Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

452 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vasu G.

Best opensource database

  • August 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL supports json data and transaction control that helps in development of modern complex web apps. Also, pgadmin built in support for dump backup is an important feature for critical applications. PgAdmin is good tool for managing and viewing database data along with support for complex SQL queries.
What do you dislike?
The PostgreSQL has some rigid migration rules while updating the database that can cause data loss
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
PostgreSQL has provided a reliable database for django web application with regular automated data backup and required scalability for growing users of the application


    Nigel H.

Fast and Underrated, great database

  • August 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It does stored procedures, indexes, benchmarks are excellent, its FREE. Does multiple languages in Unicode, stores objects.
What do you dislike?
The only free tool is pgadmin and its good but you have to pay to get a good database admin tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
sometimes you have to write a query in a special way so that Postgresql is efficient at processing the sql correctly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its fast and very well done. We have 1500 clients with thousands of patients and it works fine.


    Abdul Basit Z.

PostgresSQL is the most effective

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is fast and available with very small latencies on most clouds. I believe it's a SQL taste, particularly compatible with my coding style and a straightforward natural query interface. It operates robustly and can be easily distributed without crashing.
What do you dislike?
Postgres is perfect to say it has no flaws and we can't ask for Oracle's scope or features because, as a consequence, this instrument is safe. However, for example, the other tools aren't the only ones I saw and don't like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
From our experience, we had to question the introduction of several tables and use one of the Database Supervisor's characteristics to present important company information.


    Financial Services

Great industry standard

  • August 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an industry standard especially for database management in large scale application. Works quite easily
What do you dislike?
Not as customizable as MySQL and no covering index support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use if it you need something easy to start with


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

postgres is rock solid

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rock solid database, proven , reliable and lost of features
What do you dislike?
single master, needs clustering like other databases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
really solid database
Recommendations to others considering the product:
read blogs


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

It's all right but not my favorite application

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Is very useful for our edi applications in terms of efficiency
What do you dislike?
The syntax feels a little redundant and tends to be a lot pickier than some others
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is very efficient for managing Edi Systems likes it earlier


    Banking

Open source post relational database

  • July 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, easy installation and read to use.
What do you dislike?
Hard to hand code error and does not support sql syntex
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating a Paas using AWS cloud
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Hard to get use at first but provide a scalable solution


    Zait A.

PostgreSQL, Database engine

  • July 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is one of the most interesting options in open-source relational databases.

PostgreSQL brings a lot of flexibility to our projects. For example, it allows us to define custom functions through various languages. Some of them are:

PL/pgSQL
PL/Tcl
PL/Perl
PL/Python
PL/PHP
PL/Ruby
PL/Java

One advantage of PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms and offers source code from the official site. Some of the official builds are:

Mac OS X
Windows
Solaris
Red Hat
Debian
Ubuntu
What do you dislike?
Relatively slow on inserts and updates in small databases, PostgreSQL is designed for high-volume environments. This makes the response speed seem slow compared to small databases.

The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you don't have an average level of knowledge of SQL language.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
PostgreSQL is free and open, and today offers a lot of advanced options. In fact, it is considered one of the most advanced database engines today.

An interesting feature of PostgreSQL is multi-version concurrency control; or MVCC. This method adds an image of the database status to each transaction. This allows us to make eventually consistent transactions, offering us great performance advantages.

In Postgres it is not required to use reading blocks when making a transaction, which gives us greater scalability. PostgreSQL also has Hot-Standby. This allows clients to search (read only) the servers while they are in recovery or standby mode. This way we can do maintenance or recovery tasks without completely blocking the system.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use, pgAdmin is the official tool to administer our databases in PostgreSQL. It allows us to do SQL searches to develop our entire database in a very easy and intuitive way, directly from the graphical interface.


    Computer Software

I used it a project

  • July 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the easyness and the reliability of this. I 7sed various features of posgresql and found it very easy and useful.
What do you dislike?
I used it from command line 0f linux server. I don't if there is any tool for graphical use. I missed that part.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used for a.project for home security system. Also I used it for a course requirements.


    Manuel G.

PostgreSQL

  • July 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres has an excellent community that contributes constantly in this development, postgre is updated constantly. PostgreSQL is an excellent tool to carry out developments and volumes of data. This is a database that serves applications perfectly, behaves very quickly, safely and reliably, has modules for the recovery of information and points of recovery from the disaster, is currently in version 11
What do you dislike?
Postgres is perfect to tell the truth, it has no flaws and we can not demand that it has the scope or functions of Oracle, although it has nothing to envy, postgres without a doubt is the best option
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
PostgreSQL I am currently setting up a cloud service, which has given me excellent results, it has not even been necessary to perform the intonation of the service, since the version I have installed 9.6.13 works like a charm.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Postgres has an excellent community that contributes constantly in this development, postgre is constantly updated and is in version 11, it is easy to use and with a fairly easy learning curve. I have several years of experience, and I am making the steps to get certified in Postgre