Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Puppet Enterprise BYOL - Free Trial Included

Puppet | 2021.7.7

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Aditya S.

Great tool for automation of your infrastructure!

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It supports ruby and yaml which are easy to code and maintain. Licensing and GUI is also user-friendly.
What do you dislike about the product?
Viewing puppet agent run log in debug mode in the GUI is extremely tedious to scroll through.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Middleware Service, Authentication Services, Code Deployment & S/W Management.


    Information Technology and Services

Manager, System Engineering

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The overall technology worked well. The dashboard was nice as well.
What do you dislike about the product?
The price. We used open source puppet for our lab environment and ultimately the benefits of enterprise did not justify the costs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were initially trying to do configuration management and automation. We have since moved on to using it primarily for configuration management only while utilizing ansible and other technologies for automation.


    Deepak P.

The DevOps tool

  • December 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Idem potency, and open source community like puppet forge
What do you dislike about the product?
As infra grows, the time takes to agents to completes the run also taking time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security compliance and autdit


    Financial Services

Not ready

  • December 08, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Puppet is good at maintaining configuration files.
What do you dislike about the product?
It just doesn't not have good enough reporting features or abilities to tie into our ticketing system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Actually nothing we could not do with other existing systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at blade logic and see the difference in youregards product and add the missing features and you will a very strong competitive tool


    Human Resources

Impressed by the power of Puppet

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I am impressed by what Puppet can do. It can install and configure software quickly. It is a simple push to multiple servers and the servers are configured.
What do you dislike about the product?
The main issue that I have with it is that I need to have a puppet agent installed on each server. I also would like to use this to push deployments of wars and html pages. However, it is not a small feat to accomplish. To deploy to my environments, I had to learn Ruby to get the deployments to deploy in a fashion which I could verify. I can get more details if needed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Puppet to install Tomcat and Apache and to deploy java applications and static web pages. The benefit is that I can push one configuration out and all the servers are identical.


    Joe C.

Great product with a great future!

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease of use, quality support, and continued, aggressive, development cycle are some of the strongest attributes that PE offers.
What do you dislike about the product?
There could be a lot more functionality built into the web interface. What you can do is great, but a lot is missing, for example, renewing the certificate that PE UI uses isn't as trivial as it should be.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Primary benefit right now is orchestrate Linux patching
Recommendations to others considering the product:
continue to add features to the web UI


    Computer Software

Puppet Enterprise Review

  • December 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Support on supported modules has been fantastic!
What do you dislike about the product?
Learning to use the Ruby DSL language and its constraints to develop modules took some getting used to. Had to depend on the standard library to do a lot of heavy lifting with the basic objects like arrays.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The need for immutable infrastructure is obvious, and any configuration management solution is helpful in that regard, especially puppet enterprise.


    Information Technology and Services

Puppet does a lot of things right and is continually improving.

  • November 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The puppet forge is an amazing resource. Being able to find modules for just about every product is awesome. The ease of mirroring in modules for a quick test is great. The new Tasks feature is a great addition. I was very disappointed when the mcollective interface was removed, I found that quite useful, but it seems that Tasks are going to be a great addition.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish the report page in the console was more detailed. It's difficult to find one single resource in the report. As an example looking at the file resources you may have hundreds of resources and there doesn't seem to be any obvious way to filter that quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to show auditors a collection of code that satisfies their needs is great. Shifting from deep troubleshooting sessions to being able to simply deploy new systems to a known good state quickly is starting to make things much simpler for the Ops team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to look to the forge first. Don't assume that you are the first person to need a module. You can likely find a module that gives you exactly what you need, or a great base to start from.


    Shiwei Y.

A Puppet noobie reivew

  • November 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like puppet has a ability to manage servers with limited configs
What do you dislike about the product?
Learning curve is bad...
There is a limit on file size that you can sync with puppet. We have to use rsync to bypass that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use puppet to do deployment


    Insurance

Puppet Automation

  • November 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Automation for baseline software configuration of servers.
What do you dislike about the product?
Higher learning curve to fully utilize potential.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Standardization of baseline software configuration for server deployment.