Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Puppet Enterprise BYOL - Free Trial Included

Puppet | 2021.7.7

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Just starting out but so far so good

  • April 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simple scripting to build worksflows. Works with almost any software package with an API.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not really a ding but another totally new software package to learn as it is quickly infiltrating our entire enterprise. :)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well, specifically, I am a member of our distributed database team so my view into puppet is a very specific use. We are leveraging it to deploy software packages from Oracle primarily at the moment but it will surely start using it for MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server. It allows us to go more hands off when installing software and patches in a consistent manner.


    Jamin S.

Solid Configuration Management for your Enterprise

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stable Releases, Feature delivery each release, Forge is active, Comparable to other products in the market, proven use case at large companies.
What do you dislike about the product?
Too many commands focus on running locally on the enterprise server. Because the Enterprise server can only run on RHEL/CentOS it deters usages from other OS teams. A competitor product, Chef, works around this by offering a quality client-side binary, knife, and cloud/saas version. The cloud might be Linux only, the enterprise is still a heterogeneous operating system environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Release Management/Configuration Mangement for ITLE. Configure/Monitor/Release/Preprod/Create for CICD.


    Retail

Awesome support for CI/CD with code manager and orchestrator.

  • January 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Puppet enterprise has phenomenal services that allow you to easily bring your infrastracture from a simple CI pipeline to a CD pipeline with the orchestrator and code manager. It's awesome to have PR's that get merged into our production branch make their way from source control all the way to our production nodes without any intervention. It's a huge devops enabler.
What do you dislike about the product?
The thing i dislike about puppet enterprise is they lack examples of how people in big companies are using puppet enterprise in an automated fashion. Their docs just show and explain examples using clickops in the PE console.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the problem of being able to reduce risk in making changes to infrastructure along with preventing lost knowledge from employeers who leave or even tribal knowledge by supporting infrastructure as code practices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation and also read the paper that discusses the differences between puppet and chef posted on puppets website. This will really help shed some light on the true differences and show where puppet really shines.


    Jonathan T.

Stellar Visualization tool with easy data management

  • January 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Working for a data company, we're always pushing the envelope on data visualizations. We love Reflect's responsiveness in the data management tools that let us push evolutionary changes for specific customers at a moment's notice.
What do you dislike about the product?
We would love more hosted solutions that don't need ANY engineering on our side.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use the Reflect tools and platform to reduce the sales cycle for big enterprises.


    Consumer Services

I love puppet to automate my daily work

  • December 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simple language to design modules.Less work to document my modules, the code is the documentation. Many modules or template available for faster deployment of new features. I use the API to connect to other automation tools. Also usable to deploy settings an application to a local machine without a puppet sever. Quick deployment of test environments. One written modules are portable to other systems and can be shared with the community. Very good community support.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Puppet Enterprise Dashborad is not my favorite tool. There are simpler and faster ways to manage Puppet. For this i wrote my own Dashboard and use the API. Only one usable IDE to design puppet modules.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Provisioning of new VMs and manage all OS features. Installing predefined environments in less then a half hour instead of do this in 2 days manually. Manage Monitoring Tools to add or remove VMs automatically.


    Mithil P.

One of the best configuration management tooks in the market.

  • December 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The scope of possibilities it has and the growth in managing different technologies.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not being too friendly in managing networking devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ease of deployment on several range of systems with simple code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is really useful tool once you get accustomed to it. Ease of deployment is one of its best factors


    Insurance

Puppet automation

  • December 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use, automation and the capabilities to drive consistency and speed to configurable controls
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing, except this survey form that requires me to use 40 characters to just say nothing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automating repetitive tasks


    Computer Networking

Puppet Enterprise is good at enforcing states, but...

  • December 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It enforces states and is extremely reliable for that. It is the means by which we have treated servers as livestock rather than pets.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's not easy to learn, and is way more "Dev" than it is "Ops." Not a tool easy for Systems Administrators to adopt, and much of the functionality has been superseded by the (free) ansible, except for the enforcement of states.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used Puppet 3, but our entire model broke with the advent of Puppet 4. After the disaster of trying to transition everything over, me made the decision to retire Puppet over time.


    Thomas M.

Puppet Enterprise makes it easy to classify machines and track changes.

  • December 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like how easy it is to track changes on machines. Also the ability to go back and look at previous reports to see what changes were made during previous puppet runs is really great. Further, the number of modules written for Puppet by third parties show it's maturity in the landscape of configuration management software.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish that some of the puppet supported modules would continue support (rather than losing support as they start to be picked up by other vendors). Also, Puppet Enterprise is pretty expensive compared to some alternatives.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it to track changes across our fleet of machines and to ensure consistency across our entire environment and datacenters. We have found Puppet Enterprise to be excellent in getting from an unpuppetized environment to close to 100% penetration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Puppet Enterprise is more expensive than other options. It has good software support support. It also has many modules both written and supported by Puppetlabs as well as modules written by third party companies and individuals. I would recommend Puppet Enterprise to individuals or companies that needed to keep a fleet of machines (whether it be hundreds of identical machines or a couple dozen similar machines) configuration settings consistent over time.


    Abdel K.

Puppet for Automation

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best thing I like about using puppet is that it reduces the amount of time spent building and deploying software. A team of 3 can do the work of a team of 8 if they properly use puppet.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is sometimes very hard to move between the community edition and Enterprise edition. Choose carefully when your first starting out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use puppet to deploy and configure all of our infrastructures. It allows us to have a rebuildable stack on any platform (aws, rackspace, data center, etc.)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend using Puppet just for the community support. The puppet forge has almost any module you can think of to accomplish your tasks. Makes puppet a great product.