Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL on Windows Server 2012 Powered by GlobalSolutions

The Globalsolutions | PostgreSQL GS_v2.5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

543 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chemicals

Fast and Open Source RDBMS

  • July 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compared to MySQL, PostgreSQL is quicker and provides ACID characteristics. Storage procs can be created in PL/pgSQL, PL/Python, PL/Perl, and C/C++, and it has broader community support. It is a highly expandable database that handles large datasets, challenging queries, and read-write operations more quickly.
What do you dislike?
Only limited documentation is available in English. Additionally, the reading speed is really slow. PostgreSQL is one of the best open-source databases available besides this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used PostgreSQL to accommodate a large amount of data. Establishing the Datawarehouse to transform the daily loads into tables and update the dimensions, Facts, and other tables. It's used for data analysis and running the transformation on multiple tables and layers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good DB for storage purpose


    Mashmuma Q.

PostgreSQL Review

  • June 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is a good option as an object-related database since it's free it is very convenient for us to request management to use it. One can use it for data storage and analysis both.
What do you dislike?
Some features are missing which we can find in other database systems.
If I compare MYSQL and PostgreSQL in terms of optimization help through explain plan than MYSQL provides a more readable way than Postgre, after reading the MYSQL plan one can change its query to optimize it very easily while it's a bit difficult in Postgre explain plan.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using it for data storage and data analysis both.


    Hospital & Health Care

Powerful open source relational database

  • June 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an open-source relational database that supports a heavy range of workloads. it follows the ACID properties and SQL queries. PostgreSQL has views, tables, store procedures etc. The database can connect with multiple interfaces and supports python, java, C++, PHP and perl.
What do you dislike?
It has a slow Comparatively low reading speed. Its documentation is only available in English. In some circumstances, the lack of columnar stores renders PostgreSQL less capable in analytics tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL, help to store the data in the databases. It is highly programable and hence can load and transform the data in different stages using python. PostgresSQL procedural language PL/PgSQL is much more powerful than MySQL’s SQL and hence used to load the aggregated data into publishing layer tables.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly scalable relational database.


    Information Technology and Services

User-friendly Database

  • June 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres database gives us more and more column fields that are very useful, like uuid and boolen, that other database doesn't provide.
What do you dislike?
It is very slow compare to other databases like Oracle, MySQL, etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Postgres stores the data of the organisation or a software that is used in companies.


    Information Technology and Services

PostgreSQL Review

  • June 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL provides us much more Datatypes that are not present in Oracle or Mysql
What do you dislike?
It is slow as compared to Oracle Database
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I manage data of the systems that I develop


    Kushal V.

Best open source DB

  • June 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to build connection between postgreSql to other framework.
What do you dislike?
I feel the interface could be better. It took little time to open pgadmin.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
You can load any excel file format and play around it.
You can create your own DB in your laptop using this PG admin.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's open source. easy to run complex queries. Faster execution


    Nazim S.

Easy-Data

  • June 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the best thing about the Postgres is the easiest database to learn and handle and the best quality is open source so we can manage or integrate the queries according
our requirement
easy to learn for fresher and the best thing is U can easily access the database using UI
What do you dislike?
sometimes it is difficult to manage unstructured data.
the worst thing is consuming too many threads and processes if 20 queries are fired at a time then it it will consume 20 processes and 20 threads which might slow down the system some time
Postgres is case sensitive which is difficult sometimes to executive a query
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
all my data problems are solved by Postgres we have too much-unstructured data which is managed by Postgres.
my app is running using the PostgreSQL database which helps users to host a website and to make a call
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes to my colleagues and friends


    Oscar C.

The best open source database in the market

  • May 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How robust is postgres and how extensible it is. Despite being a database with lots of years in the market, it is up to date with the latest needs (for instance working with JSON data)
What do you dislike?
Nothing. Maybe the fact that mysql gets more popularity despite not being as robust as postgres
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Basically to use it as a relational data storage for our microservices layer here at Pager


    Computer Software

Great choice database for relational model structurr

  • May 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dynamic creation of tables/models differenciate from other databases
What do you dislike?
Nothing which I can think of and its best and mostly used database
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Relational database structure with dynamic model generation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is most widely used database worldwise


    Raj P.

For me this is the best and most robust RDBMS in the market

  • May 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is the most versatile and advanced DB system in the market available for free of cost. This DB system is similar to MySQL or Oracle DB system but it is more popular and has a bigger community than those. It has a convenient command-line interface for both Linux and Windows OS. It has intuitive commands that do what they sound like e.g., create table, create database, etc. For those who are not good with command-line interfaces, it also has GUI based management tool called pgAdmin for easier use. It has easy integration with Python and Golang and its frameworks like Django for Python. You can easily export table data in CSV. The best thing is, it has a detailed documentation website where you can explore all of its functionalities easily and release-wise.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, I don't think this RDBMS has any significant flaw or issue. One thing is, there are fewer drivers available for this database for integration in frameworks e.g. Python Django framework literally has one driver called psycopg2 which can create license issues. Another thing is, it has a huge number of commands that can be difficult for some people to grasp.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use PostgreSQL in a web application that needs to store a large amount of JSON data with very frequent access. PostgreSQL can also be used in data analysis which also requires the storage of a large amount of complex data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For other PostgreSQL users, I can recommend this DB system as it is a general-purpose DB system but still the selection of a DB system mostly depends on the requirement.