Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortra's JAMS (BYOL)

Fortra | 7.7.0

Windows, Windows Server 2022 Base 2024.02.14 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

155 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Accounting

Great product with some issues

  • February 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It provides lots of features which are valuable fr business
What do you dislike about the product?
It has some bugs , and sometime not as intuitive as I expect it to be
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Batch jobs running on a daily bases.


    E-Learning

Experience with JAMS

  • February 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is centralized scheduler which makes our job very helpful. Central management with ACL and folder security makes it very much manageable with different level of audience.
What do you dislike about the product?
Till v6.5 it was good experience with JAMS, but when upgraded our lower environment to v7.xx then the problem started, we are working with JAMS as their QA to their code. lots of bugs in v7 series. Not complaining about JAMS Support but its newer software comes with more bugs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
bunch of problems like time zone issue, job lagging issues; we can not do automatic installation of JAMS with all configs. and many more issue.

There are many benefits as well with JAMS solution.

Benefits: Central managment, security, logging, multi scripting/programming language support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is nice product and easy to manage with security, supports multiple scripting languages for jobs. Integration with other software using API is really useful to customize your experience with scheduling jobs and can enable auditing on it.


    Banking

Standard scheduler with some interesting quirks

  • February 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The support team is always willing to help.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some features labeling and info is incorrect.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Running jobs on a solid schedule.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your research. Make sure product is what you need.


    Hospital & Health Care

JAMS Scheduling and job building

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JAMS has a comprehensive .NET API that allows the programmatic creation, maintenance, and activation of jobs and job components.
What do you dislike about the product?
JAMS has some good basic documentation, but not much past very cursory use of that API from a programmatic viewpoint. Our usage dynamically creates jobs, from information collected from Users, data streams, and other sources. Building that framework required some trial and error to find the proper class attributes and methods to perform those tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are moving a very large health research and clinical care application from a legacy system to Microsoft Windows. Our current system heavily relies on batch processes (built dynamically) to perform the necessary operations to keep that system functional. JAMS has supplied a sufficient rich environment to meet those needs. JAMS has provided more information in scheduling management than the current system since the scheduling is surfaced in its own application rather than part of the operating system. The interface API for creating scheduled jobs is cleaner than in our current system and far richer in the number of options in how those jobs have scheduled.


    Vardan H.

I am personally using JAMS already about 10 year now and never regret it.

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The JAMS help me in current company to start consolidation if all batches/etl processes in one place.
Make a proper dependencies, having a better alerting, history of executions.

The support is the best one, quick responses, resolution, jumping in to remote to help
What do you dislike about the product?
I would not put any dislike for now, because we using v6 and there is already v7, which has a lot of new futures and improvements.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main problem in current company was ability to manage all job execution, having issue when there was a big maintenance.
All those king of issue JAMS resolved, now if we have network and server maintenance - no issues, place job in to maintenance and go.

Benefit - one centralized place of everything
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is multiple application like JAMS, even opensource, but the JAMS was the only who gives the PRICE and FUNCTION in some balanced way. Easy to configure, maintain and implement.


    Investment Management

JAMS is a key component in our IT systems

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Built-in job types, dependency definitions, triggers, reliability, change audit history, execution logging, feature-rich customizability.
What do you dislike about the product?
User interface is antiquated and doesn't render perfectly in today's high resolution desktops. Lack of mobile app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Centralizing all jobs in one place for monitoring and troubleshooting. Dependency controls prevent premature/mistimed job execution and allow for full control of halting/resuming processes.

Used for:
data import/export, data scrubbing and storage into data warehouse.
Overnight financial and analytics calculations.
Intra-day import of financial market data for supporting portfolio management applications.
Internal alerts to drive operations workflow.
Distribution of data and reports to external entities - e.g., clients and business partners.
Automation of database backups and restores into development/QA environments.
Generation of job audit logs for compliance requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
JAMS is a valuable asset to add to an organization of any size for centralizing automated workflows/jobs. I have yet to come across a use case that could not be solved either by internal staff or with a very responsive JAMS support team that is expertly knowledgeable about the product. Since we adopted JAMS more than 5 years ago, we have dramatically reduced processing errors and increased efficiency in all business units.


    Lisa K.

Newbie

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We are very new to JAMS. Currently we are just in the process of converting all our scheduled jobs from our legacy scheduler into the JAMS scheduler. This process has gone very seamless making our conversion go smooth and quick. We are easily making our deadline due to the fact that JAMS has everything our current scheduler has and so much more.
The other thing I like best, and it's probably the most important is the support we have gotten. Your support team is on the ball, ready to answer all our questions. It's helpful to have the chat windows when searching for something. If your support team is unable to assist through the chat, they are quick to call or request a webex to review what we are trying to do. So far there hasn't been an issues we haven't been able to resolve in less then a few hours (max!)
What do you dislike about the product?
So far I have to say I really don't have any dislikes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have just touch the surface of what this powerful tool has to offer for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend this scheduler. The initial setup time and learning curve was very minimal. We are in the midst of our conversion and have yet to find any problems getting all of our jobs to successfully implement.


    Information Technology and Services

Great Product and Awesome Support

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There are so many features with JAMS that no matter what crazy scenario you come up with JAMS can handle it. But the best part is the support team that will respond and help you with anything you need. These support team members should be the example for all other companies to live up to.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing so far. JAMS is great. Would recommend to all
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We schedule over 3000 batch jobs daily and have many complex dependencies
Recommendations to others considering the product:
JAMS Support is amazing


    Food & Beverages

Everything we wanted in a JD Edwards Enterprise Job Scheduler and more

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JAMS is very easy to user and works with all of our JD Edwards Instances. We also use it to automate all sorts of other tasks via Powershell, SQL Server, and Windows workflow scripting. JAMS has also been open and responds to enhancement requests to improve the tool.
What do you dislike about the product?
There isn't really anything that I would same that I dislike. Maybe improve or simplify configuring user security.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The original purpose of purchasing JAMS was to be able to control sequences of Jobs within JD Edwards and stop a sequence if one of the jobs in the sequence failed. This was very quickly realized and it saved hour and hours of time dealing with jobs and scheduling. It quickly solved that problem and
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very Straightforward job scheduling and a really top notch support team that is willing to help design solutions and solve problems.


    Nisha M.

Excellent support for JAMS

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JAMs can pretty much schedule anything and everything but what i love about JAMs is the customer support. I dont hesitate to take up new projects as I know that I can always rely on the support team to help me get my tasks done.
What do you dislike about the product?
Haven't found anything that I do not like so far
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are automating our processes and reducing human intervention in our workflows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it!