Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

452 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    joseangel a.

database manager more updated with open source and characterized by being robust in the market.

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This database manager called PostgreSQL is the database engine of today. with great features that will allow you to handle large volumes of information, which makes it the most powerful and robust Free Code Database Management System on the market. this manager infinitely type of fields, works with the technology of triggers sentences. allows you to perform backup and restoration of the database by tables or complete. and it is compactible with a variety of operating systems including windows and linux.
What do you dislike?
a great disadvantage for us users of this platform is that postgresql is slow when inserting data or updating information in very small databases, since this has been designed with the ability to handle large and inferior volumes is often complex use for small systems. This tool despite being one of the most robust in the market has a deficit in terms of technical support we refer, because at the time of presenting errors this tool we only have support group forums with people who use and have solved said problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a tool that we manage a lot in the company because we have extensive technical support systems where we need to recompile user information and it is consulted quickly and this database has allowed us to improve the quality of the system with its great features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend the use and installation of this database manager is very safe first to encrypt the information you want in such a way that it is difficult to steal your information. This database manager is integrated to different software developers and programming languages ​​such as java, php, c ++, c, html5 among others. this software is compactible for both windows and linux.


    Yoceliz A.

Relational database manager system, is object oriented.

  • July 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
is a database manager that offers us more than creating database is oriented to objects, that is, all the elements of our database will be able to be treated as objects, something similar to a programming language. in the same way it can be said that it is multisystem, therefore PostgreSQL can be installed in Microsoft Windows, GNU / Linux, MacOS, BSD and many other operating systems.
PostgreSQL is scalable and can handle huge databases, of more than 100 Terabytes and it works under a free license, we can use it for any purpose without any problem.
What do you dislike?
PostgreSQL is slower when it comes to insertions and updates, similarly the response it offers when the databases are small may seem a little deficient, compared with MySQL consumes more resources, also some commands and syntax are not intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ProgrestSQL is a language of database administration, highlighting its parts, tables, fields that are an excellent support language for queries with various elements collected at the web level serves for management and total reliability to make business inventories. Programs have been created facilitating the use of ProgrestSQL, SQL and Oracle to the most inexperienced but with an efficiency of 100%
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is a free software object-oriented relational database server, published under the BSD license. My recommendation is very simple because this or its function as I said before is related to creating databases that have rows and that this function is to save data this is very important is any field because if you have a wide information that to keep this what it does is to facilitate us the work for that it is good for each programmer to know and to use different database manager so that he knows which one he likes the most


    Yeraldin N.

Postgresql

  • June 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about Postgresql is that I can store and manage a database with large volumes of information, with excellent security and is very robust at the level of data processing. The base language is sql, which is very simple to manipulate and obtain information, and also can be installed both in windows, as in linux, as is my case, and its installation is very simple. Another of the things I like about postgresql is that there is a lot of documentation and tutorials to learn how to use the tool and the updates are periodic since they have the support of postgresql.org, which guarantees the postgresql update. Other aspects that I like about this application is that there is no lease charge since Postgresql is completely free for installation and use
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about Postgresql, is that its native interface for managing and manipulating data in tables is very rudimentary and is done through the console environment of the operating system. Therefore, a database client such as Pgadmin must be installed in order to have a pleasant data handling and manipulation environment. Another thing that I do not like about this application is that the process of inserting into small databases is very slow compared to other databases such as MYSQL. This is because Postgresql was designed to handle databases with large volumes of information.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is that you can manipulate databases, with large volumes of information, with the security and robustness offered by Postgresql, which has been proven for many years. Other problems solved, is that the purchase of the license is removed, to be able to use the application, since Postgresql is free and can connect the number of users you want without any type of administration. In turn, postgresql can be connected to most existing development programs, and in some of them like PHP, it has a set of commands that facilitate the connection with postgresql
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend it for those companies that handle large volumes of data in databases that seek security and protection of their data. I would also recommend it for those companies that develop software to market it and that should handle large amounts of data. It is also ideal for those companies that seek to reduce the expense of paying the license to use a database administrator, since Postgresql is completely free to download and install it.


    Telecommunications

PostgresSQL review from DBA point of view

  • June 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgresql is very light weight and easy to install . So as a DBA it is also simple to maintain.
What do you dislike?
Postgresql can not scale horizontally like Oracle DB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We found it is free open source database hence there is no license cost.


    Gustavo Héctor C.

postgres database engine

  • June 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
for me the best of PostgresSQL and what I like most is that it is multiplatform, this helps me a lot with the work that I have to use both free software and Windows in some cases as applications with postgres use. and since it is multiplatform I can install it in one environment and the other without problem and without saying that it is free and it is one of the best database engines today.
What do you dislike?
What I like about PostgreSQL is that when I use it for small applications the queries are a bit slow compared to MySql, so I use simple applications with PhpMyAdmin and the more robust ones with postgresql, because in this sense it is better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well the biggest benefit I've seen is the opposite to what I do not like postgres is that with large and robust applications that require a good search engine and greater responsiveness and with Postgresql I have been able to solve these difficulties without cost applications with large consumption of resources in transactions in queries with statements and stored procedures to the database, and with the issue of security is also a very big benefit with postgresql
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My opinion is that they keep working the way they are doing and keep it free and free for medium and low volume applications and if they can improve the support and integrate it into the application it would be very good for us end users although Postgres has a very active community with forums and debates on how to use it and this makes it have good support and support in the present and future


    Computer Software

Better than cassandra

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open Source DBMS. ...
Diverse Community. ...
Function. ...
ACID and Transaction. ...
Diverse indexing techniques. ...
Flexible Full-text search. ...
Diverse kinds of replication. ...
Diversified extension functions.
What do you dislike?
The client used to connect to posgres breaks, for example never use pgadmin to connect to this database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data replication is a big advantage. If your data is in one of the cloud regions it gets replicated in to an other region with in fifteen minutes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not connect it with the client pgadmin, It always breaks. Needs restarting the client every single time.


    Sainath J.

Love it!!

  • June 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgre SQL tool is very much capable enough to handle huge data like Oracle
What do you dislike?
Has delayed response sometimes which updating the Database Schema
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building schema as the backbone for the front-end ERP tool
Recommendations to others considering the product:
massive tool which can handle huge business transactions


    Anonymous

Massively parallel processing data warehouse

  • June 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use Postgresql for our data warehouse and we love the software because of its capability to handle complicated SQL queries for financial analysis and other workflows.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that Postgresql has many types of databases and you have to choose the proper one to get the correct degree of efficiency.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems I'm solving with Postgres Is the need to run analytic SQL queries in a scalable and efficient manner for our analytic capabilities.


    Computer Software

Best DB in market

  • June 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postures is tool that it can be integrated with customized software till now. Has best functionality ease to use
What do you dislike?
Postures service dies once centos OS Or Helios restart. Please look into this matter as soon as possible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nothing. Works great
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fix the bugs with Linux OS


    Computer Software

PostgreSQL experience review

  • June 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy error recovery options like deleting and altering tables etc. in a given database.
What do you dislike?
There is no clear documentation available on the official website , the search is is not good related to finding docs,especially once related to configuring the database itself on the machines and different OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Issues with upgrading to new version
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend as it is a very good option and its definitely provides many good features in the free version as well.