Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL on Windows Server 2012 Powered by GlobalSolutions

The Globalsolutions | PostgreSQL GS_v2.5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

542 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gajendra K.

Very complete and stable database

  • March 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very complete for any type of project or application. It is stable, easy to use and can handle a lot of structured data. It is free software and is very well documented It is very popular and has a very varied community around the project
What do you dislike?
Installment and handelling of initial infrastructure is big complex.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using this for handling structured data for an airline. It have various advanced features and stability.


    Manu V.

Best Open Source RDBMS

  • March 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I like most about PostgreSQL is that it has a dedicated database connection for all the fremwork. PostgreSQL has a reliable dependency for spring boot. It makes it easy to connect PostgreSQL to the backend and perform various operations through coding. When you compare it with other alternatives, it offers many features and, most importantly, provides up-to-date security. One more thing I like about PostgreSQL is its large support community.
What do you dislike?
To perform database-related tasks, you must have proper knowledge of PostgreSQL documentation. For fresher, it will be challenging to understand complex things in the documentation. One thing I noticed while using PostgreSQL was it becomes slow while handling huge transactions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use PostgreSQL as part of my spring boot project. My project uses PostgreSQL as well as CouchDB for storage purposes. PostgreSQL makes it easy for me to integrate with spring boot because of the PostgreSQL database connector and also supports spring JPA to perform fetching-related tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is one of the top 5 RDBMS available in the market. It is a common database among developers, and it is easy to set up and configure. I will recommend others to try this product.


    Nitesh K.

PostgresSQL the best Open Source RDBMS

  • February 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is a Secure, robust, and reliable database. It is an open-source RDBMS having great performance to handle a large amount of data. PostgreSQL can be installed on windows as well as Linux operating systems.
What do you dislike?
PostgreSQL requires training for the beginner. It is managed by using a graphical tool through PgAdmin. Sometimes it is a little bit slow on executing queries on a large database. Installing PostgreSQL should be more User-friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL is an open-source RDBMS, I can use for various applications that will save the cost of the organization. It supports various datastore features like JSON etc and is easy to integrate with other applications, which saves time and effort.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Open Source RDBMS which can handle large databases. It is robust and secure. Just go with it.


    Information Technology and Services

Very advanced RDBMS with a wide variety of data types to use

  • February 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to use for people who already know some basic SQL.
What do you dislike?
performance-wise it is slower than MySQL
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have loved working with Postgres as knowing SQL has definitely helped due to similar syntax. The join makes it all the more interesting once you start using them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best relational database amongst the options I feel


    Ekta S.

Highly reliable and scalable RDBMS available to use.

  • February 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and integrate with the application. It uses standard SQL and also supports object-oriented SQL programming and we can also perform JSON-based data transactions with this dbms. Client-Server network architecture support is the best thing is with Postgresql and of-course it is open source DBMS
What do you dislike?
Some speed issues with PostgreSQL when we perform data transactions on very large numbers. Backup features should be improved and PostgreSQL should provide some own GUI for DB operation, normally we use pgAdmin for the same purpose.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used Postgresql for data analytics purposes, I have created a data warehouse for my project and due to it comes with a powerful SQL engine, it manages a large amount of data very easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Scalable, Robust, and Reliable database. must use one time for better database exeperience.


    Computer Software

Found helpful for storing large transactional logs

  • February 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL was a cost effective option to choose from RDBMS. It was easy to configure and get setup. As it is similar to other RDBMS in market so learning this by other team members was not complicated.
What do you dislike?
We want to move some of our workloads from other RDBMS to Postgres, but couldn't find any suitable tool. Also, some dashboard to see the health and statistics of Server, DB and table would be helpful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted some way of storing our large logs that are generated frequently and also wanted to query them when needed. So we choose Postgres and it has met our needs and we are also using it to generate dashboards of those logs.


    Kr. G.

PostgreSQL for a better database experience.

  • February 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is a best open source RDBMS for large data.Installation is easy, we can use it on any platfrom either on windows or linux . I have used it on windows OS with pgAdmin GUI tool for its management. Database backup and restoration is very easy through single pgsql command.
What do you dislike?
PostgreSQL command-line interface is not very much user-friendly so we normally use pgAdmin and its operation is slow with the GUI interface. datatype conversion should also be available with GUI. Scheduling agent is not available in the default installation and PostgreSQL is not convenient for the business intelligence or ETL operation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have switched from a widely used database to PostgreSQL and installed it on the Redhat Linux machine. We have used it for data analytics and data transaction purpose, Our international project database with millions of data transactions per day is now on PostgreSQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best open source database available. datatype and SQL operations are very much friendly with database developers.


    Computer Software

Cheap and Fast alternative to Enterprise Level DB requirements (beats MSSQL)

  • February 10, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that its free, open source, and very fast.
What do you dislike?
Connecting requires a local daemon running and using the web browser (they have a windows app, but it is just the browser wrapped in the app using Electron). Deployment is a bit trickier than MySQL but easier than MSSQL Server, considering the price being free, its not much of a concern)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am personally resolving the licensing budget problems that I have with MSSQL.


    Information Technology and Services

PostgreSQL is open source for all OS

  • February 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is open source, and we can use it in any OS like Windows, Linux, etc.
What do you dislike?
A stored procedure is not fully supported here, and we can not return a dynamic table. Also, his output window returns only a single query result.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With PostgreSQL and dot Net Core, we have built health care products, and because of his multi-support features, we can run our application into many OS


    Krishna Prasad J.

Open Source and Efficent Database for Enterprise business use

  • February 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
--> Open Source Nature
--> Easy to use and well-defined documentation and lots of tutorials for quick and fast learning
--> Comparable with Oracle Database System
--> Almost all features are available freely. You do not need any other database system if you use postgres.
What do you dislike?
Absolute beginners can feel difficulty learning and implementing it in real-time projects. Basic knowledge of database management systems is a must to learn any DBMS Software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use it in real-time projects such as designing database systems for E-Commerce Applications, and I mainly use it along with Node JS and Angular. I do not have to pay any amount I had to pay if I had used SQL Server OR Oracle Software.