Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

463 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Andy Larry R.

Best scalable and stable RDBMS i ever use

  • September 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- A very scalable data management system with powerful tools to exploit data
- A strong stability when execute complex request (trigger, ) and long term data archive
- A great stability for data storage, no data corrupted, no crash, it can store big data
- Open source and free, you can deploy PostgreSQL anywhere and anytime with sevral users as you want
- Very best support team with community
What do you dislike?
- You must regularly execute autovacuum to insure performance
- It 'is a little complicated to implement logshipping master/slave clusterization
- Not as speed as Mysql for data selection (SELECT)
- Detailed documentation only available in English version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- I use PostgreSQL for projects which need a strong stability in data storage like banking transaction management, employee salary management and others, with PostgreSQL, you insure data availability.
- I also use PostgreSQL for business intelligence projects because it support complex SQL request mix with triggers and stored procedure which are powerful tools for making strong data analysis.


    Gabriel B.

The best database on the market is open source

  • September 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL offering is way above the one of competitors like Oracle, MySQL or Microsoft's SQL Server
What do you dislike?
Major version upgrade process requires downtime. Most other databases avoid this painful process.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to generate fast and powerful reporting aggregating gigabytes of data.


    Javed A.

Good database system, worth learning and implementation is easy with PostgresSQL

  • September 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Features in Postgres are equivalent to Oracle RDBMS, although some of the features like JSON support were not present till Oracle 11g which is a part of PostgresSQL. Documentation is extensive and easily available.
What do you dislike?
PGAdmin can be made more user-friendly like search for specific keyword for existing database objects like table or function name which is not available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
After working on Oracle for almost a decade, moving to Postgres SQL was very easy and we are using Postgres database within the organisation to develop an application database and interface is built on Microsoft technologies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgresSQL is a complete database which can be used to build an application for any mid-size organization. Postgres documentation is easily available and one of the best databases I have ever worked.


    Computer Software

Data store , database

  • September 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplified queries and the performance in result fetching
What do you dislike?
Not much we can say I dislike , completely suitable for data store and fetch.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Keeping data gathered


    Nikhil K.

Free and Open Source Database PostgreSQL with multi version concurrency control

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a open source, it supports different language within postgres like pgplsql and python and other many more languages it is compatible with.Supports JSON allows linking with other data sources .
Supports multi version concurrency.
What do you dislike?
It does not have sorting on click of column while resulting a query through PgAdmin interface.
Can't switch through different tabs of query tool using (alt+ tab), which result in force user to use mouse for switching.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analyzing and Keeping organisational data for reporting purpose and find out the analytical trends for the historical data saved in postgreSQL Database and writing logics in the form of functions and triggers for certain events according to the organizational process .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
have multi version concurrency support and its open source.


    Edward W.

Postgres is probably the best relational DBMS in the node community

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres is very stable. Borrows some features from both relational database systems and NoSQL databases giving it very complex and powerful hybrid features.
What do you dislike?
Although postgres has been growing recently, it is not easy to find a professional who is well trained in postgres compared to other more popular DBMS like MySQL, Microsoft SQL and Oracle
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Postgres has table inheritance, a feature that in not implemented by other relational DBMS


    Information Technology and Services

Easy database to setup and configure

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good open source database that implements the SQL standard. Very easy to administer, and standard SQL works well with it.
What do you dislike?
Their internal database commands in psql are a little confusing at times. Commands like \d \d+ etc. QL
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it as our database for all SQL work, and very easy to get set up and use. The open source version has a lot of flexibility.


    Vijay B.

3 years of PostgreSQL

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
postgreSQl supports ACID nd transaction, it has divert indexing technique and flexible full text search.
What do you dislike?
None as of now









































What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows you to add custom functions developed using different programming languageslike C/C++, Java, and etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start using it


    Alonso C.

RDBMS For Everyone!

  • August 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free. Done! The best of something is when you get what you want without paying, this is the case of PostgreSQL.
There will be a time when you need to create an application/software, and no matter if it will be used for 5 or 1000 users, different geographic locations, you will get an easy setup, strong documentation and a great community behind PostgreSQL.
Finally, it is a multi-platform software, so you can have multiple instances either in linux or windows, it comes down to your personal preference, personally, I always use Debian and I haven't ever had any big issue.
What do you dislike?
Replication process. Last time I checked, I had to use Slony or something outside PostgreSQL to accomplish this process. I would like that there would have been a way to do it native n the core of PostgreSQL.
Also, the documentation is really strong, you will find it quick and easy and in a really neat way, but I would like that it was more easy to read, maybe it's just me, but I like for example the way ReactJS documentation is made, I believe that it gives you a clear idea without using weird and rare words.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically, not paying and Enterprise expensive license for our company, I work in a small manufacturing company, and the IT department is not the one who gets more money to improve the infrastructure, but having PostgreSQL it gives us more margin to improve in other areas, for example, servers, security, and professional growth through buying courses on line. .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
At least try it, you won't regret it.


    Computer Software

Postgres is the best open source relational database

  • August 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The features which i like the most are :
User-defined types , table inheritance ,sophisticated locking mechanism and many more.
Fetching data and modifying it is very easy with postgres.
Best part is the high speed.
What do you dislike?
Does not support the entire ANSI SQL 92' standard, much less the ANSI SQL 99' standard.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using postgres as the data base for our accounting software- Giddh.
Storing data , quering and modifying is very easy.It has legendary stability and reliability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Postgres is really fast , secure and supports many procedural languages. It is very reliable . Try to use it.