Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Genymotion Cloud : Android 6.0 (marshmallow)

Genymobile Inc., | v12.0

Linux/Unix, Other 6.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 4
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ian C.

Easy to get started android emulator

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really love how quickly I can set up an android emulator and start testing my code. I can select from a myriad of devices to emulate, which mostly just changes a "skin" that wraps the phone and the resolution that the app(s) run in. Very quick to get started.
What do you dislike?
I can't stand how limited the free version is for development. I can't save any kind of settings (like a location on the GPS between different sessions of testing). I considered buying a license to get unrestricted, but the price of the license was too high to justify an annual subscription. I would have preferred to purchase the software outright over subscribing at such an astronomical price. Also, it turns out that the emulator runs android in x86 mode only as opposed to emulating a mobile process, which leads to phantom bugs that don't show in the emulator but do show on device.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm able to test android software quickly and efficiently.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's quick and easy to get up and running since all you have to do is select which device you want to emulate, and initially it was faster to run apps in Genymotion because it ran Android in x86 mode as opposed to trying to emulate a mobile processor. However, the native android emulator provided with the android SDK has advanced leaps and bounds in the last year and a half and can perform emulated mobile processor at a much faster speed now, and is just as easy to get started with. There is no longer a need to use Genymotion, and it's far too expensive to get started with. They will only continue to increase their pricing because with the free (and better) Android SDK emulator being available for commercial use Genymotion will need to price gauge their existing customers to stay in business.


    jim p.

A faster alternative to Android Virtual Device Manager

  • October 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
If you are looking for a testing platform for your android apps, your options are the AVD that comes with Android Studio, running android on a virtual machine or a standalone application like Genymotion.
While AVD is a very capable option, Genymotion offers some clear advantages, the main ones being speed and stability.
Its speed is closest to a real device, from boot time to app usage. Other unique features that Genymotion has are: simulate a GPS, use your computer's webcam as android cam and simulate battery levels.
You can select from many pre-configured android devices and choose on which android version you'd like to test your app.
I've never had any stability issues, which can happen with AVD at times.
Genymotion works on Windows, Mac and Linux. Its system requirements are modest, so any computer purchased in the last few years will run it comfortably. Installation is easy, however you must have Oracle's VirtualBox installed on your machine.
The user interface may not be as polished as Google's AVD, but it still looks nice, clear and easy to use.
The price for the personal version is reasonable (there is a more limited free version available).
What do you dislike?
The main "con" is that Google's Android Virtual Device Manager is available for free and is a very good option that does most of what Genymotion does.
Genymotion is not available on older versions of Windows (XP/Vista or any 32 bit Windows).
You have to create an account in order to use the free version. which is something I don't like.
There is no ARM support,no Android Wear support.
While Google's AVD always has the latest version of Android, Genymotion requires some time until it supports the latest versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
If you are looking for the fastest nd most stable Android testing platform, Genymotion should be in your short list.
Testing and debugging on multiple android devices and versions with ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give Genymotion a try if you are looking for a faster and more stable platform.


    Andrew T.

Rather good and convenient

  • August 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can simply drag and drop files to emulated device. They will be copied or installed whether it is .APK
What do you dislike?
You have to rebuild app twice to make changes apply. You cannot drag and drop if you started genymotion as administrator.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Develop apps. Genymotion is fast, and easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not start it under administrator account


    Internet

Fast and easy to use

  • August 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fastest Android emulator in the market. Easy to setup and use. Free for personal use.
What do you dislike?
Somewhat quirky. If things are going well then that's awesome but if something starts to fail then debugging the issue is hard.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Emulation of Android apps. One of the biggest benefits is that I can do the testing using my laptop without a test phone.


    ronner m.

Genymotion

  • July 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything I like .. because with this application could emulate an android on my PC so test applications without leaving you stop using the computer
What do you dislike?
nothing disgusts me , all excellent in this application , the best android emulator application I've tried
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
many benefits because they do is emulate or run in desktop computers where they are creating applications , mobile devices generally require the most popular
Recommendations to others considering the product:
100 % recommended for all people who want faster when emulating a android on your computer


    Computer Software

Somewhat cumbersome for demoing software product

  • June 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Used as an Android emulator, it's easy to rotate the screen and demonstrate how the product I'm selling adapts to the screen. It gives my team a lot of flexibility as we are able to demo our software online and close business.
What do you dislike?
It requires that I open multiple windows-- Genymotion + whatever device I'm using it to run. It becomes cumbersome and at times requires a full uninstall and reinstall cycle. Hard to install and set up initially.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Bringing technology into SMB, and Genymotion has helped us demonstrate the value over the computer-- without this product, inside sales would be capable of far less.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have had better luck with Bluestacks, personally, but Genymotion does get the job done.


    Alejandro S.

Good phone virtualizer

  • June 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a really good application to emulate almost any phone or tablet, so you can have any resolution of phone and see if and application created on it can run or display good. it is really fast, comparing with other emulators I have worked
What do you dislike?
The price is a little to high and a few times I got an error which I cannot use a virtualized phone. Maybe is my PC, but it does not specify. I have not search for a solution either way, could be easy but it is possible for this to happen. Also you need Virtual box to run this application, I use VMWare mostly, it should work with it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are trying to display and app on many devices to see if it works properly on them. As far as we see it works pretty well with the virtual and with the real phone indeed. Just by having this application you can emulate any phone.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is really a good phone emulator. You can find almost any new phone and version and run any application. Definitely if you are looking to try an app in many phones, this is your program.


    Antonio R.

Multiplatform, Android Virtual Machines

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has multiple Virtual Machines for multiple Android Versions, from the old gingerbread to currently beta Android N, and it emulates a broad amount of Android Devices, phones and tablets.

You can also make your own android devices with the specs you require to run your apps, (granted you have the resources on your host machine)
What do you dislike?
It can be a little tough to test Google Play Functionality but you can flash GAPPS with the included flashing functionality.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ability to test and debug mobile apps on the same machine you are developing them, it shortens a lot of the the development time time, it also helps with QA with the included QA functionality
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Flash the ARM translation package to run ARM apps on the x86 VMs, replace the Superuser app with a different one from Google Play


    Higher Education

Easy to use, has everything you need

  • June 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to understand, customize and use.
What do you dislike?
Did not explore the full features, need to be a bit acquanited to get a clear view of what's unsatisfying.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing apps, making sure they meet the desing requirements and functional constraints.


    Laurent R.

Best emulators for Android apps!

  • May 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GenyMotion definitely has the best emulators for Android development. It boots much much faster than the official Android emulator (that are pretty terrible in my opinion). You also can have multiple running at once without them killing your computer like the Android ones. I like the breadth of devices that they offer as well.
What do you dislike?
So far, nothing about those emulators. I do miss the free pricing that they used to offer, but I definitely understand why they charge for them now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GenyMotion makes it easy to test Android applications as you are developing them. Although Android offers their official Emulators, GenyMotion does it much better. It allows me to save a lot of time booting up the emulators and testing on different devices. Genymotion can also be a replacement for testing on actual devices, which end up being pretty costly. I wouldn't recommend not testing on real, physical devices, but it is a great place to start until the Android application closer to being finished.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stay with it!