Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.2.529

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.09.09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

86 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    mehul s.

Exceptional Job Scheduler Tool

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most useful feature we found is scheduling of job(s) based on workflow. In which critical business jobs are scheduled and executes in sequence. Without workflow feature we may have to create no of independent jobs.
What do you dislike?
There's none downside of JAMS scheduler. Though with any software/suite there's always room for new features.

Eg: JAMS web client is not as good as desktop client to create complex jobs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some business critical processes are now handled by JAMS. Eg: Moving, copying, ftping files around internal and external servers for printing and then to ship to customers.

We moved hundreds of windows based scheduled job to JAMS and eliminated some manual intervention by integrating jobs in a workflow. That freed up some man hours which can now be used somewhere else.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One word, exceptional scheduling tool.

JAMS support is amazing. There's always someone available to answer your question and if need be for Gotomeeting or webex. You can bet all your money on their tech support team.


    Computer Software

A great universal scheduler

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can have all sorts of things scheduled in one place. SQL, SSIS, Powershell, etc.
What do you dislike?
I find the interface a little clunky, but it's getting better and I'm used to it now.

I wish their website had a more robust user community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're able to keep all our scheduled tasks for our company in one location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Their support is amazing, take advantage of it when starting out. They'll give you lots of great ideas.


    Joey B.

Excellent support given by Gennaro Piccolo of JAMS Support

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Prompt reply and advise given by Gennaro Piccolo within 10 minutes of posting my request/inquiry
What do you dislike?
None, only positive feedback as far as I am concerned
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am just checking if there will be issues in installing/activating Carbon Black Protect on JAMS servers. Viva Energy is currently whitelisting all currently installed applications on each system and are asking application vendors to provide any information regarding exceptions that may be required.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best job scheduler I have used even better than Control-M because it caters for the use of PowerShell, SSIS, JDE, SAP, etc.


    Alex T.

Moving to JAMS from AUTOSYS a no brainer

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Enables self service , many features for the price
What do you dislike?
I dislike the fact that there is no underlying Job Definition Language.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compared to other schedulers, more easily adopted and use across the business, very easy to install, upgrade, delivery and secure. Upgrades included high value features like v7's web interface.


    Financial Services

JAMS Review

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of complete automation using underlying coding for any module that you need to create. Plus the workflows are pretty cool if you're not a coder. Also, if you are a coder, you can automate almost anything. Gennaro at MVP is a stellar employee and always ready to help.
What do you dislike?
It is pretty heavy IO based, so it can take some time loading.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installing the new v7 app along with the v6 app. Having an errorpop-up when I login to v6 app.


    Dona B.

Gennaro didn't stop until we solved the SQL Server SSIS job error!

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All the jobs will be in one place when we finish. And tech support is all important, and you've nailed it. The error I had was very strange, and required SQL Server permissions as well as running the command in the command line to debug. I am confident that if we have this response when it is still in test, I have no qualms about if we have a Production job issue.
What do you dislike?
I've found nothing to dislike so far. Your tech support is very responsive and thorough. They don't stop until there is a resolution. And I was skeptical to trust they would help, but the response was really good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
How to schedule SQL Server SSIS jobs already created in SQL Server - run them on a central terminal server for JAMS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the tips, but rest assured, tech support will help you with any errors. No matter how odd.


    Tommy J.

GREAT support

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is a good product. It has all the bells and whistles. The support is outstanding and it is clear that they are very customer focused.
What do you dislike?
During a recent supports session (the support was excellent) it became clear that passwords are sometimes stored in cleartext in settings files. That's very problematic. The setup process for connecting to an existing SQL instance is very bad. We made it through it because of the excellent support, but it should be more straightforward. For example, when creating a JAMS database on an existing SQL instance, it asks for the path for the data and log files. While a little more careful reading would have made it clear to us that it wanted that info to create the database on the server - it shouldn't have asked that in the first place. IMO it should have created the database in the default for that SQL instance. That's not something a person installing JAMS should have to know.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are centralizing our SQL jobs and in the future other jobs - a single pane of glass to see all of our enterprise jobs. We look forward to the more complete and concise monitoring and management this offers.


    Insurance

JAMS Job Scheduler Review

  • October 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jobs management with batch queues and Agents
What do you dislike?
The windows in which we have to set properties are too small.
The application is not intuitive.
To be able to bulk modify jobs we have created multiple PowerShell scripts - the option should be provided in the application itself.
Failure action cannot set easily. Sometimes we feel that to create a new job, or modify one job the application is good. But, it is not good to migrate jobs in bulk because not all properties from the servers are getting migrated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We do not have to use jobs servers or DB servers to host and run jobs.
Easy maintenance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None


    Financial Services

Great job scheduler with fantastic support

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is user friendly, easy to use, yet robust enough to get any job done. Their support team is one of the best I have worked with, with fast responses and a knowledgeable team.
What do you dislike?
Knowledge base could be updated more frequently and provide more examples.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize JAMS for our entire batch process. This includes transmitting files to loading database tables.


    Higher Education

JAMS, the seemingly complicated but very thorough job scheduler with amazing support.

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to schedule Banner Jobs directly from JAMS is amazing. I also love their support! They are always thorough, quick to respond, and very helpful.
What do you dislike?
Honestly the only negative thing I have to say about JAMS is some of the complicated procedures and dated documentation. We have also encountered a couple of bugs when copying over sequences.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to allow users to run/control banner-related jobs instead of having IT handle it.