Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Qlik Sense Enterprise - BYOL

Qlik | Qlik Sense Enterprise September 2020

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 20016 Datacenter - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

408 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Peter K.

After three years and transferring to Qlik Sense SaaS edition, at my wits' end

  • February 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Associative engine is great, the end user interface is great, well-trained users can conduct lots of investigative and simple analyses using the globally applicable selections tools.
What do you dislike?
Good god where to begin.

App development is tremendously difficult/expensive. Qlik uses its own proprietary scripting language to design load scripts which is a tremendous pain to learn and use. The data manager is a colossal waste of time as you basically need to run your full reload script to open it and make changes. In order to do simple calculations that are out of the box in many other tools, Qlik requires that you use "set expressions", a nightmarish scripting system

We recently transferred from an enterprise deployment to a cloud deployment. Users considering this transition should be aware of a few major limitations which are not advertised and not mentioned in documentation:
1) apps cannot be larger than 5Gb
2) there is a hard timeout limit of 2 hours on the back end which cannot be changed by the user
3) the management console is a pale shadow of the functionality available in Qlik Sense Enterprise; where before we had rule-based security, the ability to create roles, full management of published apps, etc, we now have basically no security policies, no roles, and a confusing amalgam of app management features which are scattered between the management console and the front end so you have to keep switching back and forth to do basic tasks. As a particularly egregious example, when I have a new person onboarded now, I instruct them to sign in via SSO, and then I have to wait for them to sign in for the first time, at which point they have no access rights to any of our shared dashboards, and then I have to *one by one* go through all our shared spaces and add users individually to each of them in turn.
4) You can only use one identity provider at a time, so if you have external stakeholders you're going to have to create identities for them on your own IdP system.
5) There is zero ability to track usage by individual users or with individual apps. There's no way to audit which apps can be deprecated for lack of use, and if you're using capacity licenses, you have no ability to audit which of your users are expending the most minutes.

Qlik support is awful: it takes multiple days if not weeks to respond to any simple request, you have to constantly hound them for updates, the support staff is not knowledgeable about the product, and, perhaps most infuriatingly, you have to get into the habit of providing a ton of additional information which you'd *think* they would definitely already have every single time which is not requested in the ticket submission form, because if you don't, the first reply from the rep (usually about a week after you submit) is "could you please provide your license number and tell us which instance you're running on" etc. I can only assume they really don't *want* to be providing support and have created a system which is hostile enough to users that they hope it will discourage its use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Qlik as a visualization and exploratory analytics solution. When it works, it does that. We can have most end users answer most of their own questions once we've built an app whose data model supports answering that question.


    Mattheus Roux

Qlik Sense

  • February 04, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Qlik Sense is a very powerful BI tool that enabled us to do targeted marketing by analyzing customer buying behavior and by plotting sales per region on the built in maps in Qlik Sense


    Harsh G.

Far better than Tableau in many Aspects!

  • January 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Qliksense is absolute beast when it comes to true ETL capabilities. As compare to Tableau and Power BI it can handle much larger datasets. Qlik scripting is too powerful and easy to master. Self- service capabilities are also great in qliksense as it was designed to be self service analytic rather than a guided analytics tool. Qlik is also offering cloud deployment of their qlik products on all the popular cloud platform including their own cloud offering. Visualization is also good but compare to Tableau it lags behind.
What do you dislike?
The most important thing that I did not like in qliksense is that most of the features that was available in qlikview natively has not been made available yet. So, to bring some qlikview like functionality we have to rely on extensions which are hard to build and master as it require front end tech stack skills set like js, angular ,nodejs etc. Also, it lags behind in visualization capabilities and native support of other analytical language like python and R is not supported yet which is there in Power BI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are providing guided and self service MI to our stakeholders in an automated fashion which used to take lots of manaul effort to build earlier. Lots of manual task have been removed and replaced with automatic reporting solution with qliksense
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Condiser qliksense for its unmatched ETL and large datasets handling capabilities. Qlik is adding new features in every new release which happens every 3 months so I beleive once it has python and R integration embedded it is going to be a master in BI.


