Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

469 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Federico T.

Best DB ever

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, great performance, open-source
What do you dislike?
Nothing really! Perhaps I would like it was more frequently used. Some companies force use to use MS SQL or MySQL and I always miss Postgres
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A simple, nice, working open-source DB


    Chris T.

An amazing open source RDBMS and more

  • December 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Where to begin?

I could start with the fact that PostgreSQL allows you to build sophisticated data models in a mixture of SQL and other languages, seamlessly interwoven. It is one of the most programmable database systems on the market, with SQL being extended in Perl, Python, C, C++, Java, and almost any other language you like.

I could also start with the fact that PostgreSQL has a very advanced and extensible indexing system allowing for B-tree, B+-tree, and inverted indexes over all or a portion of rows, and over the raw data or data calculated based on it.

Or I could start with the fact that it is remarkably scalable, that there are 32-TB databases in existence (though the largest one I have personally worked on was "only" 9TB in size), that people use it to serve millions of requests a day, and that it backs some of the largest players in a number of industries.

The fact is, however, that the database is amazing in part because these major strengths reinforce eachother and that to single one out misses what makes the database so great.
What do you dislike?
In a few very advanced corners (table inheritance, non-1NF techniques, and the like) there are rough corners. It is rare to hit these though because they are not commonly used functionality.

Also PostgreSQL currently does not have intraquery parallelism though this is coming (with a parallel sequential scan likely in 9.6).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Typically we want to use relational databases because we are interested in capturing, storing, and modelling information through the course of some business process. My own experience here ranges from biology research to accounting software, so the set of business problems is very wide, and so I will speak in general terms.

Typically I have found that trying to write software against a well-encapsulated database (i.e. where the data model itself has an agreed API) speeds up development considerably, and it leads to more robust, better performing code. These are many of the same benefits people talk about with regard to NoSQL, but PostgreSQL gives you the same benefits often without moving away from the strengths of SQL.

Additionally, in a number of projects I have worked on, the lack of licensing requirements has been important because it means one can quickly roll out new projects with less internal red tape.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL lets you really leverage theory but to do that you need to know it well.

It is also worth getting a good book on advanced patterns regarding database design in Informix. Informix shares some common design ideas with PostgreSQL and many of the patterns (though not anything involving jagged rows) transfers easily.

Finally pay careful attention to indexing options and learn them backwards and forwards, if you need to support databases of significant size.


    Computer Software

Great for everything

  • December 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL was my first database that I used when initially developing rails apps and I prefer to use it if I have the option. It's open source, and it's well maintained. There is also a huge community of people who use it so there are plenty of answers for questions on stackoverflow etc.
What do you dislike?
Off the top of my head there isn't anything I dislike about it. Once you learn to use it it is pretty straightforward and there is a lot of documentation for learning to use it. I would certainly recommend it over other options like mysql in terms of ease of use, although it depends on what you want to use it for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's used for databases for applications. Relational database storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I wish my company would switch. Not enjoying using our current other than PostgreSQL sql database.


    Domenico T.

The golden standard for SQL database management systems

  • November 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is rock solid. It's free, it supports multiple platforms and it's widely used.
You can use it virtually from any programming language, and the support will be production level.
I recommend it for learning SQL and for building web applications.
You can start using it with the official docker image in just a few seconds.
What do you dislike?
It's not easy to find any defects in this software.
I think that the initial server configuration could be easier for beginners, but it is very well documented.
Beware that there is no graphical user interface included with postgresql, but there are a lot of management shells (paid or free).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've used PostgreSQL to run heavy traffic web-applications. The DBMS is really stable and it is very easy to fine tune.

Lately I'm using the HSTORE extension to build some schema-less features in some legacy applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a SQL DBMS, just fire up a docker container with PostgreSQL and start using it in your next project.


    Bryan F.

Solid Open-Source RDMS

  • July 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is stable and performs well, even at large connection loads. They have the best documentation of any piece of software I've dealt with. On top of that, it's completely free!
What do you dislike?
The default GUI for interacting with the database isn't very intuitive. Scaling can be a problem due to the rudimentary clustering tools and lack of third party support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the PostgreSQL database as a back end for our monitoring system. It's easy to install, integrate, and use and at the free price tag it has saved us a lot of money.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a great product for small to mid scale implementations. If you're looking for a scale out system or high availability cluster, it may be prudent to look at other options that are easier to work with.


    Timothy S.

Postgresql - The Only RDBMS You Need

  • July 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything. It supports all the SQL-92 standards, plus some of their own editions. It has a very mature GIS querying and every type of index. It supports in memory and a ton of different trigger languages. There's no feature or item missing from postgresql.

Use it and you will be happy.

It's an exact replacement for oracle without the cost. Supports triggers, procs, functions and everything you can think of including a datascience machine learning package MADLIB.

There's no reasons not to use Postgresql. The drivers for Java and Scala and NodeJS are excellent. Postgresql also powers a lot of servers like Cloudfoundry.
What do you dislike?
The problem with Postgresql is that there's a lot of version and no single owner of the enterprise verison. No really a concern.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it for data warehousing, basic data for web sites, blog storage, backup data and research data. It is also our main analytic database and transactional store.

It has saved us a lot of development time and money. Spring Data JPA and hibernate work perfect with PGSQL. pgADMIN and all JDBC SQL tools work perfect with it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is no reason to not use PostgreSQL, it is amazingly mature coming from Ingres and Dr Stonebreaker. It's been around forever and is really solid. A dozen or so commercial vendors have MPP and datawarehouse forks of it that they use.

Postgresql JSON features are very helpful for front-end usage and the indexes make most queries blazing fast.

