Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Meraki vMX100

Cisco Systems, Inc. | 1.0.0

Linux/Unix, Other 3.18 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

50 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

An awesome product

  • May 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment. Ease of management. Easy access to resources on the products
What do you dislike?
Nothing at all, it just works flawlessly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Coverage. Management. MSP billing


    Hospital & Health Care

Very good product - modest feature set - excellent administration

  • April 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The administration of a Meraki device is second to none. The interface is straightforward (perhaps even a bit bare bones) but totally usable and is a treat to use and administer. Much like a Google search experience - bare bones and gets you right into it - the Meraki administration tools really excel
What do you dislike?
The feature set (at least for the products that I've used) is good but certainly not great. If you are looking for a full feature set, Meraki is probably not the place to go. On the other hand, if the feature set meets your needs, you are in a great position to be successful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
VPN, Switching, Wireless Access Points, and Software Defined Wide Area Networking (SD-WAN) is what we are looking at


    Eric M.

Great Interface and easy onboarding

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There is a ton of documentation and I can access the management interface from anywhere. The menu has great explanation bubbles and links to more documentation. The Google Maps and building map integration for AP placement is also very nice when managing multiple sites under one console.
What do you dislike?
There is a delay from when you send a command to when it actually applies, but this is the nature of a web based controller.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I now have a greater insight into our wireless network, traffic, clients, bandwidth, and controls. The interface has allowed me to navigate easily from client to connected access point for investigations and troubleshooting.


    Diogo S.

Wireless with cloud management.

  • April 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cisco Meraki was one of the best innovations in the UTM FIrewall, switch and wireless market with cloud management. What I think is best is the ease of cloud management, being able to access from anywhere. On this platform I can import the plants from the places and keep everything well organized and safe. When something goes down I receive an alert and resolve the issue as soon as possible.
What do you dislike?
It is a tool that is being improved with each new firmware. At the beginning I suffered from some small bugs in the graphical interface, but today the problems have been solved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This tool does not take up space in our data center because the controller is virtual and not an appliance. Everything is in the cloud and this optimizes management, electricity costs, maintenance and space in the rack. The access points work very well, the wifi signal is great in the installed places and we are able to view and configure everything in the cloud. All firewall management is in the cloud and applied instantly.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Excellent networking products if the products fit your use case

  • February 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Wireless APs are solid and stable. The Default settings are pretty sane and tweaking is easy. Features are being added on a regular basis. I was very excited to hear MST support was being added to all AC wave2 and newer APs. You get all the features you need without having to invest in a ridiculous amount of controllers if you have lots of small sites, or lose features by running Cisco APs in FlexConnect mode.

The switches are great for access switches, though I would recommend handling routing on another device. The dashboard and API makes it both possible and almost easy for site techs with little to no networking knowledge to update port configurations (when allowed by tagging, nice!), find devices by mac address, and do other basic but essential tasks that would otherwise be bogging down the network team.

The MS product line is also very well done for specific use cases, although they lack advanced features and settings. For the price they are excellent.

The MV cameras are a wonderful addition to the product line. They are easily managed in the same dashboard as everything else. The best feature of the MVs is that basic processing and video storage is on the camera itself so installing cameras via a wireless bridge, or using wifi for uplink is not a strain on the network or the RF environment.

All of the products can be managed by dashboard or API. The API is great as it makes it easy to, for example, write a script to import 1000 devices in to the dashboard, and assign them to the correct network. It can also be used to have a script that allows non-privileged dashboard users do single tasks that may otherwise require admin rights--assigning devices to groups for example.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally new products require beta or unreleased firmware to be feature complete.

FIrmware updates to the switches have not been as smooth as updates to APs. When using the switch as a L3 device for a site and there is a problem with the uplink connection (and connection to the dashboard) syslogs do not show up in the dashboard. You can export a dump to send to Meraki support, but then it's a support call for something that could be simply solved by viewing syslogs (or better yet having console access) to the device.

The MS appliances are limited for my needs. There is basic URL filtering, but reporting requires an add-on product of some sort that completely replaces the functionality like Cisco Umbrella. Complicated routing or policy-based routing just isn't possible at this time. For a basic branch office they are great though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I replaced over 1000 Cisco APs in FlexConnect mode. I was able to get features like mDNS forwarding, etc... again without having to have a WLC at each site.

Site techs are now able to look in the Meraki dashboard and find devices on the network and do basic access port VLAN changes without bugging the network team.

MS appliances at small sites are plug-and-play and don't require a skilled tech on-site to do the install, make changes, or replace the device if needed. WAN failover is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Run a trial. Test every edge case. It's not for everyone.


    Adam R.

Switch everything to Cisco Meraki - seriously.

  • November 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Plug and play. Once you setup your Meraki dashboard, adding new devices is simple and fast.
What do you dislike?
The price is kinda steep, you have to pay licensing - however the support you get is the best in the industry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cleaning up our network. We currently use almost 20 Cisco Small business switches, by switching to Cisco Meraki we have been able to really analyze and cut down unnecessary network traffic and added stability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look, yes its expensive. But worth every penny for mission critical areas.


    Financial Services

One Stop Shop

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Firewall, MDM, WIFI protection that works
What do you dislike?
Mobile Device location is delayed interface can use more features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralize key security services making support less complex


    Jose P.

Hard to beat on ease of use, deployment, and troubleshooting

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
extremely easy to set up and use. scalable for smb and enterprise
What do you dislike?
not idea for core or data center because of missing advanced features or missing very certain features, like BGP or a client VPN
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
network infrastructure that is easy to manage and maintain with a small inexperienced staff
Recommendations to others considering the product:
check exactly what protocols and features you need, if you're not sure, you're more than likely okay. If a feature you need isnt available, check with meraki or a partner, they feature may be near release.


    David H.

This is a robust yet simple system for which the support is phenomenal.

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Two things: one, it is easy to administer from anywhere (cloud based elements) and, two, the support is phenomenal: it reminds me of WordPerfect 5.1 for DOS support (nothing ever better).
What do you dislike?
Not much. You can't identify remotely a machine connected to a port on their MX (main, router/security/firewall device), though you can on their MS (switch).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's extremely easy to learn and use for almost everything (wireless and wired) and the setup for one network can easily be cloned for another location.


    Construction

Meraki making management easier

  • October 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love how all the data I need is at my finger tips. Regardless of if I need to add a DHCP reservation, watch traffic flow, client connectivity, appliance health it's all right there at the tip of my fingers. It is an amazing and powerful product. One of my most favorite Cisco products to date only behind their switches and network gear!
What do you dislike?
There isn't much I dislike. The product overall is extremely informative and helpful. I no longer have to run multiple command line or powershell bangs to get the information that I need. Cisco Meraki has put all that information a network or system admin would need right in the dashboard. The only thing is managing networks can be a little clunky sometimes. It took me a minute to get used to the maps interface. Once you get that down the rest is a breeze.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It makes setting up wireless access points easier. It makes adding to our network easier with the plug and play hardware. Configure it in your dashboard and your're ready to go. It has improved my life as a sys admin tremendously. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to streamline their network game.