Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress

Jetware | 170526w475p5630m5636a2425*

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

179 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Matt H.

The best way to create a website for beginners

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The simplicity of starting and creating a website is fantastic. The different themes that can be chosen are basic set-up but allow the user to build upon their creativity.
What do you dislike?
The set-ups and themes are limited, and unless you are an expert, you are relegated to what is provided. The website is outdated and needs a refresh. It looks like it has not had a significant re-design since 2015.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
How to communicate and provide information to my readers and followers simply. I don't have to pay a lot of money to make a great site. If I know what I want within the limits, I can get my ideas published.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Know there are limitations to the site, but that is what makes it simple.


    John B.

Wordpress is the answer for every small business online presence needs

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Wordpress is flexible and has a huge multitude of plugins available to extend it's use. It is well maintained and kept up to date to ensure secure and viable website availability. There are also a multitude of themes and builders out there for just about every business need.
What do you dislike?
There's a lot to learn if you haven't built websites before, but that is part and parcel to all website builders/systems. There are limits to some of the things developers are allowed to create as well, although good devs are able to work around it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online presence, website development, web apps that are mobile responsive,...pretty much anything needed to provide a front facing view to your clients. It is also excellent as a membership site (with the right plugin(s))


    Information Technology and Services

Wordpress is a very viable cms

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Wordpress has a lot of extra modules that are not part of the "standard" wordpress distribution, but are either commercial or community developed, in order to extend the functionality and usability of it. It's really a good example of a community building a platform rather than a platform building a community. I really like the fact that it's all open-source, and that I can modify things. For example, I currently use WooCommerce for both regular online retail store hosting, which is fine, because it does all of the things I need it to do with "regular" retail customers. Because WP is all open source, I have modified it so that it behaves slightly differently for customers who are retail stores, but their inventory and products change too quickly to keep up with pricing & availability, so I have edited the code to turn on or off just certain features that they need.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately, human nature being what it is, it seems like there is a cottage industry throughout the world of people developing specific hacks against wordpress. It's not as well known for security because it's so prolific and it is not hard to accidentally deploy it in an insecure fashion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Wordpress makes it easy to quickly get a nice and professional looking site up and going in a very short time. However, even with all it's ease of use, it's not at a lack for flexibility and robustness. It's hard to fill such a wide role, but if you can imagine it, it's a tool I would have no problem handing off to say an elderly grandmother to use for selling knick-knacks or to a Fortune 500 company for their web presence. It is a very reasonable attempt to be "all things to all people". I currently have setup a number of my customers with WP, some of them have full WooCommerce stores and some of them just have informational sites.


    alAttar M.

The Ultimate Future for CMS - Wordpress

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
WordPress is the most famous CMS on the internet nowadays; It is friendly to use to generate a complete website for a company, eLearning, Online Store, or even a CRM system, the code is very easy to learn, and there is tons of themes and plugins to meet your desires, and of course, WordPress is Free.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about WordPress is that it is easy to hack if you are a newbie, and not all plugins and themes are for free, sometimes to start an online store, you need to buy a theme with a bunch of plugins which may cost you a hundred of dollars. Also, it is very slow to especially when there are many plugins. Keep in mind that poor plugins may cost you to crash your website.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building a new website for my company, and of course, WordPress makes me a CTO for my company after working as a freelance for a long time. Now we use it to make a QR menu for our company and using some plugins, and we could build a booking system.


    Dana R.

A Good Choice for Beginners

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wordpress is super easy to find your footing and work through the base details, without prior coding knowledge. It's true that anyone can build a website with relative ease and a few stray hours of time.

There's an overabundance of themes and plugins that will make your site exactly like what you want. The problem is finding them, then testing them with your site to avoid conflicts. Finding the right one for you could mean a simple Google or Themeforest search but even so, you'd spend hours flipping through premade templates. While that seems exciting and can get your creative juices flowing, it can also be absolutely overwhelming, especially when you first start. The theme you choose will determine how well you will be able to master your vision. The more expensive the theme, the more customization and creativity you're afforded. Since each theme is vastly different, your results will be just as different, if you're willing to put in the work.

With all that said, it really is a great place to get started, even more so for those who need to keep costs to a minimum when you're starting out. Find some good, reliable hosting, prepare to focus hard for a few days, and you should be good to go.
What do you dislike?
Lack of support through WP. Theme developers do pretty well, depending on where you purchase their theme, so keep that in mind. If it's free, you may not get help and will spend hours with Google brain.