We have no dba and really don't need one. The DB runs itself.

You do need to run a few dba tasks weekly like vacuum, analyze and backup.

Check your explain plans and make sure you have adequate queries.


    Gennady G.

PostgreSQL Review by a MySQL DBA

  • April 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
During my 3-4 years of being exposed to PostgreSQL in a professional environment, everything being transactional was quite good, partial indexes are awesome and helped me optimize things quite a bit for the application at Vonage that was running on EnterpriseDB at the time (2006-2007). At the time, the feature set was a bit better than MySQL, which was my primary expertise. We were trying to substitute Oracle with PostgreSQL for a specific task we had. There was also a rather large at the time deployment of snort logging into postgres (500 gigs or so before it started falling over)

I liked the way backups and restores were described for getting a snapshot in time, as in "backup the data even if it's changin, then backup the log files, with some function calls here and there"
What do you dislike?
Replication, at least in 2006-2007 was slony and log-shipping. Slony would fail to create new replicas after about 100 gigs on somewhat serious enterprise hardware due to it recreating the database via a pg_dump method which obviously stops working after certain level of data size is reached. Was a pretty bad time, 1/5 stars, would not repeat.

Some of the commands were just dowright tedious.

processlist ? some obscure table, or function call.

kill a process ? yet another obscure function call

see all the tables and sequences ? \d, naturally

just the table ? \dt, everybody knows that

show create table, doesn't exist - have to break into pg_dump
show create function/trigger/view/event/etc - nope, pg_dump for you

Not sure if this is the same way still, but replication is the major win for MySQL currently, it's easy to have replicas, all the information and monitoring is easy to retrieve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At Shutterstock, we've got 1 instance of pure PostgreSQL that keeps track of our infrastructure. about 4000 nodes with facter facts from puppet being shoved into an hstore, which was the original reason for going that way, mainly due to the developer picking that as the store. This mainly gets in the way of sharing data. Aside from that we have a few instances of vertica, which is based on postgres, and the interface tends to get in the way at times.

At Vonage, I ran 2-3 EnterpriseDB clusters from 100 gigs to 500 gigs in size. 5 node slony-replicated cluster ran the customer support software, partial indexes there were used to optimize specific query paths to help the software that was never meant to be used at that scale run smoothly. Eventually, replication stopped being able to spin up a new node via its own methods. Was a pretty bad time, I think we ended up copying the data and modifying some internal data structure to fool it into thinking it was fine, when it wasn't fine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you properly benchmark it for your given task at hand and look at further scale-out options. Data is only going to get bigger, and scaling the webapp is easier than scaling a monolithic database servers.


    Internal Consultant in Entertainment

PostgreSQL is reliable, feature-rich, and allows us to process thousands of transactions per second.

  • April 29, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is durable and fault-tolerant by design; great effort is taken by the developers to ensure reliability is maintained.

This cautious approach does not hinder development though; constant enhancements are delivered in every release, with new features generally arriving ahead of much more expensive commercial products.

With both community and commercial support, bug fixes and security issues (although rare) are always addressed quickly, and generally resolved far quicker than most commercial vendors.

With a wide selection of both free and commercial tools to accompany it, we are easily as productive if not more than we would be with a commercial offering.

Overall PostgreSQL has excellent speed, reliability and support of SQL standards; coupled with its "free forever" licensing, there is no risk of costly vendor lock-in.
What do you dislike?
There's very little to dislike about PostgreSQL, and the "free forever" BSD style licensing means you've nothing to lose in trying it for prototyping you next project. I've no idea why anyone would use anything else.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Improved performance and reliability of our underlying business critical DBMS means we are constantly able to deliver where other businesses cannot.

Ease of development.

Low Total Cost of Ownership
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do it now.


    Joseph T.

Open-source DB for all your needs and security

  • April 28, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Very popular amongst Ruby on Rails developers and as a greenhorn in the field of web development, it's popularity speaks volumes to the number of blog posts and tutorial guides. That alone is a winner in my book.
* Implements the SQL standard very well
* Includes support for "advanced" SQL stuff like window functions or common table expressions
* Supports lots of advanced data types, such as (multi-dimensional) arrays, user-defined types, and more
* Open-Source!
What do you dislike?
* Documentation is confusion, many of PosgreSQL versions have overlapping variety but they do include a thorough description of the issue.
* Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL
* Not as competitive in the OS support as MySQL, but this is trivial if you use a a rare OS or require widespread support: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_relational_database_management_systems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Easy deployment to Heroku requires PostgreSQL since I'm a Rails developer, here's why: https://devcenter.heroku.com/articles/sqlite3

"SQLite runs in memory, and backs up its data store in files on disk. While this strategy works well for development, Heroku’s Cedar stack has an ephemeral filesystem. You can write to it, and you can read from it, but the contents will be cleared periodically. If you were to use SQLite on Heroku, you would lose your entire database at least once every 24 hours."

* I've been able to learn more standard SQL techniques and solutions to the problems so I've been able to comprehend any relational database since PostgreSQL is so prevalent


    Bruce R.

PostgreSQL is a great database system

  • April 28, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The combination of PostgreSQL and PostGIS. It has been the foundation of our glacier mapping system for years, and has always been rock-solid and packed with features we need.
What do you dislike?
I can think of no dislikes that would not apply to any other relational database system as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web-accessible database of Earth's glaciers. Combined with MapServer, we provide interactive maps and Open Geospatial Consortium web services. The stack is reliable, configurable, and flexible. Performance on a VM is more than sufficient. The database contains data and metadata for close to 200,000 glaciers, including polygons that are the outlines of the glaciers.