Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Meraki vMX100

Cisco Systems, Inc. | 1.0.0

Linux/Unix, Other 3.18 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

45 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Adam R.

Switch everything to Cisco Meraki - seriously.

  • November 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Plug and play. Once you setup your Meraki dashboard, adding new devices is simple and fast.
What do you dislike?
The price is kinda steep, you have to pay licensing - however the support you get is the best in the industry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cleaning up our network. We currently use almost 20 Cisco Small business switches, by switching to Cisco Meraki we have been able to really analyze and cut down unnecessary network traffic and added stability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look, yes its expensive. But worth every penny for mission critical areas.


    Financial Services

One Stop Shop

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Firewall, MDM, WIFI protection that works
What do you dislike?
Mobile Device location is delayed interface can use more features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralize key security services making support less complex


    Jose P.

Hard to beat on ease of use, deployment, and troubleshooting

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
extremely easy to set up and use. scalable for smb and enterprise
What do you dislike?
not idea for core or data center because of missing advanced features or missing very certain features, like BGP or a client VPN
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
network infrastructure that is easy to manage and maintain with a small inexperienced staff
Recommendations to others considering the product:
check exactly what protocols and features you need, if you're not sure, you're more than likely okay. If a feature you need isnt available, check with meraki or a partner, they feature may be near release.


    David H.

This is a robust yet simple system for which the support is phenomenal.

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Two things: one, it is easy to administer from anywhere (cloud based elements) and, two, the support is phenomenal: it reminds me of WordPerfect 5.1 for DOS support (nothing ever better).
What do you dislike?
Not much. You can't identify remotely a machine connected to a port on their MX (main, router/security/firewall device), though you can on their MS (switch).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's extremely easy to learn and use for almost everything (wireless and wired) and the setup for one network can easily be cloned for another location.


    Construction

Meraki making management easier

  • October 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love how all the data I need is at my finger tips. Regardless of if I need to add a DHCP reservation, watch traffic flow, client connectivity, appliance health it's all right there at the tip of my fingers. It is an amazing and powerful product. One of my most favorite Cisco products to date only behind their switches and network gear!
What do you dislike?
There isn't much I dislike. The product overall is extremely informative and helpful. I no longer have to run multiple command line or powershell bangs to get the information that I need. Cisco Meraki has put all that information a network or system admin would need right in the dashboard. The only thing is managing networks can be a little clunky sometimes. It took me a minute to get used to the maps interface. Once you get that down the rest is a breeze.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It makes setting up wireless access points easier. It makes adding to our network easier with the plug and play hardware. Configure it in your dashboard and your're ready to go. It has improved my life as a sys admin tremendously. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to streamline their network game.


    Caleb T.

Dynamic, High-Visibility Platform

  • October 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cisco Meraki's web platform is incredibly helpful for IT professionals when it comes to monitoring and maintaining an IT infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
The cost of hardware and cloud licenses is somewhat prohibitive. This is understandable however, given the level of service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use the Meraki web console to send alerts when critical systems go down. Our MX also handles DHCP subnetting for our guest network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This platform is a must have for any business that needs responsive, automated management, and provides excellent network- wide visibility.


    Brian D.

Great hardware that is easy to deploy and manage, not impressed with business practices.

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Networking has gotten a lot easier with Meraki, I've forgotten a lot of my CCNA skills because Meraki makes it so easy. Manage or troubleshoot your network from anywhere. User interface is friendly and makes it easy to get things done. Migration of devices is seamless. VPN setup takes seconds.
What do you dislike?
MX appliances are missing some features, they provide DHCP but then don't provide DNS. DNS is fairly standard on perimeter devices and can't think of any competitor that doesn't have it. Support is sub-par and often does not provide you with solutions. The client VPN should have a software client. Have to rely on native OS vpn which for Windows has been buggy and causes problems.

Sales team is unresponsive when you need something. Promised hardware for learning about and promoting the product but then you do not get hardware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With many work from home employees and remote office Meraki makes it super simple to keep everyone connected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out Ubiquiti UniFi
Most of the features at a better price and without the licensing


    Eric S.

Meraki Makes WAN Easy

  • September 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Meraki is great for WAN deployments. The template feature makes deploying many similar WAN sites a breeze. We started with 35 small office / home office deployments and we only had to build one template from scratch then copy that one and modify a few settings to match the variety of deployments we needed.
What do you dislike?
Some of the settings are buried in places that don't entirely make sense but I'm not sure how to make it better so I can't complain too much.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are replacing a software VPN based connection set up with Meraki and it will cut administration time down by at least 50% if not more. The built in firewall for each router also increases our security and blocks a non company owned computer from being plugged in.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get the free eval device. See for yourself how easy it is.


    Victor L.

Intuitive interface, easy to deploy and great support.

  • September 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is the key to the Meraki solutions, single pane of glass that allows administrators easy access from anywhere to configure, test, and manage Meraki's network solutions. There are plenty of technical articles on deploying these solutions and integrating them to other products. Support is very responsive and available 7X24.
What do you dislike?
The licensing model can become costly over time. Mixed messaging on AC power cord ordering for locations outside of the US. The solutions are a subset of the main items "most" users would utilize, there are certain features such as BGP which are not available and limits to integrating to other vendor solutions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of administration, by being able to log into the system and fully support the solution from any device and browser aids in the speed of resolution. Time to resolution has greatly improve and so has customer satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start with a trial and determine if this is for you. If integrating to other systems, pay careful attention to any issues and limitations


    Alejandro A.

Cisco Meraki, Buenos equipos y Buena Inversión!!

  • September 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Una de las cosas que mas me gusto es su simpleza, No es necesario mantener un ingeniero dedicado en el personal para administrar una red grande y complicada.
Meraki es fácil de usar y realmente toma en serio la mentalidad de conectar y usar los productos sin limitarse a las capacidades.
VPN de site a site, repuestos en funcionamiento y una gran cantidad de redes y otros dispositivos han hecho que Meraki sea una solución digna de instalar.
Los hemos tenido e implementado durante un par de años, y nunca hemos tenido problemas con la instalación, equipos y/o configuraciones, una configuración más sólida y me he sentido más cómodo haciendo actualizaciones de forma remota y según sea necesario.
Por ultimo Administre toda la red desde un único panel de control, usuarios de control, aplicaciones y dispositivos. No hay ningún hardware de controlador ni software de administración para instalar o mantener
What do you dislike?
Tienen hoy en día algunas limitaciones cuando se refiere a instalaciones en grandes empresas, aun la solución esta dirigida a pequeñas empresas.
Productos relativamente mas caros que redes ZyXell, SonicWall, Ubiquiti, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Usamos a Meraki para resolver los problemas actuales de seguridad de la cámara inalámbrica y física. Queríamos tener un tablero central para todo nuestro equipo. Así que ahora podemos ejecutar no solo los interruptores, el firewall, sino que hemos agregado inalámbricos y cámaras a la mezcla que no ha ayudado a mejorar la conectividad a nivel de empresa.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
100% recomendado para pequeñas y medianas empresa, muy fácil administración y soporte