Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LiteSpeed Web Server

LiteSpeed Technologies Inc. | 6.0.12

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

41 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pedro G.

I've been recommending LiteSpeed to many companies I've been working for. Excellent product!

  • January 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data is always kept safe and UI is pretty fast. Excellent for monitoring.
What do you dislike?
Security could be better , even more the times we are now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps the servers to perform optimally, be proactive.


    Stefan B.

Litespeed: the Game Changer for Speed Oriented Devs

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I personally use litespeed for both dedicated and VPS installs usually without any 3rd party interface like WHM.
The improvements in page load times and response times for the aps are great and I find it flexible enough even from a power user's perspective.
For Magento and WordPress it does wonders and switching to it was the best advice I could give to my clients.
What do you dislike?
Multi threading would be a plus if it would be included in the lower licenses because even on smaller VPSs these days there is enough room for at least two processes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main problem I fixed is page load times that reflect into the Google ranking and conversions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it and start using it. You'll fall in love with the results before the two week trial ends.


    Brad R.

Great product for the entry point

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The way with which the developers constantly update and maintain the product, as well as fast responses to any technical queries.

The fact that it is free to use (openlitespeed) is an excellent proposition as well as it easily exceeds even the paid cPanel solution in terms of functionality.
What do you dislike?
It feels somewhat clunky under the hood which means it does not inspire confidence when hosting 100+ websites. The team are working on this though and I do see improvement here in my 2 years usage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Drastically less physical server resources required. This means it is easier to set up hosting servers for client projects that are more performant at less cost.


    Harry K.

Happy, wish they'd have more promotions/a slightly cheaper license

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Performance, the speed is fantastic and out of the box LiteSpeed works a treat, which is great. It's a direct replacement for Apache which makes it super easy to install and configure alongside cPanel. So much so that we run LiteSpeed across our entire fleet, which covers over 100 servers, ranging from low spec machines to top spec ones. We also suggest and recommend LiteSpeed to many of our customers on a day to day basis to allow them to ensure their servers are performing optimally.
What do you dislike?
Caching - LiteSpeed cache is great... but it's immediate out of the box coverage for things like WordPress and Joomla isn't ideal. I'd prefer for it to have a WordPress mode for our novice customers, that'd make it much more user friendly for them and easier to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The only issue we're seeing is customers being able to follow the caching guides and information, it's very complex for them. It's only on the UI side that I personally see complaints or problems from customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a smaller to medium server, LiteSpeed rolling out can save you the cost of upgrading RAM and CPU also as it severely reduces the load on the server when configured correctly. I'd opt for LiteSpeed over a CPU/RAM upgrade on busy servers.


    Akshay K.

Best server for holding large requests in low resources

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am using litespeed for past 2 years. It handles more than double request on same server on which i was using apache.

I am hosting 1 Django website and 2 wordpress website on same $15 server. One of my website got 400k+ views per month and never feels downtime.

The Thing i like most is simple user interface provided by litespeed webserver. As a Web Developer, when i choose Apache or Nginx, i have to change the server configuration files manually. But with litespeed, we can simply configure the new website by web interface.

As i am also using wordpress on litespeed server. There is an official cache plugin called Litespeed Cache in WordPress repository.

This plugins has all the settings which includes in premium plugins like wp-rocket, and the fun part is it is free.

Static file handling of litespeed is best. It has inbuilt Gzip and Brotli compression which compressed the header size dynamically result in less response time.

Litespeed server supports http2 and http3/quic out of the box. Which allows us to send files concurrently. So that page load faster.

You can install latest version of PHP directly from dashboard.
What do you dislike?
The guide to configure different frameworks are bit old and not too the point. It will be better to have a video guide to deploy Django, React and other web frameworks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Handles large requests in low recourses
Easy Deployment
In built Gzip/Brotli Compression
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want fast deployment and easy to handle webserver with high performance on low recourse. Blindly go for litespeed web server. It also has analytics tab to show current live requests.


    SHIVAPRASAD P.

Superspeed Webserver with mind-blowing performance

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Drop-in Apache replacement.

2. High performance.

3. Better security.

4. 0% downtime switching from Apache.

5. Capability to handle higher traffic without affecting the server load or resources.

6. Easy Install and uninstall.

7. Compactible with control panels like cPanel.

8. Easy interface.

9. Lesser TTFB.

10. Built in DDOS protection.

11. Cache plugins available for variety of CMS

12. Top-notch performance.
What do you dislike?
1. There's no real downside.

2. The free version is limited.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Website loading speed reduced to half and even more.

2. Improved TTFB.

3. Better security.

4. GUI for user interaction.

5. Good support is received from LSWS.

6. Server stability issues.

7. Frequent load spikes is no more observed.

8. Server with less hardware resources with better performance.

9. Easily tweaking possible.

10. No more downtimes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are facing slowness with your websites, stability issues with your server, security concerned, you should definitely try out LSWS and you will be mesmerized by the magic of LSWS.


    Higher Education

Used a dedicated litespeed webserver to host an online school website

  • October 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the heigh performance of the php execution. I liked the ESI cache feature for wordpress.
What do you dislike?
There's no real downside. It's just much better than apache server. For the litespeed cache plugin for wordpress there's few bad things related to page optimization, js and css minification. And i would like to see ESI working with multitag shortcodes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had a real performance problem when we were using apache server. That it was taking about 4 s to generate the pgae. Now it take 2s. And using litespeed cache it takes nothing.


    Information Services

The Best Web Server on the market

  • November 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Litespeed web server has severely increased the speed of all the Wordpress and other CMS sites hosted on our servers and while doing so it even reduced overall load on our servers.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at this stage, I am honestly very happy with this product and excited to see what they bring out next
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Getting the most out of your existing infrastructure


    Marketing and Advertising

Amazing service!

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Incredible fast loading speeds that provide a massive boost to very slow eCommerce platforms such as Magento 2. When cached I have yet to see any faster load times with other caching and server combinations.
What do you dislike?
Would appreciate more control over what is and isn't cached / purged etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using LiteSpeed Web server to fuel all of our clients websites both Magento and Wordpress. Since discovering the technology we have stopped using anything else. We use this consistently because it provides fastest load times period.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's great.


    Ankit C.

So far the best Web Server I came Across for my Websites.

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The kind of features it offers and many of them are unique to Litespeed web server. Their HTTP2 accelerator is best in the industry, beating nginx in benchmarks way ahead with a big gap. So far, the Litespeed web server is the only one I know which supports QUIC. It is fully compatible with Apache, so I had no issues moving from Apache-based webserver to Litespeed. So far, I am tension free since the day I moved my sites from LAMP to Litespeed and it's fully compatible with Cloudflare too.
What do you dislike?
So far, there's nothing which I have found which I may dislike. Litespeed community on slack is so supportive and it's a big help from them whenever I've faced any kind of issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- I am tension free in case if there is any spike in traffic.

- Websites run faster and load way fast.

- Google bot crawling has increased

- Absolutely no downtime so far even with a good real-time count

- Litespeed cache plugin is the best cache plugin I've come across. I found it better even from WP-rocket plugin.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want your website to load fastest compared to others with the full support of HTTP2 & QUIC, go for Litespeed Webserver. Also, the Litespeed cache plugin is the best cache plugin I've come across.