Also, plugins. The more you add, the less streamlined and "snappy" your site will be. Some are superiorly slow and boggy and you won't really know which ones until you've spent time with them. Conflicts with plugins is pretty common place, too. And this is what may trip you up the most.

If you can afford it, pay a designer or an agency to do the job for you. The less stress you have, the more life you'll enjoy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If you are starting with a super basic, low-information site, it can take as little as a day to be up and running, and that in itself earns WP a Gold Star. Overall, WP is easy to use and the options - through themes and plugins - are truly limitless.


    Agustin G.

A friendly and agile content management system

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
that is free software and runs MySQL and Apache
What do you dislike?
the limit on the number of themes or design templates
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been able to create a web portal in a simple and inexpensive way to quickly get out of the urgency I had
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Increase the set of templates that come by default with the tool


    Lindsay L.

Wordpress makes it easy to manage a website

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Wordpress really helps me, someone who wears a lot of hats at work so to speak, to be able to manage and circumvent issues with our company's website by myself. We had a Drupal site before which was endlessly frustrating to deal with. Once we switched to Wordpress, my job is so much easier! I like how so many templates have a drag and drop feature. Since we switched to WordPress, my overall stress level at work has gone way down, and I always feel confident that some way or another I'll be able to fix any issues that arise on our website. With WooCommerce integration, our website is ax extremely useful aspect of our business model. It's easy to add videos to product pages that add greatly to the customer experience.
What do you dislike?
The only dislikes would be how WordPress sites can tend to be a bit more vulnerable than others. I have to stay on top of security measures and watch things closely. Also, with new themes and such, I wish it was easier to pick a new one without messing up custom coding which was specific to the previous theme. I also dislike how many basic features are an extra $79 per year to use and add on. It starts getting a bit expensive if you need anything other than the base.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
WordPress solves the need to contact a web developer every time we need to change any minor thing on our website. With WordPress, I can manage most things quickly and make changes at the drop of a hat from any computer!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When considering WordPress to manage your business website, consider a good hosting provider specializing in hosting WordPress sites. We use WPEngine, and they have been great! also make sure the theme you choose in the beginning is one you want to stick with for a while if you plan on doing any additional coding to your website.


    AMAL P.

One of the best CMS fo web development

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User Friendly and Interactive Designing .
Variety of themes and Plugins
What do you dislike?
During the version upgrade , there's no guarantee that it will succeed.. I haven't tried latest versions .. This is what I faced mostly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We will be able to design all kind of websites with WordPress, it can be e-commerce,blog,vlog..
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All in one CMS for web development, Beginners will get uses to it very fast


    Internet

Simple, easy, fast, and free!

  • November 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's so easy to get a website up and running with Wordpress. Almost all hosting platforms have Wordpress installers, and in combination with a professional theme and pre-made templates, it literally only takes a few minutes to get a website up and running. Another plus is that there are so many plugins that almost any functionality can be added on very easily with no coding.
What do you dislike?
Servers are faster these days, but sometimes on shared hosting, a Wordpress site generates a lot of extra code, and can be a little slow to load. Getting SEO done right with a Wordpress site can be a little trickier because of the excess code. One of the benefits is that Wordpress has so many plugins to extend functionality - this is also one of the drawbacks. There are so many plugins, and so many ways to implement things, it's hard to know which one is the best one. It can take a lot of time to get to the right combination of plugins that works best.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest problem I solve with Wordpress is to get a site up for someone who needs it very quickly. What's great about that is being able to have something for a client immediately, and then I'm able to hand off the maintenance of the site to the client. I've purchased an unlimited license with a professional theme so I can set up many sites using this theme extremely fast. The license also gives me access to a lot of pre-made templates, so it saves me a lot of time with graphic design and gives the client something that looks great.


    Broadcast Media

Great for content management, not so much for creation.

  • November 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I find WordPress is easy to navigate and offers a lot of options for organizing your own content. I particularly appreciate the smoothness of its ingested post process.
What do you dislike?
While you can easily manage content, creating content is much more difficult. I find it challenging to write and format articles in styles that don't seem dated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
WordPress makes it easy to have multiple content managers working with the website at the same time while not overlapping. It's great for tracking edits and a story's shelf life.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider what your main purpose for using WordPress before committing, if you need something with more creative possibilities it may not be the best option.