    Hospital & Health Care

QlikSense is awesome Enterprize Visualization Analytics Reporting Tool

  • January 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Enterprise level integration, Version control, Security
What do you dislike?
I don't have any dislike items, I like it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Senior Leadership Team Visualization, Analytics presented in real time on daily basis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is much better than Tableau and Other Analytics tool out there in the market


    Information Technology and Services

QLIK VIEW IS PRETTY DYNAMIC TOOL

  • January 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Look and Feel, Drag and Drop, Across Geographical Report and Quick Reporting Solution
What do you dislike?
Understanding Schema and build solution takes time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Integrated with different applications to produce Dynamic reporting across all functions.. Benefits are Turn Around Time and Accuracy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use, Highly Customizable


    IJ

What do I think about Qlik Sense and its associative model?

  • January 01, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Qlik Sense to build applications for users to support their daily operations, to power business and strategy development, and to explore their datasets with, and share visualizations to accompany their analyses.

What I like:
1. It is easy to combine different datasets, to prepare data models to begin exploring the data.
2. The tools provided make it simple to quickly build and deploy effective and engaging dashboards. Selections made on visualizations propagate to the rest of the visualizations throughout the application, without having to write code to connect them. As the associative model stores relationships between all data points in all the tables used in a model, selections result in colors being applied to data values across data fields. These highlight values that are related, and values that are unrelated, to current selected values, to prompt further exploration. A video that illustrates this well is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-m0_8dT3XM .
3. More hands on users can follow their train of thought and pull together adhoc analyses using curated dimensions, measures and visualizations. The Insight feature offers sample visualizations based on the dataset and selections.
4. The associative engine helps one discover information, and questions, that maybe hidden while querying data using a traditional tool. Here is an example of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuxKfp7PW1o

Something to keep in mind for Qlik application developers is that when coming from a lifetime of working in a relational world, one needs to reorient their approach, to grasp the associative model and the unique strengths it provides. It is worthwhile to spend a little time and effort to get familiar with using associative relationships and set analysis. Qlik has spared no effort in providing plenty of free training materials, in addition to their official classes, to help with both data literacy aspects, as well as technical knowhow with sample exercises and applications. The user community and customer stories are insightful in discovering solutions and creative applications of the tool.

In the end, one needs to try it for themselves, and for this, Qlik offers trials of its hosted environment to experiment in, along with access to its library of samples and how to training materials.


    David C.

Qlik Sense Usage for Analytics

  • December 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to visualize data easily and navigate between visuals with interdependancy.
What do you dislike?
Navigation between dashboards could be more user friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting better access to client data.


    Or BI

powerfull, easily embedded end to end BI tool

  • December 29, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Qlik Sense can be a great solution for organizations seeking an all-around tool that enables them to develop ETL procedures as well as GUI development all in the same place.
the product keeps evolving rapidly and as a third-year Qlik developer I can tell Qlik sense improved a lot over the years while being very attentive to the needs of developers in the Qlik community.
although It still Limited at times, especially for customizing Visualizations, which requires adding half baked extensions or paying extra for high-quality extensions to companies such as Vizlib


    Lilian M.

Qlik Sense a pionner that evolves through time

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Qlik Sense is an excellent option because it has been in the BI business for a long time, nevertheless, it continues to evolve according to actual trends. Always focusing on the user and business needs, Qlik continues to evolve each year taking into account this needs and technology evolution. No matter how years passes Qlik is always in a good position in the Gartner Quadrant. In Qlik World we learnt how Qlik is taking cloud and artificial intelligence as a priority, over the past years this two concepts have gained position in IT business. Qlik has been working with both concepts over the past few years and they have shown a constant and positive evolution.
What do you dislike?
One of the disadvantages that Qlik Sense may have is the limitation on the creation of visualizations. It's not much a limitation since we have the option of creating extensions or mashups. However, this creation implies learning a new code language and this activity can be time consuming. Remembering Qlikview days the visualization creation was a little bit more flexible on the native menu of the program.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Merging two different data sources. Qlik Sense is quite flexible when it comes on data inputs and data changes to merge different sources that doesn't speak the same language and sometimes requieres some data transformation. The flexibility of Qlikview can be quite useful when it comes to the creation of new business rules or changing the previous business rules.


    Gabriella C.

Clean Stylish Dashboard With Functional Features.

  • December 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great streaming analytical solution and it provides the users with wide data analytics and extensions customization ability.
Qlik Sense deployment on Windows its more functional and also Web-based version. Easy developing of various Application, and excellent mobile reporting capabilities.
What do you dislike?
No main usability issues and the tool implementation can be done by any user with technical knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Product development, easy to analyze and visualize data, reporting among many more depending with the user industries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Powerful solution, easy to set and the data processing and performances are great and functional features.