Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud

You can now add the Elasticsearch Service right onto your AWS bill. Hosted and managed Elasticsearch Service is brought to you by the creators of the Elastic Stack (Elasticsearch, Logstash, Kibana, and Beats). Our team of software engineers have a wealth of experience with hosting and managing Elasticsearch clusters in production. Elasticsearch Service runs on AWS, and all deployments run on high-performing Amazon EC2 instances that are tailored for your production use case. All Elasticsearch Service plans include commercial features such as security, alerting, monitoring, reporting, machin... See more

Customer Reviews

9
Create Your Own Review

It was easy to use however memory and disk space were limited

  • By Dennis
  • on 07/25/2018

We used the service to deal with our data was easy. But the server provided restricted disk space and memory in reasonable price. We still expect to open machine learning and other statistics function in the future.

No Doubt the Best Search Platform

  • By Desynova Digital
  • on 07/25/2018

ELK Stack is the only Leader currently in the industry to provide Search, Log management and Data Analytics under one roof.

Would love to have Beats included in this offering.

Easy to configure & use

  • By Greg
  • on 07/25/2018

We compared a few competing options, and finally decided to use managed Elastic clusters on AWS. One of the main factors that influenced our decision was access to the latest version, and ability to easily configure, upgrade and scale. Centralized billing through AWS was a plus.

On the other hand, there didn't seem to be a way to view/upgrade the license to get access to more features Eg:- Machine Learning. Pricing was also on the higher side, would prefer it to be lower.

Easy to use

  • By lliknart
  • on 07/24/2018

Easy to configure and easy to use.
To build an elasticserach cluster very quickly and focus on the real work.
Need Machine Learning to get 5 stars :)

Fair

  • By Cloud
  • on 07/24/2018

AWS offering is a great place to start experimenting the elastic stack before moving it to an on-prem solution. The main costly aspect of using the cloud solution would be storage.

Great product, easy to use

  • By Tony
  • on 07/24/2018

We chose to go with the Elastic Cloud service because the setup was incredibly simple, and we where up and running in minutes. Everything we had done locally was easily transferred up into the cloud service, and in about half an hour we went from a locally running install to a fully functional cloud install.

My only complaint was that I used my email to sign up (I'm an architect) however our support team wanted it transferred into their email when we went live and there is no way to change the primary email after the fact.

That is honestly the only thing I can complain about, other then that it has been remarkably stable, easy to work with, and does exactly what you want it to.

Oh, the things I learned!

  • By DIY Elasticsearch
  • on 02/15/2018

The Elastic Cloud service wasn't for us. We use Elasticsearch for storing and analyzing the logs for our various servers/services. We could only store a limited amount of logs (obviously), though much more limited than we would like - your cluster's provisioning are linked on memory and disk space, in order to get more storage you'll also need to bump up the memory. I found I was having to bump to the next tier when my memory usage wasn't even close to maxed out. The price of a production cluster quickly escalated to a point where the cost couldn't be justified. I think this is probably due to our use case - so, your experience my differ.

If you care about uptime, you'll also want(need) to pay for Gold or Platinum support. I liked the convenience of paying through the AWS marketplace - but, the impression I got was that Elastic would prefer you pay them directly.

They also, offer an X-Pack monitoring service, which seems useful, but I didn't use, so I can't comment on it. However, if you chose not to use that service, be prepared to roll your own monitoring solution - otherwise your only way to detect problems pro-actively is via the Elastic Cloud web page.

Perhaps I expected too much from this service, but seeing as it is a pricey option (compared to self hosting), I feel my expectations were justified.

Configuration Flexibility was the determining factor.

  • By TreverW
  • on 02/15/2018

Elastic Cloud gave us more flexibility and control than the AWS ElasticSearch and the ability to manage it within our AWS market account. Having x-pack available for security and monitoring and ability to customize the configuration for Slack notifications and alerts.

X-pack functionality is a game-changer

  • By KayN
  • on 07/20/2017

Being able to use X-pack functionalities like security, monitoring and alerting has made it much easier for us to secure and optimize our elasticsearch experience. Role-based access control (RBAC) that is part of X-pack security was an essential part of our decision to move to Elastic Cloud.

showing 1 - 9