Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (500 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Insurance

IT Operations Manager

  • March 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and setup. Upgrade information on product from supplier when avvailible. Security recommendations on website.
What do you dislike?
I'd like user to end up at different VLAN depending on client checks (AD member computer/cert or external clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MFA demands on VPN solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly reccomend it for a smaller company.


    Information Technology and Services

Flexible and robust

  • March 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature is the ability to run multiple ports and protocols with a single appliance.
What do you dislike?
Not integrated with SD WAN capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With OpenVPN we build fast and functional VPN gateways for are customers enabling compliance and data protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With enterprise support this product is the best value for VPN.


    John Kristian A.

All in all a really good VPN service.

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple management. VYOS implementation is GREAT. Running it as VM works perfectly.
Been using it for both private pvn, enterprise vpn and connecting to vpn trough other countries for several years and I love how easy it is. Mobile support is also really great.
There are also a huge benefit that it's open source and community good support is also nice to have.
What do you dislike?
Windows client is sketchy. Doesn't reconnect as it should. Drops out from time to time. It those things can be fixed, the product would be absolutely perfect. But it's not a big issue.
Reconnecting after sleep mode would be nice. Reconnecting after drop out would be REALLY nice.
There are still some effort that can be made on the different clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Per now using it instead of MS Direct access. Easy for outside clients to connect if you want that, since you have a downloadable client.
It allows me to fix problems for my users and controll my infrastructure when I'm out traveling, and that is the thing I appreciate most.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are not much else I would reccomend. I've tried several others, like checkpoint mobile and Cisco and it's not better than openvpn. OpenVPN is faster, easier and has more features.


    Alex H.

A solid, secure VPN solution

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- The OpenVPN Access Server AMI is a great out of the box VPN solution for your AWS VPC.
- We were able to easily connect to our Active Directory in AWS to the OpenVPN Access Server and enable 2-factor requirements via Google Authenticator.
- Supports PAM, RADIUS, and LDAP.
- This solution replaced our clients deprecated PPTP solution. OpenVPN is consistently rated among the most secure VPN solutions which is why we went with it.
What do you dislike?
License management on the openvpn.net could be improved in one regard: allowing users to deactivate and move a license between servers. As you spin up an instance you may need to reconfigure our move your license to a newer server and that requires involving OpenVPN Support to reissue your license. This can take a few hours before they respond but typically they are pretty fast so not a huge negative for us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simple way to connect to our AWS VPC with 2-factor authentication tied to our Active Directory.


    Nick P.

Amazing Easy VPN

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system is easy to setup and easy to configure, server our corporate solution perfectly!
What do you dislike?
The Linux client can be difficult but our new routers all have built in openvpn so no longer a concern
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are an international software firm, your product allows us to support people world wide
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its honestly just the easiest solution, when you are in a bind its a great go-to


    Jason B.

OPENVPN works pretty good

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's rather stable, assuming you always remember to use IE to manage your server.
What do you dislike?
Support can be slow in resolving bugs. Also, if you use Chrome to manage, it may wipe out settings you have to key back in by hand.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we use it to connect several hundred client to our secured network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be ready to have some work to do the setup. But once up, it runs pretty seamlessly.


    jymmealey@money360.com j.

Excellent product

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reasonable price and easy to deploy. I like that it integrates with LDAP so easy to roll out to users. Admin screen is easy to use and logical.
What do you dislike?
Needs mixed mode authentication, I have both AD and non-AD users. Also would like for server updates to be much easier.

The product needs a way to deploy updates to the clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allow remote users access to critical systems. Easy to deploy and maintain
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very straightforward product and easy to implement.


    Government Relations

Great Software

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is very smooth, quick, and reliable. Easy to setup too.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really to dislike. It's cheap, easy to use , and powerful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure connections country wide to a secure data center back at the office


    Information Services

OpenVPN makes it easy to deploy

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I appreciate how easy it is to install OpenVPN on a new machine
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's difficult to understand the error messages, you have to dig through log files
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have saved time and improved security by consistently going with OpenVPN rather than other solutions which require us to continually tweak and alter the configuration


    Mike G.

Good Appliance

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
open vpn is easy to install and configure. we use it with about 20 users.
What do you dislike?
An automated server update would be desirable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to quickly and easily establish a connection to the network to the company.