Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

284 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Have been using it since 2007

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The scalability and vast community support.
What do you dislike?
The not so modern interface compared to proprietary platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To deliver online course content. What is great there are two versions update in a year.


    Osmary G.

It is very useful to support distance learning

  • May 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very positive that it is possible to activate a chat for everyone, so that students can communicate with teachers and other students in a safe environment. In addition, each classroom and course can be customized by the administrator. For example, one teacher may choose to offer a content-sharing space that can be edited by students, while another prefers to create a private forum to stimulate online discussions.
What do you dislike?
In this case it is important to remember that free software is not synonymous with zero cost. There are costs associated with the services of an IT team, essential for the configuration of the platform, time to make the necessary changes and financial investment in infrastructure.
In addition, it is necessary to assemble or outsource IT equipment and a basic hardware and software infrastructure to meet your needs. Programmers who are part of the system configuration need knowledge of PHP and MySQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As teachers we have been able to create and manage virtual classrooms, in which students can access videos, documents and exams. It can also be used without the activation of online classes. Some teachers can use it simply as a learning support, while others can use it as the main interface to take exams and evaluations. Therefore, it has been a very valuable resource for us.


    Philip M.

Moodle makes it possible to provide blended learning possible and simple!

  • May 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle provides functional, usable,flexible, reliable and adaptable features and functionalities that truly satisfies my requirements as end-user of a learning management software. The user interface is easy to manage and navigate so it's not hard for me and my students to interact and communicate. Creating virtual classroom and setting-up enrollment are easy to do and perform. Using this online learning platform, I can easily create assessment, manage learners' profile, check students' academic progress and create needed report in providing immediate feedback to my students. There is also an option that I can backup and restore all the activities in the virtual classroom that I created in which I considered great features of this software.
What do you dislike?
Since Moodle is considered as a learning management software, it would be better if it has chat feature not online an online forum so that the teacher can provide real-time support for those students who need help. Also, remote meeting capability is another feature that this software is lacking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle makes the online learning delivery more efficient because it has a notification feature that helps you to give immediate feedback to all the assigned tasks that the students have finished already. Through this software, I can also easily provide online activities such as quizzes and tests with my students that would help me easily assess their learning that will eventually help me adjust my instruction. Moodle also can easily provide reports of all the activities that the students accomplished and can be printed anytime. To sum it up, Moodle makes me become more efficient, effective and productive online teacher.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your are a teacher and is looking for a learning management software that has simple yet usable features and functionalities then Moodle can be one of the best choices. I don't experience any problems in any of the functionalities of this Learning Management System (LMS) tool.


    Higher Education

Awesome Flexibility

  • April 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about Moodle is its flexibility to accommodate many different approaches to education. Many other LMS's have limited feature functionality compared to Moodle and educators can feel constricted in their approaches.
What do you dislike?
The best part about Moodle is also the cause of its greatest drawback: complicated settings. Often, since Moodle allows for so many different approaches, the settings can be overly complicated and intimidating for users trying to approach solutions simply. It's worth the tradeoff though, in my opinion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is the primary LMS for my College.


    Tharek J.

Best E-learning tool with totally free

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is best web base distance learning software,As result of web base it has high availability and we can login any where of world.Moodle is very organized software which we can easy to understand.It user interface is very user friendly and simple.And also we can customize theme with our institute logo,
Moodle mobile app is available for iOS and Android,Only installing that app we can do every our education work with just finger touch.And also we can install additional plugins to is ,Such as quiz modules,assignment and live video plugin .Normally moodle has good user management system. Using users such as administrator, teacher and student, we can give permission level by level, Not only this thing, but also we can manage the calendar, assignment deadline, assignment marks, and much more.
What do you dislike?
If someone goes to free version on Moodle, Users and capacity have limits, But if you did configuration to any server, you can use it unlimited.Overall Moodle is the best tool for distance learning with all functions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before we use Moodle, our all student education purpose work are defending on paper base work.We face lots of problems with that.Such as document missing, Bulk of papers and course material sending issues, After we were starting use Moodle that all problems are solved.Now we can work with on time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't waste money and time to develop new software for e-learning and mange student educational works ,It is free ,Just config and use it with all function what you need


    Vishmantha P.

