Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

463 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

The best relational database

  • March 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is RDBMS that i use the most. I like the performance and and also hstore.
What do you dislike?
Its relational database, its not specific to postgres. But when im working in research project i will not use RDBMS because in research schema change often.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly transactional data and when i need to use RDBMS postgres always be my first choice


    Research

PostgreSQL

  • March 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is an open source relational object-orieneted data management system. It has been improved, and provide a variety of features that I need at my work.
What do you dislike?
The system scalability, and capability for big data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it to create a data management system.


    Israel F.

The only RDBMS you will need

  • March 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Highly extensible, several PL implementations, easy to write stored procedures if you already know python, perl or C because it implements them as procedural languages, tons of addons to extend its functionality, functional indexes to improve performance if you need to search by computed values and it makes it really easy to perform queries based on data stored in JSON fields and it supports master-slave replication natively.

It has a lot of tools to check the performance of your queries, the consistency and the health of your database and to collect garbage and clean up your database (EXPLAIN and Vacuum)

If you want a NoSQL data sture, Postgres also have you covered, you can try HStore.
What do you dislike?
It is too large and has thousands of features, so documentation sometimes is outdated and you can get lost very easily if you don't know exactly what you're looking for
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data storage and retrieval with great performance and a lot of tuning options if you model your data correctly.

We could also migrate some logic to the DBMS layer to optimize our application performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't use it as a simple data store, that way you won't see the performance improvements


    Amol B.

Just another SQL tool.

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Really easy sql database to deploy and work with. Currently we are using it as a backend for a Alzheimer database repository.
What do you dislike?
It was difficult at first o configure and setup at first. A lot of manual configuration and validation was needed to work with our particular project. But after we got it up and running, it did a great job.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Healthcare research and analytics. We have realized since it is easy to deploy an work with Spring tools and Google AWT, we tend to use it on various other tasks in our lab.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great and free sql database tool. It works well with many persistent layer development tools such as JPA and Hibernate. It also works really well with Google toolbox too.


    Bradley H.

Awesome database with lots of great new features always coming

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I wouldn't consider myself to be a database expert, but from basic usage via Rails apps, I've been very happy with the features I have used. Full text search, custom data types (json, arrays, etc), performance optimizations, extensions (like Postgis for spatial data), sharding and partitioning support... I've mostly interacted with Postgres via ActiveRecord though. Been very happy with it in multiple production instances across apps of all sizes (from tens of users to tens of millions).
What do you dislike?
When I first started using Postgres it wasn't well known so it was hard to find support for more advanced features... For instance RDS Postgres didn't support replication for a while... That's all been solved now though. I've been very happy with it in the last few years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Postgres as our main database at my current company and have used it at my previous few as well. It's a great RDBS with a lot of support and some really cool features, and new ones being added all the time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want an awesome RDBS and have experience with SQL, I highly recommend checking out Postgres. The barrier to switching is very low if you're coming from any SQL database, so you might as well give it a shot.


    Miguel P.

Best SQL database, and open source!

  • March 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Includes all the usual SQL features, and also has support for lots more:

* Full text search: without needing to configure and maintain standalone services like ElasticSearch, PostgreSQL lets you add full text search to your application, with support for dictionaries, stemming, trigram search, and much more: http://www.postgresql.org/docs/8.3/static/textsearch.html

* JSON columns: can act as a non-relational database with JSON support like MongoDB, which lets you do all that the NoSQL databases can, while also having full relational support as always.

* Can work with geographic objects with the PostGIS plugin, to build searchable and fully detailed maps for POIs and such.

* Has hooks for very detailed analytics with the pg_stat_statements extension.
What do you dislike?
Since it is more strict that other SQL databases, it is hard to make some complex queries which involve joins with groups.

Support for PostgreSQL is pretty high in servers, but operating systems do not support it by default, and so you always need to install it.

