Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.2.529

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.09.09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

91 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Investment Management

JAMS Scheduler is an great solution to scheduling/creating/managing batch jobs on a single platform

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- JAMS Documentation and User Manual
- Vendor Assistance and Support
- User Friendly Platform
What do you dislike?
- Platform Stability
- Troubleshooting Performance Issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Time Saved
- Managing Batch Jobs
- Meeting Business Requirements
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Provide training for end users
- Require knowledge in Powershell


    Michael T.

JAMS Enterprise Job Scheduler Is a Great Enterprise Tool for Manage Different Tasks

  • April 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS Scheduler is a great central place for our all DBA related automation tasks, integrated with application servers. It simplifies the maintenance and monitoring, reduces the operation cost.
What do you dislike?
JAMS has many functions and we only used part of them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Central place to schedule and monitor multi tasks from different platform.


    Ryan A.

Very useful tool with excellent customer support

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to use import custom DLLs. Our company has a lot of very specific scheduled tasks, so we found the integration with our own code to be very useful. Also, very knowledgeable Customer Support. JAMS has a lot of different execution methods and different ways to accomplish tasks, so it's hard at first to understand its full power, but Customer Support and the online support knowledge base always has a good answer
What do you dislike?
There are a few limitations in version 6 that we've found, but there is usually a simple workaround available. For example, custom scheduling (which I know is available in version 7).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most of our jobs are file transfers, especially across our corporate domain and SCADA domain. Also, we created a lot of custom jobs that integrate with some of our enterprise applications.

JAMS is a nice place to centralize all these scheduled tasks so that certain users can keep tabs on jobs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn all of what it can do, because you will likely find a solution for your job. Lean on customer support, they are incredibly helpful.


    Jason F.

One Ring to Rule Them All!

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We had a myriad of Windows Scheduled Tasks and SQL Agent Jobs spread about on multiple servers. Just keeping track of what jobs, lived where was a job unto itself. There was also risk associated with these jobs running as the SQL Agent or System account when often that was not the best choice. JAMS delivered as advertised by giving us a single place to create, manage, and monitor all of our scheduled processes!

In many cases we were able to leave the functional code in place (i.e. SSIS packages, custom PowerShell scripts, custom executables.) We simply eliminated the SQL jobs and scheduled tasks and replaced them with entries in JAMS. This approach allowed for a quick conversion with greater control over security and an immediate improvement in our ability to monitor jobs execution. Now we're finding many of our new jobs are more easily implemented directly through JAMS using the numerous templates for things like (s)ftp transfers, database maintenance, emailing daily reports, etc.
What do you dislike?
This may be an odd "dislike", but I did find JAMS to be too "all-inclusive" in one regard......

We have a non-prod and prod instance of JAMS. The former is used as our develop and test environment. JAMS provides it's own version control for every job and an interface that makes it easy for an authorized user to copy a job from non-prod to prod as a means of deploying to production.

So what's not to like about all of that?

Once you get used to using the same tools for all of your development, source control, builds, and deployments, it can be a hard habit to break when something like JAMS includes all of that functionality. And while we have tried to make JAMS work using our regular toolset (i.e. Visual Studio, Git, TeamCity, and Octopus Deploy) thus far it has proven more trouble than its worth. Instead we've been working on ways tailor our change control process and continue to use JAMS as designed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Consolidation of scheduled jobs and tasks to a single server and a common interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have scheduled tasks and jobs running on more than one server using more than one solution, you should give JAMS a try!