Best E learning environment

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
this will drive as a bridge teachers and student. specially moodle use in universities and also it is completely open source project if any one can want to contribute it can do. its basically include lecture material upload portal for teachers and if we have a already registered account we can log and access the lectures. and specially chat it will help to share with colleagues and lectures as well. if we have to submit assignments etc we can do it thorough the moodle and very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
some time if we have to upload assignments with large data file size it is cannot do that through a moodle because it is not ready to do that. some file type (extension) not work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
specially they provide mobile application for access moodle and we can easily log in to it and also it shows upcoming event for related subjects and if we have notified it is also show through a mobile app and web application. and we can easily find our course modules fro it. if we forgot logout specially it automatically logout with spec time and it provide change password and some basic functions. it will be a easy to manage all work with all enrolled modules. and mobile responsive web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend specially for administrators at education centers. because it is very easy to manage your students enrolled subjects.


    John L.

Moodle works great for most educational needs

  • April 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the customizability of Moodle for a variety of educational applications and the thought that has gone into the design and features. I also love that it is FREE, open-source and has a worldwide reach.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that MoodleCloud, which has a free site hosting offer, does not allow you to use validated plug-ins. It may be that this forces individual/institutional users to go to commercial hosting providers or host the installation themselves on a private server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Moodle for educational purposes as an adjunct professor and I have started a business that works with organizations to assist them with setting up and create virtual environments such as a virtual conference.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In addition to using Moodle at my post-secondary institution, I have independently created Moodle courses on a home installation. Set-up is a snap, and every time that I do, I learn more and more about the features included in Moodle. They have a great support community and documents database. Best of all, Moodle is open-source software, and FREE!


    Sonal R.

Review for Moodle

  • March 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Advantages -

1.Easy for the instructor to update information.
2.The student has a direct contact with the curriculum.
3. Day to day update of the syllabus.
4. You can check your courses.
5. One can collate all their courses at one place.
6. This site can be used to preview all the upcoming courses.
7. Great way to immediately get feedback from teachers.
8. The dashboard contains the latest news that is chronologically sorted.
9. It is linked to Zoom and thus it makes it easy for people to hold zoom call meeting with the instructors.
What do you dislike?
Disadvantages -

1. Difficult to use.
2. Sends an email every time the teacher posts something.
3. Not user friendly.
4. It is difficult to track the updates as there are no email updates.
5. It may not be very easy to understand the usage.
6. It requires some assistance to understand when using it for the first time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Being able to communicate with the teacher immediately.
2. Able to post comments on the go.
3. Able to interact with other classmates.
4. I am able to collate all resources in one place.
5. I can go back and revisit all the contents at anytime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Got for it! It's great.


    Higher Education

Channel to deliver knowledge

  • March 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I worked with moodle in my exchange in Portugal when I spent 6 months studying in a college there. All my classes were registered on moodle and the teachers provided the materials weekly on the platform. Moodle is an easy way to host learning material and to pass challenges/homeworks for the people who are learning. The student can find in one place notes, curiosities, challenges, homeworks and all types of materials that the teacher wants to share in one place.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is not so much a friendly-user, it could be more customizable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
How the material is totally centralized, I just need to go in Moodle and see what is new.


    L.M. J.

Interaction rich learning platform

  • January 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It provides a good environment for both the learner and the facilitator during the learning process with the help of online discussions. In the discussions it provides different useful access levels such as "moderator" which is a very helpful feature. As a result of this it helps the peer leaning process.
Other than that the It provides a cool function to submit the assignments. It is really helpful and very easy. Due to this feature it has reduced lot of paperwork which is very good for the environment as well.
Another key feature is the notifications sent in order to remind users about the scheduled tasks such as assignment submissions.
What do you dislike?
Although it provides a number of useful interactions the interfaces are not much attractive. As a result a new user may refuse to continue with it. As a result of this it will be difficult to attract new users. Therefor the users may tend to use other similar products available in the market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have solved lot of problems I had as a learner during the learning process such accessing the lecture slides, accessing assessment details, submitting assignments.
As Moodle send prior notifications about the assignment submissions it has become very helpful for me.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As a learning platform it provides lot of features which helps to improve the learning process. Therefor I recommend it for all the educational institutes who wish to have an interaction rich learning process.