Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

313 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Internet

Open Source Learning Management System

  • January 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that Moodle is free and open source, so it can be adapted for many needs. My favorite feature is that it works with Examview test software.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the system can be hard to figure out exactly how to complete certain tasks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a free online learning management system. We love that it is free and hosted through our local district.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will need a place to host Moodle.


    Suleman A.

I am using Moodle since 2011

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like most the details of creating Quiz, Submit Assignments online.
What do you dislike?
A little customization takes a lot of time to understand the code.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used it to completes our Resident Assessments, so used the quiz engine for creating multiple questions and keep track of answers for future planning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend to colleges/universities.


    Betsy L.

Moodle moods

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's incredibly user friendly. I've used other LMS; moodle is second to none
What do you dislike?
There are a lot of features I don't use, and that can be a tad cumbersome
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Efficiently in general has increased


    Aaron H.

Moodle is Awsome

  • January 09, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its free without the hassle that usually brings, that is number one for any business. Second is it is solid and robust. It is a system that can handle any amount of users and can be scaled for huge numbers of students with the right hardware supporting it. From a single high school teacher to a entire university, this system can scale and is easy to operate.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes 3rd party plugins are not as good as one would hope, but this is also what makes Moodle great is the 3rd party developer community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cost and functionality. Moodle is able to directly link with my registration system that handles payments and controls access as well as course creation. This means only those who should have access have it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get it and use it, it is highly adaptable for most training environments.


    Higher Education

Solid LMS but a bit challenging to customize for usability

  • January 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that my students can see their grades and that I can post assignments relatively easily. There are many options for different types of grading systems. It's open source so apparently it gives some cost savings to blackboard.
What do you dislike?
The interface is a bit wonky. I always want to edit course material and never just view the site but there is no way to set edit mode the default view.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need an online LMS. We seem to have saved some money by switching from Blackboard.


    E-Learning

Many benefits to customize and contain necessary information for classroom environment!

  • November 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use Moodle with a multitude of our clients, who all have various needs and requirements, so the ease of customization is great! It is also very intuitive to navigate for both our employees and our clients (teachers and students at colleges).
What do you dislike?
It can be a little difficult for a first time professor to navigate the Moodle environment, without access to a skilled resource who is more familiar.
In general, I dislike the way to group/search for students. As it is now, you have to search for students within a particular course, rather than pulling all students from all courses at a given time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to provide meaningful content and a system for our professors to update their courses and curriculum.


    Tyler F.

Moodle for free???

  • October 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Moodle at a community college that I teach at. I have taught on Moodle for the past 8 yeas, and it has been an enjoyable experience. I like that all of Moodle is extremely customizable. The platform can be tailored to fit the need of each individual instructor within the school, as well as different add ons to support learning. I also like that it is open source, so as new tools are developed by individuals, they can be shared elsewhere. I currently enjoy using the sharing cart. This is a tool that copies content from one course to another. The sharing cart will allow you to copy to as many courses as you want, with the ability to select the exact location in the course you want the item to live. Also, the testing features are top notch. I can set user exceptions for testing, as well as enhanced due dates, restrictions, and permissions.
What do you dislike?
In the past, I have heard that Moodle is "clunky". I feel like it has the ability to be clunky, but if you take the time to fully support it then it has a nice feel to it as you can customize everything about it. The only negative I see is the need to self host the platform. You need to have your own servers and the ability to understand a software deployment in order to make Moodle a success.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The school needed a Learning Management System in order to bring courses online. Moodle solved the problem while not costing money.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you have the in-house staff to make the implementation a success
Update the themes to fit your need
Look at other providers who might host it for you.


    Peter V.

MOODLE just gets better!

  • October 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been recommending MOODLE as the standard for open source course management systems for several years. I'm also a user, though not using the very latest version.

As a non-technical person, I've found MOODLE easy to install and configure, easy to use to build courses and great in helping to assess knowledge, through the in-built quiz engine.

Let's be clear, though, this is a course management system, NOT an application for creating e-learning. It;s a library, in which categories and courses can be created, holding documents in almost any form (including audio/video/PDF etc). It also makes it easy to create collaborative tools (e.g. course forums). It does this very well indeed, and I believe that a new user (course designer) could start working creating courses in MOODLE with very minimal training.

MOODLE has been going for years, and has (probably) the largest global support of any CMS. Much of that support network is informal, though there are MOODLE experts offering added value services (hosting, support etc) that are worth considering.
What do you dislike?
In older versions, customising the rather bland look/feel of MOODLE has been through trial and error. Later versions do seem to make simple customising (changing colours, adding a logo) easier, though I do not know if this improvement applies to all themes or just some (you'll have to find that out yourself!).

That said, anyone with experience of developing CCS (cascading style sheet) files should be able to work out most theme customisations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MOODLE is open source so "free" (though use of added value suppliers creates cost) - so one of the major benefits of MOODLE is cost reduction.

However, taking this as a given, I have found MOODLE to be able to change the way organisations think of e-learning, and adap current programmes to include pre and post-course work through MOODLE that engages and then continues to engage (and assess) learning and it's application. I've also used MOODLE as part of the recruitment process, whereby we encourage new candidates to work through some context-setting materials and do some entry quizzes prior to the interview. This has helped noend in terms of enabling early filter-ins and filter-outs of candidates.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have PHP experience in-house, deploy using your internal IT support.

Otherwise, consider a third-party vendor (lots available at moodle.com)

Small installations are possible through Fantastico or Softlicious automated script installers, though using these rarely gives the optimised configuration (but usually sufficient to be able to demonstrate and use MOODLE with small numbers of enrolled delegates/students).

Don't underestimate the amount of bandwidth the Chat module takes. I recommend not using this module following a Fantastico or Softlicious automated script installation.


    Higher Education

There are much better options

  • September 25, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nothing. It is awful. Not user friendly a--nd I'm a long time user of Sakai system, which is VERY bloated, but Moodle is worse!
What do you dislike?
Everything. It is clunky, bloated, time consuming, not user-friendly at all, and does not do what I need it to do. I want a clear grade book screen, but I cannot get that. It does not show points total IN the grade book, you have to change screens to see a total. I cannot grade word documents in the program--I have to download each and every one! Blackboard is SOO much easier and better organized. The grade book in Blackboard is intuitive. In Moodle, I cannot see what needs to be be graded from one common place. Instead, you have to go into each and every class separately, grade each item (by download cause you cannot grade in the program) then upload each single file back to the student. When I create assignments, there are 3 (!!!) places where I have to designate dates open/closed! I hate using Moodle....I will work diligently to influence higher ups to abandon it and use Blackboard or Desire2Learn, both of which are clean and much more usable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
no benefits
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't. Avoid it like the plague. Use Blackboard or Desire2learn--both of which are much easier to use.


    Education Management

Moodle

  • September 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Noodle can automatically grade hundreds of assignments at once and that the program will link to the district grade book as well!
What do you dislike?
Sometimes Moodle won't link grades to my grade book. The program also loads pages really slowly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Planning and assessing curriculum has been made easier through the use of Noodle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that it is supported by the school or district.