Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

467 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy database to setup and configure

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good open source database that implements the SQL standard. Very easy to administer, and standard SQL works well with it.
What do you dislike?
Their internal database commands in psql are a little confusing at times. Commands like \d \d+ etc. QL
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it as our database for all SQL work, and very easy to get set up and use. The open source version has a lot of flexibility.


    Vijay B.

3 years of PostgreSQL

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
postgreSQl supports ACID nd transaction, it has divert indexing technique and flexible full text search.
What do you dislike?
None as of now









































What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows you to add custom functions developed using different programming languageslike C/C++, Java, and etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start using it


    Alonso C.

RDBMS For Everyone!

  • August 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free. Done! The best of something is when you get what you want without paying, this is the case of PostgreSQL.
There will be a time when you need to create an application/software, and no matter if it will be used for 5 or 1000 users, different geographic locations, you will get an easy setup, strong documentation and a great community behind PostgreSQL.
Finally, it is a multi-platform software, so you can have multiple instances either in linux or windows, it comes down to your personal preference, personally, I always use Debian and I haven't ever had any big issue.
What do you dislike?
Replication process. Last time I checked, I had to use Slony or something outside PostgreSQL to accomplish this process. I would like that there would have been a way to do it native n the core of PostgreSQL.
Also, the documentation is really strong, you will find it quick and easy and in a really neat way, but I would like that it was more easy to read, maybe it's just me, but I like for example the way ReactJS documentation is made, I believe that it gives you a clear idea without using weird and rare words.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically, not paying and Enterprise expensive license for our company, I work in a small manufacturing company, and the IT department is not the one who gets more money to improve the infrastructure, but having PostgreSQL it gives us more margin to improve in other areas, for example, servers, security, and professional growth through buying courses on line. .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
At least try it, you won't regret it.


    Computer Software

Postgres is the best open source relational database

  • August 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The features which i like the most are :
User-defined types , table inheritance ,sophisticated locking mechanism and many more.
Fetching data and modifying it is very easy with postgres.
Best part is the high speed.
What do you dislike?
Does not support the entire ANSI SQL 92' standard, much less the ANSI SQL 99' standard.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using postgres as the data base for our accounting software- Giddh.
Storing data , quering and modifying is very easy.It has legendary stability and reliability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Postgres is really fast , secure and supports many procedural languages. It is very reliable . Try to use it.


    DAVID G.

Object-oriented relational database management

  • August 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I use Postgresql as my favorite data handler above MySql, Oracle among others, due to its simple way of use and what I like most is that it is totally cross platform I can install it on Linux and Windows without problems exporting a database and without problems being able to make a retore from any operating system

But one of the things that I like the most is that you can have a high concurrence in the access of the users who want to consult information in the database without any waiting or blocking to the other users and the answers of the queries are exact and updated to the latest modifications made to the records in an easy professional manner and with impressive stability
What do you dislike?
One of the things I do not like is the migration of versions with respect to databases and more than anything with stored procedures it is simply complicated when there is a new version sometimes it is very difficult to migrate from one version to another and less if the version is higher and I want to migrate a database to a lower version, I really dislike this since I have had to implement backups and create new procedures to raise the back of a database with its functionalities correctly in other versions and despite that there is a lot of documentation on the internet and many Postgres forums do not have an official help obviously for being free code
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the benefits are many but especially the cost reduction when using this totally free and easy-to-use database manager with a large data support capability, Postgresql helps me solve the problems of saving a lot of information from secure way through a web application and especially the execution times of its sentences are fast
Recommendations to others considering the product:
my recommendation is to use this wonderful database manager is impeccable and its free code gives a guarantee when using this driver until its latest releases I have many years of experience using Postgresql and without a doubt despite being free it is one of the best drivers of databases nowadays that has remained for many years as a reliable reliable tool and a good option to work on medium and long complexity projects in data and security


    Vasu G.

Best opensource database

  • August 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL supports json data and transaction control that helps in development of modern complex web apps. Also, pgadmin built in support for dump backup is an important feature for critical applications. PgAdmin is good tool for managing and viewing database data along with support for complex SQL queries.
What do you dislike?
The PostgreSQL has some rigid migration rules while updating the database that can cause data loss
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
PostgreSQL has provided a reliable database for django web application with regular automated data backup and required scalability for growing users of the application


    Nigel H.

Fast and Underrated, great database

  • August 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It does stored procedures, indexes, benchmarks are excellent, its FREE. Does multiple languages in Unicode, stores objects.
What do you dislike?
The only free tool is pgadmin and its good but you have to pay to get a good database admin tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
sometimes you have to write a query in a special way so that Postgresql is efficient at processing the sql correctly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its fast and very well done. We have 1500 clients with thousands of patients and it works fine.


    Abdul Basit Z.

PostgresSQL is the most effective

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PostgreSQL is fast and available with very small latencies on most clouds. I believe it's a SQL taste, particularly compatible with my coding style and a straightforward natural query interface. It operates robustly and can be easily distributed without crashing.
What do you dislike?
Postgres is perfect to say it has no flaws and we can't ask for Oracle's scope or features because, as a consequence, this instrument is safe. However, for example, the other tools aren't the only ones I saw and don't like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
From our experience, we had to question the introduction of several tables and use one of the Database Supervisor's characteristics to present important company information.


    Financial Services

Great industry standard

  • August 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an industry standard especially for database management in large scale application. Works quite easily
What do you dislike?
Not as customizable as MySQL and no covering index support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use if it you need something easy to start with


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

postgres is rock solid

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rock solid database, proven , reliable and lost of features
What do you dislike?
single master, needs clustering like other databases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
really solid database
Recommendations to others considering the product:
read blogs