Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Puppet Enterprise (BYOL)

Puppet | 2019.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Berkley S.

Configuration Management at its Finest

  • June 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the support, the community, the puppet forge. Oh how I could go on. Puppet has revolutionized our infrastructure. It is the best tool I've ever used. If you are on the fence about using puppet, do it. If you are using open source, I HIGHLY recommend you upgrade to enterprise.
What do you dislike?
The initial setup of your infrastructure takes a bit of work. Getting your puppet master set up, the puppetdb configured, and your hiera structure set up takes quite a bit, but once its in place it works great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are delivering our applications faster. We are securing everything automatically, and we are reducing the complexities of our audit through the mere use of our manifests being delivered to the audtors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly advise using enterprise. I do advise consulting their professional services when getting your installation set up right. i also highly recommend getting trained. Their training is worth it so much. Puppetize Live is worth it too if you have a chance to go to conference.


    Earl W.

DeOps is here with Puppet

  • April 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Automation is fluid the customizable command allow for a consistent delivery
What do you dislike?
Requires an in-depth learning curve. Grab your books and a cup of Joe.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automating server maintenance and release cycles
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Puppet and Jenkins will keep your Systems humming


    setu s.

Right answer for configuration management automation

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a best configuration management tool.to automate vm builds and help keep them consistent
What do you dislike?
It takes good amount of work to implement and
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used puppet to automate our configuration management system,.It helped us to improve configuration management, release new features to market more frequently


    Financial Services

Just starting out but so far so good

  • April 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple scripting to build worksflows. Works with almost any software package with an API.
What do you dislike?
Not really a ding but another totally new software package to learn as it is quickly infiltrating our entire enterprise. :)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well, specifically, I am a member of our distributed database team so my view into puppet is a very specific use. We are leveraging it to deploy software packages from Oracle primarily at the moment but it will surely start using it for MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server. It allows us to go more hands off when installing software and patches in a consistent manner.


    Jamin S.

Solid Configuration Management for your Enterprise

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable Releases, Feature delivery each release, Forge is active, Comparable to other products in the market, proven use case at large companies.
What do you dislike?
Too many commands focus on running locally on the enterprise server. Because the Enterprise server can only run on RHEL/CentOS it deters usages from other OS teams. A competitor product, Chef, works around this by offering a quality client-side binary, knife, and cloud/saas version. The cloud might be Linux only, the enterprise is still a heterogeneous operating system environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Release Management/Configuration Mangement for ITLE. Configure/Monitor/Release/Preprod/Create for CICD.


    Retail

Awesome support for CI/CD with code manager and orchestrator.

  • January 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Puppet enterprise has phenomenal services that allow you to easily bring your infrastracture from a simple CI pipeline to a CD pipeline with the orchestrator and code manager. It's awesome to have PR's that get merged into our production branch make their way from source control all the way to our production nodes without any intervention. It's a huge devops enabler.
What do you dislike?
The thing i dislike about puppet enterprise is they lack examples of how people in big companies are using puppet enterprise in an automated fashion. Their docs just show and explain examples using clickops in the PE console.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving the problem of being able to reduce risk in making changes to infrastructure along with preventing lost knowledge from employeers who leave or even tribal knowledge by supporting infrastructure as code practices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation and also read the paper that discusses the differences between puppet and chef posted on puppets website. This will really help shed some light on the true differences and show where puppet really shines.


    Jonathan T.

Stellar Visualization tool with easy data management

  • January 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Working for a data company, we're always pushing the envelope on data visualizations. We love Reflect's responsiveness in the data management tools that let us push evolutionary changes for specific customers at a moment's notice.
What do you dislike?
We would love more hosted solutions that don't need ANY engineering on our side.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the Reflect tools and platform to reduce the sales cycle for big enterprises.


    Insurance

Puppet automation

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, automation and the capabilities to drive consistency and speed to configurable controls
What do you dislike?
Nothing, except this survey form that requires me to use 40 characters to just say nothing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automating repetitive tasks


    Consumer Services

I love puppet to automate my daily work

  • December 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple language to design modules.Less work to document my modules, the code is the documentation. Many modules or template available for faster deployment of new features. I use the API to connect to other automation tools. Also usable to deploy settings an application to a local machine without a puppet sever. Quick deployment of test environments. One written modules are portable to other systems and can be shared with the community. Very good community support.
What do you dislike?
The Puppet Enterprise Dashborad is not my favorite tool. There are simpler and faster ways to manage Puppet. For this i wrote my own Dashboard and use the API. Only one usable IDE to design puppet modules.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Provisioning of new VMs and manage all OS features. Installing predefined environments in less then a half hour instead of do this in 2 days manually. Manage Monitoring Tools to add or remove VMs automatically.


    Mithil P.

One of the best configuration management tooks in the market.

  • December 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The scope of possibilities it has and the growth in managing different technologies.
What do you dislike?
Not being too friendly in managing networking devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of deployment on several range of systems with simple code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is really useful tool once you get accustomed to it. Ease of deployment is one of its best factors