Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

314 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ekarasa D.

I used Moodle in two Universities for 5 years

  • January 23, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What i liked about Moodle was lectures were put online so if you missed one you can backtrack and look back at them as track record and notes. Moodle had pretty much everything you need as a student.
What do you dislike?
Moodle was very complicated, many buttons often confusing it had everything but perhaps too much as truly i often found myself trapped in it, not being able to find my own results and looking hard for the info I needed to know.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it as a student for 5 years in two Universities, as Batchelor study in one university and Postgraduate study in another. Was useful indeed
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle was very useful but the interface was confusing especially in the personal data page, I am not sure if that was because the University didn't design it correctly or so.


    Higher Education

College class portal

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great way for professors to interact with students. I am able to view grades, submit assignments, download readings, post blogs, etc.
What do you dislike?
It would be great to have an easy straightforward way to send out an email to all students enrolled in a given class
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing class content
Access from essentially anywhere


    Katja W.

Best free e-learning platform

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a free, open source software that offers all the features all the other e-learning platforms that cost a fortune offer. If you are a little computer savvy and know HTML and CCS, it is easy to set up a great learning environment with all the little things that can be linked and implemented for free.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes features are kind of hard to find and hidden, but once you figure it out, it is really easy to manipulate the software to a point where all your technical needs, visual requirements and best learning implementations will be met.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having to fly in people just for special software training was a hassle time wise and expense wise. Therefore I had to set up a learning environment, that could train the trainers and users on a specific speech recognition software. I was able to arrange an online learning environment that met the companies needs on the lowest expense. It is in use for a while and they are looking into some expansion.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get someone with some insight of the product in order to have a fast solution. If you have time on your hand, you should be able to manage and set it up all by yourself withour knowing too much about e-learning environments.


    M. Serhat D.

LMS with Full of Features

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is a complex software which provides plenty of functions and configurations to customize your learning environment. Wide administrative options is and customizable interface are the best features of Moodle.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is not easy to administer. For advanced users, customization options might be satisfying but especially for teachers with limited IT experiences might get lots between options and configurations. Performance can also be a difficulty for huge systems after a while because Moodle is not providing any optimization tools for it's own database. Administrators of huge systems should consider using 3rd party database customization tools for Moodle database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been using Moodle for 6 years and at the moment 30.000 students are enrolled in our courses. With the help of Moodle it's easy to publish lecture videos, presentations and documents. Students can contact with each others at discussion forums in Moodle. Also Moodle is providing different assessment tools for educators.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is one of the best options if you are planning to setup a LMS but definetely you should employ a system administrator for setup. Setup process is not easy and lots of configurations needs to be done.


    Emrah A.

We use Moodle at our distance education center

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it is very flexible for customizing and it has got theme support. Alos it supports user import.
What do you dislike?
There is a tree menu system and its conflicted me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is solved our education platform needs. We are working with 5000 student on moodle platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a lot of alternatives such as sakai and blackboard but moodle is easy to setup. You can quickly create a learning society with it.


    Primary/Secondary Education

LMS

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a learning management system that can be use to help facilitate online learning. This program allows for easy file uploads, class discussions and forum posts.
What do you dislike?
This program lacks in the grading area. Other LMS allow for speed grading which makes assessing students quick and easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a tool that is used to manage online learning in my district.


    Jacob M.

Developer's perspective

  • December 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The community is very active and helpful.
What do you dislike?
It uses older practices in PHP development to maximize compatibility.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online learning environment. We discovered it is also good for adult learning.


    Benj K.

Pretty Good Platform

  • July 27, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the multiple modes of communicating with students: traditional email, feedback/comments specific to each assignment, and forums.
What do you dislike?
Too much is tied to the calendar. I'd rather package some class resources by type rather than chronologically.
Students often do not understand how to submit assignments . . . The "submit" function is not clear. Sometimes this also happens with online tests.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a pretty effective "Learning Management System".
I think it is on par with other packages, such as Blackboard
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at their class formatting to be sure it fits your mode of scheduling and resource management.


    Alec B.

Moodle is a good way for students to submit and access documents

  • July 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I liked it's ease of access and how it could be used to check schedules, submit homework and even see test scores. I also really enjoy how I can look back at past classes as well.
What do you dislike?
It would run fairly slow at times and even sometimes just be a pain to find what I was looking for despite the overall ease of access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this for school to submit documents and have easy access to notes and other files
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In a school setting, it can be used very well for individual classes. Professors and teachers can put anything from a schedule to test results. I find this to be very useful and because of that heavily recommend it. Since my College is on it, I know all my professors have access to it and I usually hope they use it so if I lose something, I can find it easily again by going to it on the website. That being said, it isn't perfect but it is still a great site with a bunch of potential


    Nanotechnology

Student User Review

  • July 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used Moodle for forums and keeping in contact with my professors and peers in my four years in college. It was very helpful with keeping up with assignments and posting blogs. It created a community environment online, which made the experience of my classes that much better.
What do you dislike?
I disliked that my professors did not take as full advantage of the site as they could have. There were many options (posting exam scores, etc) that were not taken advantage of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Considering that my college is the business, it solves the problem of inconvenience. All of the required documents are posted onto Moodle, and professors can also scan portions of textbooks and upload it for the class. This is a more environmentally friendly, economic, and efficient option than forcing students to purchase full textbooks.