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Great support with JAMS helped us running on daily ETL process on time

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support is helpful to setup the jobs with new features.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as specific, all are very good..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All of our scheduling jobs is done through JAMS at enterprise level
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes strongly recommend


    Retail

JAMS Scheduler

  • April 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is incredibly easy to use once configured, and allows for several levels of access and security so we can have different teams with different access to the application. The support from Help Systems is also very, very good. We've had several speed bumps getting things automated and even a system failure or two, and support has always been able to remedy the situation quickly. JAMS can automate just about any application you can think of.
What do you dislike?
This is on us for our rollout procedures, but having licensing tied to the machine name vs some other characteristic has made it difficult for us when we moved a server from testing/development into a production server. The machine name would have changed, but because the license is tied to the name, it made things difficult and the result would be a machine in production with a name that implied it is a dev server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We moved our core business application from a mainframe where everything ran in one place and was easy to automate to a collection of Windows servers where jobs were now spread across several machines and databases. JAMS "speaks" the same language as our mainframe did so migrating jobs over was easy, and by using JAMS, we continue to have one place where all jobs can be scheduled and monitored. Without JAMS, transitioning to the Windows port of our application and keeping all of our automated jobs would be a nightmare. Using JAMS, we've not only moved over hundreds of jobs but have been able to add hundreds more and automated processes that would have been impossible on the mainframe version of the application. We can also manage all of this with a very small team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Price out the competition, and then price out how much it would cost to automate everything in-house without a scheduler like JAMS. For a small team with limited resources, I can't think of a product that handles the level of automation that JAMS does for the price.


    Pete C.

Very versatile scheduler

  • March 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How the system can be customised to run almost any batch process.
Technical support is excellent.
What do you dislike?
The initial release of JAMS 7 was a bit buggy, but now desperately trying to schedule an upgrade to get the new features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralised logging and management of all batch processing.


    Computer Software

JAMS Scheduling Server -The most efficient way to schedule Batch jobs

  • March 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about this tool is the easy to use interface that it offers. It is so easy to understand usability and functionality.
It also offers the Dashboard and analytics feature which help us in continuous improvement and reporting
What do you dislike?
The application has to be installed on Machine
it will be much better if it is a web-based application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Batch Automation
Error Reporting

Benefits:
Reporting
Monitoring


    Information Technology and Services

JAMS is the best job scheduling software for complex batch process and scheduling

  • March 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Technical assistance, JAMS support staff always responds promptly. Easy to customize Jobs to meet business requirements. Easy to deal with complex job dependencies and scheduling different ways. Allows custom execution methods. Secured File Transfer setup is easy to transfer files to third parties. Alerts and Email notifications setup is easy in JAMS.
What do you dislike?
There isn’t much that I dislike in JAMS but there are few pain points. Current we use JAMS v6, maybe version 7 has more improvements.
In the Jobs import process, editing the exported XML file is a bit time taking procedure in tracing all the necessary changes and all dependencies. I feel there should be an internal mechanism in the import process to trace all dependencies in the order and create those dependency jobs first and then go in the order.
Sometimes we need to delete the jobs in bulk in our testing, here jobs bulk delete from folder feature is helpful if JAMS has the one,
In certain cases JAMS doesn't have the ability to capture Job exception details unless customized with PowerShell exception handling.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Earlier in our batch process Jobs Predecessors and Successors scenarios was challenging, with JAMS we could make it simple using Job dependencies feature.
Scheduling issues solved with JAMS auto-scheduling features.
Before JAMS customizing was complex to execute SQL scripts and file transfers, now with JAMS customization become easy with PowerShell scripts and custom execution methods.
Before JAMS, proper alerts and Email notification system was lacking in our Batch process. Now alerts and email notifications setup is very simple in JAMS and these features allow support resource act quick for any night batch issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
JAMS Enterprise Job Scheduler has detailed documentation. JAMS support staff are nice and helpful. So, no worries to try for new features in JAMS or for any customization, I believe you always get adequate support from JAMS staff.


    Insurance

JAMS has made my life easier!

  • February 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has allowed me to centralize many of the automated tasks that were previously distributed among multiple other scheduling tools.
What do you dislike?
There's nothing that I can really think of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized management, better dependencies, built in documentation, easy of use, scalability, and the ability for customization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download the trial version of the software and explore all functionality. By the time you've experienced everything that it has to offer, your search for the ultimate scheduling tool will be over. It's a great product!