Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured Apache Tomcat 9 on Windows 2012 R2

Cognosys Inc. | Tomcat 9 on WIN 2012 R2 V 1.0.9

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 2012 r2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

86 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

I preffer Tomcat because it's easy to work with...easier than Websphere

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to build war files, configure...ease operation
What do you dislike?
I can't find any disadvantage in this case
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As I wrote above. It's easy to build war files


    Airlines/Aviation

Good open source software

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This an excellent Light weight and open source software, not too difficult to use
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike about TomCat but there can be additional feature you can add to it to make it more user friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it to create a share web resources within my organisation.


    Retail

I’ve worked with Apache tomcat in my past projects and I highly recommend everyone.

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Setting up Tomcat server in the project is real quick
What do you dislike?
Configuring and integration is bit tedious
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have this highly scalable application with needs Apache tomcat


    Financial Services

Application Server Designer-Tomcat

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lightweight
Flexible
Open source
Security
Dynamic Deploment
What do you dislike?
Tomcat doesn’t support J2EE ,EJB specification
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache will boost your website performance and helps you to have better hosting experience
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes


    Bpagadala P.

It has allowed me to emulate the basic functions of a web server

  • November 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It turns out to have an easy to use and understand interface, the fact that it is easy to configure makes it a very helpful tool to test all my developments in a simple, easy and fast way, in addition, it has integrations with other environments development such as Eclipse, which allows me to code my web pages in a much easier way, the fact that it consumes few resources on my computer is a great plus, this allows me to use other applications in parallel simultaneously without being seen impacted the performance of the computer, its customer service team is quite fast and efficient when it comes to answering any questions or problems that arise during the use of this application.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any regarding the use of this application, everything has been quite practical and useful for me to develop my web applications in a quite simple, easy and practical way.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has allowed me to emulate the basic functions of a web server in such a way that I can execute from my computer all the necessary services to be able to visualize the web pages that I create in my web browser, in such a way that I can verify the operation and design of a quite simple, easy and fast way and without having to hire hosting services to perform the tests.


    Sharmila K.

Best server for Java web apps

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful feature of Apache Tomcat is the deployment made easy for java applications. And the logs will be properly segregated based on the deployment which is the best feature. The application can be easily replicated across installations. It helps to manage microservices and make deployment management easier. Very easy and ideal to host all different kinds of APIs.It integrates very cleanly with Eclipse. the software is supported by AWS which makes deployments very smooth. It's used by many developers, it's very well documented and you can easily find solutions for problems. memory consumption is very very low which makes it ideal on all kinds of software.
What do you dislike?
With the frequent updates of the software, up-gradation becomes difficult. There are memory leaks observed while handling large applications and not ideal for large apps. The apps get crashed on overload. Less default logging capabilities on standard OS level. This software lacks a built-in feature to provide auto-recovery in case of failure. OutOfMemoryError and many memory leakage issues re-observed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
software is an open-source implementation of the Java Servlet which the benefit. The benefit is the cross-platform service which works for both Windows and Linux. It is very easy to install, configure, and deploy. The security is also the best advantage of this software. Multiple applications can run simultaneously without impacting the performance of the applications or software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend developers to use this as a server for deployments


    Arfat M.

All in one server.... Best for small and medium scale users

  • May 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best in class server for small and medium scale users. Runs smoothly. You can check logs in proper format. Handle no. Of users. Front end backend everything at one place that is in webapps.. According to database can be customized.
What do you dislike?
When it comes to huge number of applications, apache can't be used.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using for business applications. Finding logs is easier..Can change fronted backend.. Restart is easier..


    Umair A.

Reliable, Fast And Easy To Deploy Server On Production And Development Environment

  • April 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure, manage and highly scalable server. Very fast start time during the development of an application.
What do you dislike?
No management console but thats is fine because it is lightweight then.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are running Tomcat server since years and it is playing a vital role for our infrastructure of applications. It is very fast and easy to manage, mainly used for our on-premise applications in to our data center. In latest days we have also experimented it for microservices and implemented orchestration via docker swarm which results highly scalable plus manageable architecture for our test experiment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Three words: reliable, easy, cost efficient


    Jasmin B.

A profoundly stable and ideal server for Java applications.

  • April 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is a simple to utilize, straightforward, capable, and inventive device. It offers an exceptionally easy and simple establishment and course of action technique. It effectively modifies the new businesses and dismisses the content to alter the memory or configuration of potential outcomes. It helps roughly all web server features that are fundamental for the clients such as the Tread pool, Connection pool, Https, Mutual, and data premise. It has vigorous coordination with basically huge IDE for example Shroud, and IntelliJ.
What do you dislike?
One of the drawbacks common is that it is CLI-based. Even though the GUI arrangement is existing, it isn't extensively common and widespread. The custom adaptation has a lofty expectation to absorb information and isn't extraordinarily natural. If the EJB or attachment features become essential, or if the application is very challenging or demands a group, at that point the Tomcat doesn't work precisely. Tomcat user interface is basic having controlled execution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat is unbelievably appropriate for smaller and standard-valued Servlet-based Java apps. It is a mind-boggling server for apps that don't necessitate the clients to do a broad exertion to proceed onward the track. It offers a vast variety of features approving the clients to change their servers. It encourages them to create a mechanization content to deal with all the sharing methodologies dependent on the Tomcat API. Its approvals are generally reachable.


    Sharath K.

Apache tomcat review

  • April 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is amazing product meets all requirements of webserver. It is lightweight, easy to install and get going.
It can handle webtraffic well. Comes with various options to debug and is very simple to use. It comes with various builtin security features. It integrates easily with various IDEs.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any dislike for this product.
There is no proper UI to get started using it, default configurations we can easily get started with but if we want to use advanced configurations we will have to go to its config file and edit proper parameters which is cumbersome.
An online playground with what various configs can achieve will help a lot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To serve application servlet and web pages. It acts as gateway for my server side application.
Meets all my requirements of webserver with load handling aswell.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Having a GUI and online playground will be more helpful.