Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

343 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

Moodle was a great basis for all things academic during my undergraduate career.

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I liked that there was an easy list of courses on the left panel of my screen where I could easily access current classes and then scroll down for not as recent courses.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish there had been an option to flip scanned documents because oftentimes I'd have to read a document my professor scanned and it would be sideways. I realize it's something they can fix too, but I think allowing this would make it more userfriendly for professors and students.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This is a great portal for both students and professors to stay organized with their courses, coursework, and grades.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use every aspect of Moodle. Really dig in to what all it offers and it will greatly benefit you!


    Kelsy F.

Easy way to set up a classroom or website

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like that I can have all my information for students in one place, along with the ability for them to upload documents they want to share with me.
What do you dislike about the product?
It can be difficult to use with complicated steps to setting up certain features of the website.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to better communicate with students and share with other colleagues what we are doing. I have realized that I can have a grade book accessible to students at all times.


    Sarah S.

Not Bad as an Administrative Tool

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
One of the best features of Moodle is the ability to share files within a committee or group at my institution. Instead of emailing a file around, the master file is put on the Moodle course for that group so we all have the same version to reference prior to our meetings.
What do you dislike about the product?
Moodle is sometimes a little bit clunky to use on a mobile device, but it's not the kind of resource that needs to perform flawlessly on a screen that small. For it's purposes, this isn't a deal breaker, but it can be a bit of a drawback on the fly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moodle allows administrators to share files from a committee or group without a hundred emails flying around. We tend to be pretty email heavy where I'm at, so any way in which we can cut down on large file sizes clogging inboxes is a good one. Moodle also allows us to look back at previous meeting minutes to reference our agendas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From the administrative side, Moodle has been a great way to organize materials across committees and classrooms. It is fairly easy to use and has increased productivity in a variety of ways. We can share materials prior to meeting with a group as well as store previous meeting minutes and upcoming goals to be accomplished so that we can stay on course with the committee objectives.


    Higher Education

The de-facto standard but should be emproved

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy and fast to set up and to be production ready with small to medium installations . Intuitive usage experience that leads to an easy acceptance from the users . It also has very good contextual guides that allow you to obtain a decent user experinece with a really small effort .
What do you dislike about the product?
Performances are a N I G H T M A R E . . . As it is always the case with php , it's good for small to medium use case but does not fit " bigger " cases. Also community only support certain db forget it if you use oracle for example . The setup uses huge amount of R A M and is really hard to scale properly . Needs a lot of bare metal. sys admin ar e not happy about it . Really poor S . C . O . R . N . support . It is really hard to import data from other courses.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
E-learning courses for small to medium installation. We are giving about 300 courses reaching more or less 7500 students . They are quite happy with it but our system administrators are not . We give courses to users that logs in using ldap and get to see only the courses they can attend to
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have less than 500 courses that's for you otherwise look elsewhere


    Primary/Secondary Education

Moodle review

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of adding classes and assignments for my students.
What do you dislike about the product?
Being required to use it at school because I’m a music teacher.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
None


    Angie P.

Not a bad software for dealing with school

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I used Moodle for school, and I enjoyed that I was able to access previous courses as well as current ones. I also liked that it offered email forwarding so that I didn't have to worry about missing important emails when I wasn't signed in.
What do you dislike about the product?
The interface wasn't as easy to navigate as it might have been. Courses were simply listed via text, and the names were often long and unseemly. It would have been much nicer with buttons, or even some sort of edited names
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The benefit of Moodle was being able to submit assignments, take quizzes, and just generally interact in a simplistic manner with my professors. One of the problems we solved using this software was how to distribute and then collect take-home exams. These needed to be handed out at the same time, as well as given a deadline for return. Because you're allowed to pre-program Moodle for this, we were able to administer the take-home exams.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle recently did a re-haul, and the interface has greatly improved. I very much recommend it!


    Education Management

Overall good

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
usability. It's easy to navigate through
What do you dislike about the product?
not very sleek. could use some updates on esthetics.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Communication and corporate uniformity.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Moodle is easy and efficient

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We use moodle for our online courses. I think the workshops themselves are easy to navigate thanks to moodle. The extra features like being able to send messages to all the participants enrolled in a course is also a nice touch, it gives administrators, teachers, and students another way to communicate easily.
What do you dislike about the product?
There isn't much that I don't like. For the my user purposes moodle does everything it needs to. If I did have to pick something that is a slight annoyance I'd say when you're searching users sometimes you need to clear the filters before creating a new search. It'd be nice if that didn't carry over once you are searching a new name.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moodle helps us run our online courses, it also keeps a reliable list of enrollment numbers and names for our online courses. It is efficient for what it was intended for.


    Higher Education

Open Source and Fabulous

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Moodle's vibrant global community of users and developers. I also love Moodle's flexibility. Every Moodle site is different and can be customized to the needs of its users.
What do you dislike about the product?
Because Moodle is open source, the order in which certain problems are addressed by developers isn't always in alignment with how I would prioritize things for my own site's needs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Moodle with many of my clients to provide training at a distance, to supplement in-person education, and even to conduct webinars or product reviews. I also use Moodle to teach courses at my local university.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is a great platform, but it is not right for everyone. Open source software is great, and Moodle doesn't cost a cent, but there are tradeoffs. Important considerations include staff expertise, hosting, and user support. Moodle Partners can provide these for a fee but many Moodle users choose to provide these themselves. Small teams and organizations may be happy with a standard web host but larger teams or sites with thousands of users will likely require the resources of a Moodle partner unless in-house staff can provide the necessary technology support for users and site administration tasks.


    Ilse D.

Moodle is Ideal for Distance Education

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The cohort support within each Moodle 'course' made graduate school extremely easy. Being able to find assignments and resources before, during, and after thesis work was really helpful. I love being able to communicate with other classmates through the forums option; it is ideal for cohort-based distance education programs. You feel like you're part of the class, rather than just a participant.
What do you dislike about the product?
At first I thought the user interface was difficult to use/outdated, but after getting the hang of it I find it extremely easy to navigate. It's easy to go back and find different threads and course-specific information now that I have used it for a good amount of time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My favorite aspect of Moodle is that all of the resources, assignments, and forums are still available years after the course! It makes writing a thesis extremely easy, because everything is in one place as an archive. It also makes cohort-based distance learning (such as an international graduate degree program) extremely welcoming and effective.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I've used both Blackboard and Moodle, and I find Moodle to be much more user-friendly. Be sure to navigate all the different functions at the beginning, because it will make things much easier later on. It's a great place to archive resources and forum discussions. For institutions looking to choose between the two, I would choose Moodle over Blackboard or Canvas!