Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.6

Jetware | PostgreSQL 9.6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

488 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vishal A.

Quite easy to use and user friendly

  • May 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy and smooth workflow, handy and amateur level tool
What do you dislike?
certain restrictions towards handling of data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I usually use it for data analytics projects which is why valuable to retrieve, update and analyze data, and problems may vary according to the client requirement. However, the best benefit to use PostgreSQL is that you could use easy layman words as crucial commands which are easy to remember.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Instead of other complex query language platforms like Microsoft SQL Server or BigQuery, I would recommend PostgreSQL more.


    Mohit M.

Fast and reliable Database

  • May 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres is easy to learn as it is similar to SQL server which we have been using for a long time.
It is fast and reliable and being free of cost is a cost-effective solution for many applications
What do you dislike?
Postgres can be hard for beginners to understand and use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use postgres to handle database for radiology data sent via various protocols like Dicom and hl7
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Postgre is an cost-effective solution for expensive databases


    Swagato M.

Pretty awesome and well covered in terms of daily challenges

  • May 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature I see is storing (also searching, etc.) data as advanced DS(s) such as JSON, Lists, etc.
What do you dislike?
I didn't have any such challenge exclusively for PostgreSQL. Hence the challenges (if any) would be similar to the regular SQL DB(s).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use PostgreSQL to store the user data in multiple forms (JSON, Lists, etc.).
Benefits: The ability to store the information received from request directly in the same form instead of extra processing like other DB(s) is the best advantage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In case you're searching for a DB with advanced use-cases, PostgreSQL has it covered mostly.


    Financial Services

Best relational database system choice for new app developers

  • May 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The performance of the database is topnotch relating to transactions, concurrency and schema controls
What do you dislike?
It is diffcult to resolve issues/errors as a lot of documentation is not available around this
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We tried to find a low cost alternative db system for a client. So we moved from Oracle to prostgreSQL. This brought the cost down substantially
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a lot of tools for coverting other SQL scripts to prostgreSQL scripts. So if you are looking to switch it's not that diffcult. Also it will significantly reduce your cost


    Animesh K.

PostgreSQL - Advanced open source database

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy Installation and Configuration, supports multi-platforms like Windows, macOS, Linux, use existing applications.
Highly reliable open source RDBMS.
Lots of features compared to its competitors.
What do you dislike?
Lacks schema versioning, Parallel data query, Feels lacking in performance compared to competitors especially in writing to the database. Postgre upgrade from 9 to 10 was not that great, there was a lot of downtime. Lacks in-memory modes.
Less documentation which may be impediment to new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work as a consultant and we work on providing technical solution to our clients. We suggested PostgreSQL to one small company we were working with.
I believe PostgreSQL is best suited for smaller and medium sized development project. Since this is open source, it has all the features which are needed for smaller and medium development project. This is also easy to administrate. Postgres has an incredibly flexible and simple-to-use user/role management system.

Postgres usage is increasing in the industry and I believe its market share has increaed to 6% lately. It is really easy to integrate PostgreSQL into our stack. Because of high adoption rate, hiring a developer to implement or service Postgres is easy. Most of the major database libraries of common web frameworks are out there like Rails - ActiveRecord, Spring-Hibernate, Play Scala-Slick. These libraries have out of the box Postgres support, thus no extra configuration is needed for our web applications to read or write to PostgresSQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is best suited for small and medium development projects. While there is a bit of a learning curve compared to MySQL and SQL server, which may be an issue for the beginner but if you are an experienced software developer or database admin, it is almost perfect for you.
It provides broad feature sets, which are handy for incremental development.
The best part is it's free, so it is a cheap and almost equal alternative to SQL Server since you need to pay a lot for licensing costs of SQL Server for businesses and enterprises.


    Education Management

PostgreSQL

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The cost point on PostgreSQL is significantly better than the big guns like Oracle.
What do you dislike?
I don't think this is as redundant a solution or as high capacity as other databases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I wouldn't say that we're solving problems with it, but it met our need for a database at reduced cost.


    Jorge M.

World Class and Free DBMS Engine

  • March 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a World Class database management system that you can get for free. Besides, it is possible to get paid versions that include support.
What do you dislike?
Until now, I have not found anything that I dislike from this DBMS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I build information systems for the WWW and I use a relational DB concept to store data. Among the types of systems I have developed are: News, Inventory, Documents Digitalization (like invoices and other).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Anyone interested in a DBMS should consider trying PostgreSQL. It is world-class and free. I ask for support using email list subscription and the community response is great and timely. You can optionally find paid options that include special support and configurations with partners like enterprisedb.com. Until now, the free choice has been more than enough for me.


    Hendy W.

Good and I want to experience or solve more problem using it.

  • December 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface, and easy for beginner (either for student or associate consultant)
What do you dislike?
pip install are a lot, and it required one to do more research.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data assessment by using pandas and numpy


    Information Technology and Services

Upgrade from MYSql

  • December 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and functionality: being able to schedule tasks, create window functions.
What do you dislike?
Finding small syntax differences between mysql and postgresql
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to create tasks overnight that will send out the required reporting to each appropriate department.


    Syed M.

Open Source Transactional database to manage GB's of Data for Free.

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Free , Easy to connect over network has many features and Functions and Fast compared to MySql , Support from Large Community . Can have number of parallel users .
What do you dislike?
We need to have aliases for sub-queries which is an overhead sometimes when migrating from different database .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am Using it for practice and to store my Personal Projects in postgresql .
Also worked with Aurora (postgresql) for some project .