Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

454 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jean-Marie R.

PostgreSQL DBA and trainer

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SQL standards
Stable configuration settings per version
Improvments over time

A lot of tools around PostgreSQL: as pgAdmin4, programmaing language connectors, pgbadger, pgbackrest, patroni, ...

PostgreSQL is an Open source piece of software.
What do you dislike?
A lot of different projets around PostgreSQL himself for same purpose.

No full featured and supported clustering solution embedded natively.

Long new features development cycle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Save and retrieve structured datas in a good way.
Consistent tools allowing long term working procedure
Same SQL and client behaviour when upgrading databases


    Information Technology and Services

Best Database to use in production.

  • September 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres provide very amazing fields which other SQL database doesn't have like array field and json field to store data, postgres is very easy to integrate and very much easy to use too.
What do you dislike?
Postgres installation with linux mint is bit difficult the documentation provided to install doesn't work properly with linux mint.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using postgres in our production it helps to make our database more clean and faster than any other SQL database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended for every developer to use postgres as their default database not only in production but kn testing and stage also.


    Randall M.

Great Opensource SQL Database, to rival MS SQL and other pay for play options

  • July 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This database is extremely tunable and runs very well inside of a container
What do you dislike?
pg.conf should be driven by a common markdown language
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SQL Database, without paying high licensing fees


    Toghrul A.

Easy to use & Reliable Database

  • December 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is the best free database. Everyone can install it & use for it free. It has many functionalities which you need
What do you dislike?
Many open source applications are not support PostgreSQL. It is a main disadvantage
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For application like as microservices, PostgreSQL is the best for my opinion. I use this database if application can be stand alone app


    Dustin R.

Best Database that works platform independently.

  • December 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Multiple data amounts can be maintained for longer periods making persistence easier as the risk is that the data can be reloaded.
What do you dislike?
Degrade quality in contrast to Mysql when using SELECT, a standard car vacuum may be feasible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was very useful to PostgreSQL. Scalability feature makes it secure. It also leads to long-term storage of large amounts of data without the possibility of data becoming compromised. PostgreSQL also facilitates access control, as it allows several active sessions concurrently. It has a wide peer group and many clients because it has good service support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not advise if performance is important to you. More databases can't be found.


    Automotive

Highly recommend - easy to use and does connect to so many applications

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy of use - tons of community guidelines and stack overflow users have solved most of the problems
What do you dislike?
We went for the paid version but is pricey but thats just one part - the postgres DB actually wants you to learn their own syntax which takes time of you are new
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We replaced it from IBM db2 and it seems like It connects with many applications easily. We are using it to integrate with in house python applications and works perfect. However we haven’t actually signed off with this application officially but it is under due consideration
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend but you need to learn the language


    zahit b.

Open Source Database Management

  • November 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is an open-source database. It is an RDBMS. In our Organization, we are using PostgreSQL-9.4 and planning to upgrade it to 9.5 in future. PostgreSQL Database can be used for highly complex applications. It will reject the unauthorized connections to the database. In addition, The management panel for storage management is very useful.
What do you dislike?
Configuring the Database in the local machine was a bit difficult. I don't find any good IDE's to work on it. PgAdmin's also there, I couldn't achieve the maximum speed. Because it's a web-based application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have mostly used postgres for database management tool, In addition, database migration from sybase to postgres and to test it. I think, It's benefits are very obvious and is once of the best DBMS out there.


    zahit B.

Great To Manage Multiple Databases

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think PostgreSQL is a good Enterprise Class data management. It has good amount of features like integration, migration, flexible deployment options, has good tool kits for management. We've almost about 10+ databases including master and managing them via PostgreSQL is very easy. One good thing with PostgreSQL is that we can have multiple databases in single server and having different configurations for them. Overall we are most satisfied with PostgreSQL and their services.
What do you dislike?
Ability to have multiple databases on single server. Having database users which are permission based Integration between multiple databases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Max connection timeouts are too frequent. Much frequently we do see problems like queries are in waiting status and goes idle after some time. We had to manually kill those transactions.I can't say the technical support team is very good


    Computer Software

Database to sort out your daily development work

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Helps us to manage our database needs while working on chatbots or other applications. The PGadmin console is really helpful as it provides a graphical interface to access or modify your db data.
What do you dislike?
At times it won't start. You'll have to try twice or thrice to make it start. Also sometimes it might not allow to change values in a table from the PGadmin console.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data storage, tables and relations required for our applications. Data storage for out APIs


    Information Technology and Services

PostgreSQL

  • November 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free and Open Source, constantly making updates.
What do you dislike?
Typically work with MySQL installations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Django minimally, none really.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You might want to see what Percona has to offer.