Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortra's JAMS (BYOL)

Fortra | 7.7.0

Windows, Windows Server 2022 Base 2024.02.14 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

151 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wayne W. V.

Easy Scheduling tool, especially for the non-programmer

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to use, very flexible, and cost effective. When we switched from Appwrox we were able to create the same chains in easier to understand, and faster to create Workflows. The new Banner Procedure Execution method is a MAJOR time saver! Being able to load Banner parameters makes building Banner job sub jobs easy and error free!
What do you dislike about the product?
That the new Banner Procedure wasn't available during our implementation! Also, sometimes PowerShell commands we test in native Powershell doesn't work the same way when run from JAMS. We always have to do a little tweaking, but that could be that I'm a novice at PowerShell.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We've streamlined many, many process with JAMS in such a short time. At the start of the implementation we decided that we were only going to use JAMS for scheduled tasks, not one-off runs. However, it's so easy to use, we've started building jobs intended to run once a term or once a year.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The newest release is more a full number release not a point release. It was harder to implement across instances than previous releases.


    Financial Services

Awesome product with fantastic support.

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PowerShell integration for customization.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes the client is a little sluggish but nothing that causes a real problem. The license pricing for an HA server should not be as expensive as the primary JAMS scheduling server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JAMS solved the problem of running jobs with Task Scheduler with a poor interface and notifications. JAMS has high visibility of all jobs running and we receive clear notifications when jobs fail.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is an excellent product with superior and very responsive support. But, be clear on the license pricing before committing.


    Retail

Jams support is great!

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
One spot for scheduling all your job scheduling needs and ability to view status of everything in one area.

There support staff have always been able to assist with any questions or problems I've had. They are friendly and know the product very well. Truly impressed every time I have needed support. Can't say that about many other companies.
What do you dislike about the product?
Have had some issues with software bugs but support has always helped and fixed any issues promptly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automatically scheduling and submitting tasks when we need them to run.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend JAMS if you want ability to monitor all scheduled tasks in one spot.


    Banking

Flexible, customizible and reliable.

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Our organization has been using JAMS fro more than a decade. We really like the reliability aspect of the tool. On a couple occasions we suffered HW problems which brought the DB host down in the middle of ETL processing which was orchestrated by JAMS. We were able to fix the HW issues and resume processing like nothing happened. We also like the level of customization in JAMS. On a several occasions JAMS team would implement feature request we needed.
What do you dislike about the product?
Our developers who use JAMS v.6 client reside in remote offices, away from the JAMS Scheduler v.6 engine. We have observed a slight lags between the client and Scheduler engine.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use JAMS to run everything - critical ETL processing which supports internal Data Warehouse, backups, file transmissions, jobs that destroy/rebuild lower environments daily & weekly, code deployments and maintenance jobs. Pretty much anything that's important to us and needs visibility goes to JAMS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a shot. It's light and easy to deploy.


    Computer Software

Simplify your automation

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is very quick and easy to deploy a task, you just need a few clicks. It has all the main events needed to properly define each task even in a global environment that works across multiple time frames and servers and has in build integrations with many tools.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is little to no documentation of the architecture of the database. Jams 7 database is easier to deduce than JAMS 6 but documentation is a must.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using many different tools mainly for ETL purposes and reporting we can have everything centralized in JAMS tool having also the ability to monitor everything and intermediately have an alert if something has failed. The statistics we can get both from the database or the reporting tool included in JAMS provides us with interesting number for our KPIs.


    David W.

Great tool for broad variety of automation tasks

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The fact that you have a variety of script/command structures you can use to define jobs. We have favored a mix of old-school DOS command-lines and Powershell scripting with logic built in.
What do you dislike about the product?
We saw a pretty big change in the most recent major update to the software which changes the concept of how jobs/setups were conceptualized to now being jobs and sequences which while making sense; the method of building them has been more of a struggle.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JAMS has allowed us to provide more proactive response to customers by having jobs that can check if a customer has requested a job and push it through the pipeline; this has allowed us to take tasks from hourly using the Microsoft Scheduler to every 5 minutes with less overhead.


    Anil B.

Awesome Customer Support

  • September 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like JAMS in many ways. Like every other software, it has Pros and Cons. But just for their customer support, I would recommend JAMS. Customer support guys are always there to help. Keep it up.
What do you dislike about the product?
Limitations on workflow. Not many Execution methods
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Previously, all the jobs were running independently, which results in data inconsistency. With JAMS, we can orchestrate the jobs to have better control.


    Information Technology and Services

We're JAMMIN with JAMS

  • September 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JAMS appears to have been set up and created by someone that knows how a scheduler needs to fit in to an IT Operational Environment. There are so many prebuilt options that can be easily activated by filling in the right checkbox at the right place. It has so many needed features available out-of-the-box for easy configuration.
What do you dislike about the product?
I really enjoy learning about a product with a complete and robust hard-printed manual. I was surprised this is not available. Thankfully, JAMS support is top-notch and they are able to always give me a solution to a problem or show me a JAMS feature I was unaware of.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At present we are only migrating file transfer jobs from our previous Scheduler; once complete we are really excited to expand our scope to true Enterprise-level IT automations. JAMS, in terms of 'better, faster, cheaper' has blown away my team's expectations on what is truly possible with a stable, robust Scheduler.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its difficult to appreciate how good JAMS is unless one compares to other solutions. I recommend you have a thorough POC Checklist with all the features you want--shop that same Checklist out to JAMS competitors and see for yourself how their thoroughness and professionalism puts them ahead of the pack. Those characteristics are easy to see in the final product and in their support.


    Retail

Review of JAMS Job Scheduler

  • September 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
What is most helpful about JAMS is that whatever you can run in a command window, you can schedule and supply parameters needed. You also get a log of all messages sent to the command window from the program if it sends messages. using Power shell you can wright scripts directly into the Jams Job Source window and run. you can set up new execution methods for running scripts that run in another runtime language.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have not found anything I really dislike about JAMS. I've lost some of the colorizing Themes That I liked in earlier versions. I was better able to distinguish which environment I was working in by the color. Now the themes are close variations to a 'White' or 'Dark' Theme, hard to get 3 distinct shades out of it and still be readable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Scheduling End of Day Processes for a order management Suite that did not come with a Scheduler or used Windows Scheduler. We get notifications based on how the individual jobs run so we can take action as a fault occures. integration / sending files to Report 2 Web, submitting files and jobs to process the files on an AS400, Submitting Go Anywhere projects for transferring files in / out of the company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Support was fantastic, they have helped me in a timely manner, even for general questions needed by our IT department. they have helped in setting up new execution methods, to run SQL queries, GoAnywhere Projects, Sarina Release Automation, and Powershell scripts.










    Utilities

Robust & reliable automation engine supported by an efficient & responsive team in APAC!

  • September 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JAMS Scheduler has empowered us to reduce our technical debt, allowing us to hook into and leverage our diverse and varied range of operating platforms whilst providing a controlled and integration workflow of tasks.
What do you dislike about the product?
Whilst being a fantastic tool for technically minded stakeholders. JAMS Scheduler is hard to 'sell' to the "IT Manager" type stakeholders because it doesn't look pretty.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The most material problem we solved was transitioning from another enterprise scheduling tool to reduce our licence cost, ultimately increasing the companies EBITDA.

Technically speaking, having all of our processes scheduled from JAMS, provides a framework to easily control, deploy, and extend our existing system fleet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Investigate the training options / JAMS University before implementing JAMS into your environment. Get your setup right the first time.