Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

292 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

Quizzes are great!

  • June 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the Moodle Quiz feature, which allows students to take quizzes online. It has made my work with students a lot easier, as I am no longer grading by hand, wasting paper and time. I can just log on and do everything through the Moodle website, including grade tracking!
What do you dislike?
The interface can be difficult to work within. Sometimes it takes a few clicks to get something to work, or sometimes you have to log back in if it gets glitchy. Overall, it doesn't really bother me too much.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The quiz feature could easily be adapted into a survey for businesses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Spend lots of time playing around with Moodle, as it takes time to learn the interface and the quirky things it can do


    Katherine F.

Fine once you get used to it

  • May 06, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the automated gradebook, and the way that online assignment submission, forum participation, and quizzes all integrate with it. That's pretty much the only feature I like.
What do you dislike?
Everything else. This system is so convoluted. About 60% of the problem is the way my company's IT people have the defaults set, but the rest of it is just that the program tries to be everything to everyone. Educators in different disciplines have very different needs, and Moodle tries to accommodate all of them. The result is a huge, unwieldy, confusing program that everyone has to wade through in order to do even the basics. I spend about half of my time each week correcting stupid errors I made on Moodle settings for my students, or troubleshooting why they can't access something.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moodle is course management software-- it manages my gradebook, assignments, and exams.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take whatever tutorials/ trainings your university offers. I thought I'd be able to figure it out the way I figured out Sakai... nope. It is not at all intuitive, and there are SO MANY settings that you have to consider every time you do something on your course page. Many of the settings are hidden! So you have to know to unhide them in order to configure them. Every. Singe. Time.


    Individual & Family Services

Learning Made Simple

  • May 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is diverse, user friendly and expandable to create a unique learning environment for both educational establishments and businesses to formally or informally educate.
What do you dislike?
I think moodle is a great piece of software and does everything needed so i have no dislikes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We implemented moodle to create a easy accessible system to educate our volunteers and the feedback we got was it was esay to navigate and also fun to learn virtually.


    Oil & Energy

Its a must if you are an educational organisation

  • April 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
there is a plugin for anything you want to do
What do you dislike?
not very easy to install, setup and make it live.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
providing technical education


    Higher Education

Excellent for delivering course content to a multitude of students

  • April 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle allows me to easily deliver course materials to my students. But most importantly, it helps me manager assignment submissions and manage workflow for marking them.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, the ability to customize options is not easily visible. However, I believe this is addressed in newer versions.

Another issue is that assessment weights cannot be customized for individual students. For example, if a student misses a test and the weight is to be transferred to the next test, Moodle cannot record that (or at least, I have not found a way to do so).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am the course director for several large courses in university. In an average term, I am responsible for the administration of >1000 students. Moodle helps manage and streamline my workflow with students, teaching assistants, and instructors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try implementing a practice course. I believe Moodle.org has one that potential users can try. Also check out the Moodle support forums, as you will see what users are doing with Moodle, the trouble they are having with Moodle, and the level of support form Moodle itself in addressing issues and proposing new features. The online community is very helpful, and you can typically get an answer within hours.


    Rob F.

Great platform for course building

  • April 04, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle offers flexibility and customization for a variety of different fields of study.
What do you dislike?
It can be difficult to work with the API and plug-ins
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Moodle to manage courses for our partner schools and assist faculty with their course design.


    Mara R.

Takes some getting used to

  • February 23, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is fairly easy to access, and more or less simple to navigate.
What do you dislike?
There are many spelling errors in the program due to its origin in another country. The navigation appears to be backwards of what we're used to here in the US.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Moodle for district-wide professional development classes. It's easy to coordinate with teachers in other buildings without too much extra effort.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Explore its options before diving in to participate or create a class. Many of the options seem to be simple, but work in an "inverted" way. For example, the "breadcrumbs" at the top of each navigation page don't go in the order in which the pages are navigated. They, many times, are either backwards or in a seemingly inverted order. Also, there are many spelling errors in the site due to translation.


    Annemarie C.

Good tool for interacting with students

  • February 17, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up weekly learning objectives. Can include discussions/forums, required reading, presentations, links to videos and other materials, and quizzes. Additionally, students can easily upload assignments. It is a great organizational tool. Students can log onto Moodle from anywhere to access the weekly schedule. Moodle also has a Quickmail option for emailing one or more students.
What do you dislike?
Course set-up is not 100% intuitive. I often need to access the help option. Also, cannot copy text formatting from one week to the next. For example, if I copy text that is bolded and a larger size, it will paste using the default formatting which is not bold and a smaller size.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moodle saves time by keeping me organized. I no longer need to refer to my syllabus or search my email looking for student assignments. Everything is in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I prefer Moodle over Blackboard.


    Education Management

Moodle for Educators

  • January 31, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the ease of editing. It is great when things change for a class or lesson and it is easy for both educators and their students to use and navigate
What do you dislike?
I am not a big fan of the layout of Moodle itself and wish it had more options for spruce it up and make it easier on the eye.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am currently using moodle to "go green" and transform all of my lessons and assignments to computer based and getting away from writing. This benefits me from keeping my students updated on assignments and important class information and allows me to set deadlines and see when students hand in their work.


    Internet

Open Source Learning Management System

  • January 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that Moodle is free and open source, so it can be adapted for many needs. My favorite feature is that it works with Examview test software.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the system can be hard to figure out exactly how to complete certain tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a free online learning management system. We love that it is free and hosted through our local district.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will need a place to host Moodle.