I still haven't found a nice GUI to do light support tasks. There's PGCommander for Mac, but it lacks features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it as database engine for all my applications, due to the full text search, and that it's the default database used in Heroku
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn SQL first, and then acquaint yourself with the PotsgreSQL extra features. Most of the time, SQL is all you need, and will leave the door open for migration at a later time.


    Jesse D.

Fantastic, stable RDBMS for large or small projects

  • March 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast, extremely scalable, in active development, easy to learn and use, complies with SQL standards, and can handle large GIS data sets with PostGIS.
What do you dislike?
Upgrading minor versions is sometimes a pain with the PostGIS extension. We occasionally have to dump and reload the entire database to get things working without losing data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My company's product uses GIS data heavily. PostgreSQL (with the PostGIS extension) makes it a breeze to cut through large data sets. Recent versions have also allowed us to handle data warehousing using materialized views, which dramatically increases responsiveness to the user.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend keeping separate data directories for each minor version. (E.g., 9.3, 9.4, 9.5). This makes upgrading the database much easier (and possible to rollback if something goes wrong). The old data directories can be deleted afterward.


    Internet

A reliable and well-supported choice

  • March 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres is rock solid and reliable, and has a list of plugins and improvements that really stand out. The fact that a significant portion of the web community has embraced Postgres sets it apart and makes it a clear winner in a lot of situations. It's plugins also allow me to add features easily and quickly without having to add new technology to my stack.

Columns with a specific datatype, hstore for handy, queryable key-value storage, hierarchical features, and full text search are all readily available when you go with Postgres, which is especially handy when starting on a brand new project with rapidly changing requirements.
What do you dislike?
The thing about postgres that gives me pause is that it's plugin features encourage you to write code that cannot be migrated to other databases. It's a little bit iffy when you're choosing a technology to lock yourself into something thoroughly, and postgres makes it really easy to do that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Relational database
Key-value storage
Full text search
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're in Rails and on Heroku, it should be the option to beat.


    Ramón L.

SQL that escalates and does not hurt.

  • February 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgresql is an sql engine that supports a huge load of transactions and has a great community support, the documentation is wide and implementation is not as hard as some people claim, plus it's supported on most today cloud service providers.
What do you dislike?
If one comes from mysql or sqlite, postgres can be a bit difficult, specially with the database and table specification, but this depends on the SO too so this can be a problem for some and not a problem for others. A lot of the old classic shared hosting providers still don't support postgres.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing Data is the main goal when you need a database. And postgres does that just right. Mysql falls when managin huge loads of data, but postgres has a nice optimization which allows for a larger data load, and this is the reason a lot of people migrate to pgsql.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn the migration path if you come from other sql engines. Other than that. The documentation is enough for setting things up.


    Arthur F.

Great open source SQL Database

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
After years using other SQL database, I decided to give PostgreSQL a go.

It is amazing how easy it is to integrate to any solution. I've used PostgreSQL in many environments and I was always glad for choosing this database engine. In every language that I use to develop with Postgres there are built-in tools to make my life easier.

PostgreSQL also supports a huge amount of data types, including user defined types which makes the life of a developer way easier. I also feel that I need way less plugins or tools to develop with. It works perfectly out of the box and has a great performance.

Seeing great tools like Heroku adopting Postgres is amazing and just confirms that this is indeed a great tool.
What do you dislike?
Coming from MySQL I miss the Admin tools. PostgreSQL has loads of tools that you can use to manage your database but none will top MySQL Workbench or even phpMyAdmin. Even trying clone tools like phpPgAdmin, it is just not the same. Working on big project without a great database design tool makes it a bit harder to adapt.

Postgres has great tools, but it still behind comparing to other solutions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I changed to postgres mostly because of my job. After the first few days with it I realied that there was not turning back. PostgreSQL is fast, easy and works great out of the box. The integration with any project is just flawless.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get used by using the command line interface for PostgreSQL. GUI Tools for PostgreSQL are not the best and the earlier you start using the command line, you will see that you can do so much more work without loosing time drag and dropping and switching windows.