1 client. I have to install 6.5 client after the serve has been updated. If Dynatrace can provide SaaS web application, users don't need to have trouble to install client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Out system has many applications and several server cloud. Dynatrace helps us to improve system performance, like JVM and GC. We also use it to improve database query performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Google Analytics can help you to understand user behavior, but Dynatrace focuses on system performance monitor.
Its document has several thousand pages, and you cannot have a good understanding of it after you read it. So it is better to have hands-on tutorials. In fact, Dynatrace is easy-to-use. You don't need to spend a lot of time learning it, if someone make a demonstration to you and you try it for a period of time.


    Franck N.

Great insight through application instrumentalisation and monitoring

  • July 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This platform allow us to monitor the functioning of an application through its different layers (http server, app server, database...)
What do you dislike?
The navigation from the graph view can be a little messy, regarding on the complexity of the stack
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dynatrace is very helpful to diagnose production issue and to pin-point, or narrow, the component where the issue is appearing