Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (500 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

122 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Food & Beverages

Dependable

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using OpenVPN for 2 years now and their support and customer updates are always in par.
What do you dislike?
Maybe the pricing and the minimum users to add if you only just need a few like 5 below.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As of the moment we dont have any.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy implementation and client setup


    Jeremy F.

Low effort and highly reliable client to VPC VPN

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The availability of client software for all operating systems and mobile devices means my customers can connect regardless of their setup.
What do you dislike?
I’ve not had any bad experience with OpenVPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use OpenVPN to support a legacy 3 tier application running on AWS. My customers run the windows client locally and connect to the databases and other services over the VPN.


    Retail

A simple and secure VPN product

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has been simple to deploy and use in our environment. We use it as a second option for remote connection in case our other system is unavailable for any reason.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike, perhaps reporting could be a bit more robust, but for our small deployment, it isn't an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Secondary connection in case other technologies fail
* Cross-Platform support of remote connectivity - Apple does not work with Microsoft Direct Access
* Allowing Macintosh users to work remotely
* Allowing remote IT Management


    Josh W.

Excellent, flexible solution for our Azure environment

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The documentation & excellent technical support.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally I have to disconnect the VPN client and reconnect it. This happens maybe 1 time per day or every other day. It could just be my system though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have secured our Azure environment by requiring users & admins to connect by VPN to manage our servers and other business critical resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend reviewing the relevant documentation before setting up the Open VPN Access Server.


    Alexandre V.

OpenVPN - Review

  • May 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is easy to configure a solution for tunneling our traffic to the OpenVPN server. The main advantage of OpenVPN is the fact that it is a very safe and free OpenVPN solution, compatible with most platforms available on the market, so we can also cover the protection of mobile devices that we use. OpenVPN is a very easy solution in the configuration allows you to install an interface that will help, managing the server created for us, so surely the installation of the server will cope with the people interested in IT.
What do you dislike?
- The free license has a limited number of devices that can connect to the server.
- Setting up a server with a terminal can be difficult for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to using OpenVPN I can safely connect to the company database without worrying about data leakage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create a VPN server that will enable you to browse the Internet safely, you should consider using the OpenVPN protocol for this purpose, especially since it has gained the trust of many VPN service providers.


    jhonnata a.

OpenVPN provides security.

  • May 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With this software we have the possibility of implementing two basic modes, in layer 2 or layer 3, with which tunnels are able to send information in other non-IP protocols such as IPX or broadcast (NETBIOS), the protection of users is remote , once OpenVPN has established a tunnel, the organization's firewall will protect the remote laptop even though it is not a local network device, on the other hand, only a network port can be opened to the local network by the remote ensuring protection In both directions, OpenVPN connections can be made through almost any firewall. If you have Internet access and you can access HTTPS sites, then an OpenVPN tunnel should work without any problem, it has support for proxy. It works through proxy and can be configured to run as a TCP or UDP service and also as a server (simply waiting for incoming connections) or as a client (initiating connections).

* The virtual interfaces (tun0, tun1, etc.) allow the implementation of very specific firewall rules, its high flexibility and possibilities of extension through scripting is very good, it offers us numerous points to execute individual scripts during its startup, the transparent support for dynamic IPs. It eliminates the need to use static IP addresses on both sides of the tunnel, it has no problem with NAT. Both clients and the server can be on the network using only private IPs and their installation is simple on any platform. Both the installation and its use are incredibly simple, as you can see there are many things that you like about this service.
What do you dislike?
Very few things are not liked among which I can mention that it has no IPsec compatibility that is just the current standard for VPN solutions, lack of critical mass, there are still few people who know how to use OpenVPN, and today only It can be connected to other computers. But this is changing, as there are already companies developing devices with integrated OpenVPN clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Today I solve many problems since OpenVPN is a service used to create virtual private networks and I apply it in that it is able to link 2 nodes (node ​​A connected to a private network and Internet, node B anywhere else in the world with internet connection) so that it seems that they are on the same LAN and it works excellent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Let them see it and see the results.


    Glenn R.

One of the best VPN clients on the market

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a great VPN tool. A lot of operating systems natively support VPN, however try to set one up and you will notice the limitations. OpenVPN is incredibly easy to setup and use. We use this tool to allow users to access the same network. Connecting is a breeze and there are no bugs. The software is also very secure. Importing certificates is also easy and with literally ever other VPN tool out there this is not the case at all.
What do you dislike?
When you first install it through a web browser, you will be asked to login. I have found that for some reason this screen just hangs and does nothing. Not sure what that is about but it does not effect the functioning of the software. T
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN is used to allow users to access our internal network without being directly connected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stable and easy to use VPN client


    Ray N.

OpenSource solution - minimal costs

  • April 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source - low minimal cost to deploying system. Support standard industry security features and works with wide range of clients.
What do you dislike?
User management and generating user certificates requires more time. A little more complex for my non- Linux - Helpdesk Admins to manage system and troubleshoot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this to secure user VPN connections to HQ and other locations enabling users to work remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for company's with Linux admins or company's with limited budget.


    Insurance

IT Operations Manager

  • March 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and setup. Upgrade information on product from supplier when avvailible. Security recommendations on website.
What do you dislike?
I'd like user to end up at different VLAN depending on client checks (AD member computer/cert or external clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MFA demands on VPN solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly reccomend it for a smaller company.


    Information Technology and Services

Flexible and robust

  • March 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature is the ability to run multiple ports and protocols with a single appliance.
What do you dislike?
Not integrated with SD WAN capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With OpenVPN we build fast and functional VPN gateways for are customers enabling compliance and data protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With enterprise support this product is the best value for VPN.