Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 on Ubuntu with Postgresql (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.5.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

414 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Defense & Space

Senior Civil Engineer

  • July 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful thing is handling thousands of data points accurately. I like the many different ways we can present data, and the graphics can be stunning.
What do you dislike?
It appears that we are being force (eventually) into ArcGIS Pro. We are satisfied with the programs we have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize ArcGIS for asset cataloging and keeping up with the current conditions of our assets. We are moving toward BIM and like the way ArcGIS prepares us for that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Esri products are robust and easy to use with a little training.


    EVANSON N.

Outstanding Capabilities of Esri ArcGIS

  • July 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software has numerous tools which enable me to manipulate spatial data for projects such as resource management
The software enables me to access my projects anywhere anytime through ArcGIS online
ArcGIS online offers unlimited datasets
What do you dislike?
The software is a bit bulky and tends to slow my laptop
It requires very powerful computers to run efficiently
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Resources Management, Mapping of the Geothermal hotspots and predicting their effects on the neighbourhood as well as assessing their effects over the years
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a well-equiped GIS software for GIS data analysis


    Oil & Energy

Dynamic program

  • July 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Esri ArcGIS is a dynamic program that can be configured to fulfillthe business needs from a full range of disciplines. Using it in a government setting and within utilities has given me an in-depth look at how different businesses utilize the same tools for a variety of reasons.
What do you dislike?
Clunky in certain aspects. Some of the tools are not as easy to use to those that aren’t as well versed in GIS. government entities are slow to adapt so new tools aren’t backwards compatible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allowing us to update sde layers to make us compliant.


    Environmental Services

Easy to Use Analysis Tools

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use analysis tools that allow you to create great maps.
What do you dislike?
Hard to use web services, so I use Pro more now
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Inventory and monitoring maps


    Defense & Space

Easy to use

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The software is very user friendly for a basic user and even power user. I really Help Menu.
What do you dislike?
The software sometimes stop working, and the only way to close it. As a result, some unsaved work will be lost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently, improving real property data at the installations.


    Real Estate

robust

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a significant tool to implement into story telling.
What do you dislike?
resource intensive. there is a lot of training required.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
still learning about it.


    Utilities

Powerful, user-friendly, sometimes sluggish.

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are an amazing amount of tools and flexibility within ArcGIS Desktop. You can usually accomplish a goal in multiple ways with varying workflows.
What do you dislike?
Using large amounts of data in one map document can cause some serious performance issues, even when using a newer PC with high end hardware specs. My biggest gripe is when error messaging provides you with no real explanation of what when wrong. This often requires a deep dive into online forums to figure out what really occurred.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
What locations to focus on in regards to fire mitigation at an electric utility. Keeping track of assets, having a very functional geometric network that transfers into our engineering modeling software (Windmil). Overall, it's generally easy to use.


    Jeffery S.

30 year Esri User staying up on the latest technologies.

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The constant updates that keep us on the leading edge. The fact that the platform offers a solution for every need.
What do you dislike?
The need for change means we are always learning and it is difficult to steward solutions and to be of service when we have to both learn and then to share what we just learned.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am in higher education and primarily teach thus the problem I solve most is the development of skills, knowledge and abilities for people, one person at a time, who need to better their station in life. All of our students are working and we actually turn away jobs because we have too few students. Our benefits are numerous given the grads head off in so many directions and that they land in so many places that permit them to be the problem solvers. My ROI is the increase of location aware problem solvers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do yourself a favor and make the investment so that you too can see what other don't. It is the future - if not the future then this technology is the way in which we will secure our future.


    Market Research

Mainly a good experience, a few drawbacks

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I find the software mostly easy to use and I can make almost all adjustments and edits to my maps that I need. I like that I don't need to use ArcOnline or consume credits to do my analyses.
What do you dislike?
The software is bulky and uses a lot of memory. If I need multiple maps open, the Arc documents take up a lot of space and slow down my computer. It would be great if I could change labels back from annotation if needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ArcGIS almost every day, from making simple overview maps with some points of interest to customer locations and drive time analysis. Being able to map data for my clients is powerful because they often are unaware of the spatial components of the issue at hand.


    Dustin R.

ArcGIS is AMAZING!

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have really enjoyed the functionality and broad application of the Esri products, especially ArcGIS.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, I have been using ArcGIS for over 10 years now and love it!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have found amazing solutions using ArcGIS for site selection, gas utility management, and municipal and county governments. The best overall benefit is the ability to see things in a spatial way that changes everything.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
DO IT!