Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (250 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

149 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jennifer H.

A heavy duty VPN for experienced users

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Provides security that I don't have to worry about. It saves my log in information.
What do you dislike?
If there is an issue, it's not straightforward and I have to rely on IT staff to help me fix it. Not user-friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's extremely secure and we've experienced few security issues as a result. We work remotely so knowing that we all have the same security standard online is extremely important.


    Sean F.

OpenVPN is simple!

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and setup. The step by step guides walk you right through ever scenario
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, its so easy to configure and implement.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Securing our unsecured internet traffic.


    Gazi Shakibul Islam .

" Best open source VPN - OpenVPN "

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most amazing thing of this VPN is that this is so easy to use as well setup. And this is secure VPN platform as it provides two-factor authentication. Its DNS option is really awesome. Its open source service also impresses me very much.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing much to dislike but it sometimes disconnects from the server which is very much annoying. Its features also should have improved. I think the authority will fix those problems as soon as possible. And its splash screen takes so long.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had to hide my real IP adress for some personal issue. Then this VPN service helped me a lot with its security, user friendly and open source service. Overall, I am very much pleased with this VPN service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This VPN service is highly recommended for anyone those need a secure and easy VPN service.


    Jose Q.

An all-round VPN solution for free, in your own Cloud!

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature, of course, is that, as its name suggests, it is an Open Source solution (free), meaning that if you have a Cloud-based (or Cloud-capable) computer - NOT necessarily Server - you can just deploy your own OpenVPN server on it and you're ready to go. The features are pretty good for an OS solution, including tunneling, port forwarding, and certificate authority, among others.
What do you dislike?
There's little to not like about OpenVPN, given that it's very global and generic. Perhaps more compatibility with other non-PC devices, such as game consoles, TV streaming devices and such, could be very much appreciated. But in terms of corporate usage, it's a total all-around solution in itself.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our main goal for using OpenVPN is for direct access to some servers on our premises overseas. We basically deployed the OpenVPN server on a Debian Linux VM server and left it running 24/7 there. Through tunneling, we can then access our hypervisor and guest VMs directly from any of our platforms (PC, Mac, mobile devices).


    Computer Software

Open VPN - Simple to Setup and use as Admin and End User

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The end user software is simple for non-tech team members to install and follow the guidance provided by the support team. So implementing a VPN of this type is made easier than with other softwares we've used before.
What do you dislike?
The application (on Mac) can disappear behind other windows, although the toolbar icon is helpful if you remember it's there, this means you can remain connected when you were finished using it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We've been able to connect the entire team to our office network. This has been vital during the pandemic to allow staff to connect to servers and files when not in the office. The security bulit into OpenVPN means these connections are secure, simple and safe.


    Computer Software

Easy to use and never any problems

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to open, sign-in, authenticate and move on!
What do you dislike?
Signing in every time - HOWEVER, I understand the principle of needing to do this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Secure hosting and login to sensitive information for our business


    Computer & Network Security

OpenVPN is Super-Duper Flexible

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like having easy-to-read source code that I can modify at will, and all of it written in standard C, and something that I can tweak and modify as needed. It already comes with a ton of super useful options and features, but topping it off with well written source code is great
What do you dislike?
There's sort of too many options. It's both a strength and a liability. I both like and hate all those options. It makes it pretty difficult to create a comprehensive "config builder" because there's just so many inter-connection pieces and dependencies on the configs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Openvpn is acting as a bridge between networks in different locations, bringing them together in a single extended-LAN type of situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sincerely try it. Use the pre-fab configs in the example configs that are online, you will probably have success.


    Computer Software

Simple and Secure

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use, sits in my toolbar, and I click it when I need to connect securely to my workplace network.
What do you dislike?
Some of the more advanced features, such as being connected on two networks at once (via two tunnels), need a bit of effort to get set up and tested.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
How can I ensure the work I do remotely is secure when transferring data to and from my workplace?


    Entertainment

OpenVPN is a great tool to gain connection across multiple VPNs

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use OpenVPN to access various VPNs (if needed). The tool allows you to have a real-time pulse on the connection and can connect with Google Authenticator for verification purposes. It also allows you to add multiple profiles in case you need to toggle across different VPNs.
What do you dislike?
Often times OpenVPN can have zero activity across the connection stats portion of the tool, despite constant connection with the VPN source. This creates confusion on whether or not there are any Internet connectivity issues or blockers related to the VPN.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenVPN helps users safely and securely connect to workplace servers via VPN. This has been crucial in the transition to remote work, to ensure everyone has the access they need without any security risks.


    Computer Software

Great VPN, easy set up, and administration!

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and administer and very simple licensing!
What do you dislike?
There can be some confusion between the open source version and the paid subscription.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are allowing our clients access to a hosted application and we've seen increased security compliance.