Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud

Add Elasticsearch Service, brought to you by the creators of the Elastic Stack (Elasticsearch, Logstash, Kibana, and Beats), right onto your AWS bill. There is no compression algorithm for experience or expertise and we've been running our hosted Elasticsearch Service (previously known as Found) since... See more

Customer Reviews

22
Create Your Own Review

Terminated deployment but still getting billed. No help from support.

  • By Eduard
  • on 04/12/2019

We decided to try this service because we were looking for alternative to AWS Elasticsearch service. Setting up was easy but then we quickly realised that there was no way to host the service in our own VPC (which you can do with AWS Elasticsearch) so we terminated the deployment after just a half of day use and went on deploying latest ElasticSearch setup right on vanilla EC2 instance in our VPC which also pretty straightforward and appears to be the most flexible solution.

However to our surprise a few days later checking our AWS bill we noticed that despite the fact that our test deployment has been terminated days ago we were still being billed by Elasticsearch Inc as if it was still running.
We contacted their support but received no response to date. And we still getting billed. There is no deployment in our list so nothing we can do on our end.
Very frustrating and very unprofessional from Elasticsearch Inc.


Great

  • By María
  • on 02/18/2019

The set up is really straightforward and all the operational tasks. The big disadvantage is that you need a plus machine to host your logstashs agents.


Modern Elasticsearch without the tuning

  • By Wesley Hirsch
  • on 02/17/2019

I moved to this from the AWS Elasticsearch service, and it's a breath of fresh air.

It includes XPack, and it's a modern version, which allows for some of the latest features.

The management interface is intuitive and provides a good level of flexibility vs ease of use.

Custom configuration can be added through the management portal into the elasticsearch.yml, and custom plugins can be installed.


Easy to configure and use

  • By Anton
  • on 02/16/2019

Switched to Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud after using AWS Elasticsearch service. The main reason was the ability of using x-pack plugins.


A great option if you don't want to manage your ES cluster manually

  • By John Shea
  • on 02/16/2019

I've been using ElasticSearch for about 3 years in production, and while it's nice to be able to control the hardware configuration of your cluster not all projects have the bandwidth to dedicate someone's time to tuning cluster performance.

The Elasticsearch service gives you the best parts of Elasticsearch while taking the overhead of managing clusters off of your plate. It's a great choice for small teams and for organizations without dedicated devops teams.


Pretty decent and easy to use

  • By Tim Malone
  • on 02/16/2019

Pretty decent product; easy to set up and easy to use. The centralised billing makes things a lot simpler. Definitely a superior product to AWS' own Elasticsearch offering, especially with in-built auth, monitoring and other tools.


Great product!

  • By Soeren
  • on 02/16/2019

We started using the service about a month ago, and so far it has been an absolute delight.
Before joining the Elastic Cloud, we were using AWS's Elasticsearch Service, but we needed some of the functionality that comes with the Elastic Stack, so the decision to transition wasn't hard.
I can highly recommend trying the product.


Great Service! Easy to Set Up and Use!!

  • By BH
  • on 02/15/2019

Started with AWS's Elastic offering, but found it was behind and missing functionality. Eventually, I intend to manage the installation myself. In the meantime, this gets us up and running immediately. It would be nice to be able to provision more storage separately without provisioning more servers or other resources since it becomes cost prohibitive to store and analyze logs for the duration we would like to, ultimately this is the limitation that will make us move in-house eventually. But so far the functionality and ease of use have been just what we needed.


easy to set up, scalable, and fast

  • By Ray
  • on 02/15/2019

We've been using this for about 6 months now, and it was super easy to set up and configure, our search queries have been fast, and we haven't had any downtime. Highly recommended, especially for small teams like ours that need to get the Elastic Stack up and running fast and with minimal effort.


Easy to setup, great to use

  • By Brad
  • on 02/15/2019

We've used self-hosted ElasticSearch for years, but as we're working on migrating our applications to a cloud-hosted solution, we needed to decide how to host some of our services, such as ElasticSearch.

After much investigation, we decided to use the Elastic Cloud service, due to the easy of setup, management, and maintenance. The fact that a Kibana server comes with it and is ready to go as soon as your cluster is built really puts the cherry on top.