Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.1.579

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.05.13 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

75 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pete C.

Very versatile scheduler

  • March 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How the system can be customised to run almost any batch process.
Technical support is excellent.
What do you dislike?
The initial release of JAMS 7 was a bit buggy, but now desperately trying to schedule an upgrade to get the new features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralised logging and management of all batch processing.


    Computer Software

JAMS Scheduling Server -The most efficient way to schedule Batch jobs

  • March 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about this tool is the easy to use interface that it offers. It is so easy to understand usability and functionality.
It also offers the Dashboard and analytics feature which help us in continuous improvement and reporting
What do you dislike?
The application has to be installed on Machine
it will be much better if it is a web-based application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Batch Automation
Error Reporting

Benefits:
Reporting
Monitoring


    Information Technology and Services

JAMS is the best job scheduling software for complex batch process and scheduling

  • March 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Technical assistance, JAMS support staff always responds promptly. Easy to customize Jobs to meet business requirements. Easy to deal with complex job dependencies and scheduling different ways. Allows custom execution methods. Secured File Transfer setup is easy to transfer files to third parties. Alerts and Email notifications setup is easy in JAMS.
What do you dislike?
There isn’t much that I dislike in JAMS but there are few pain points. Current we use JAMS v6, maybe version 7 has more improvements.
In the Jobs import process, editing the exported XML file is a bit time taking procedure in tracing all the necessary changes and all dependencies. I feel there should be an internal mechanism in the import process to trace all dependencies in the order and create those dependency jobs first and then go in the order.
Sometimes we need to delete the jobs in bulk in our testing, here jobs bulk delete from folder feature is helpful if JAMS has the one,
In certain cases JAMS doesn't have the ability to capture Job exception details unless customized with PowerShell exception handling.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Earlier in our batch process Jobs Predecessors and Successors scenarios was challenging, with JAMS we could make it simple using Job dependencies feature.
Scheduling issues solved with JAMS auto-scheduling features.
Before JAMS customizing was complex to execute SQL scripts and file transfers, now with JAMS customization become easy with PowerShell scripts and custom execution methods.
Before JAMS, proper alerts and Email notification system was lacking in our Batch process. Now alerts and email notifications setup is very simple in JAMS and these features allow support resource act quick for any night batch issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
JAMS Enterprise Job Scheduler has detailed documentation. JAMS support staff are nice and helpful. So, no worries to try for new features in JAMS or for any customization, I believe you always get adequate support from JAMS staff.


    Insurance

JAMS has made my life easier!

  • February 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has allowed me to centralize many of the automated tasks that were previously distributed among multiple other scheduling tools.
What do you dislike?
There's nothing that I can really think of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized management, better dependencies, built in documentation, easy of use, scalability, and the ability for customization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download the trial version of the software and explore all functionality. By the time you've experienced everything that it has to offer, your search for the ultimate scheduling tool will be over. It's a great product!


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Needed an Enterprise Scheduler for better control.

  • February 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
On top of the software being able to control the many job dependencies we have, the response time of their support staff has been truly amazing when entering support tickets.
What do you dislike?
Took a bit to fine tune the amount of history records we wanted to keep per job but once we engaged the support team they helped point us in the right direction.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to control dependencies between different jobs, processes and platforms. This has allowed us to save a good deal of manual work time when an error would occur.


    Nick G.

Automating Enterprise Tasks with Jams

  • February 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jams provides a number of features that make it very flexible and able to meet a number of our needs. The features that we take advantage of are the multiple job types, scheduling, and extensability. In my organization it is important provide end users flexibility with the technologies that they can use and customize. Jams allows us to meet these requirements and allow our users to use their preferred technology. Additionally, we're able to create customizations that further extend Jams capabilities and give our teams exactly what they need.
What do you dislike?
While there isn't a whole lot that I dislike about Jams Job Scheduler, there are a couple of pain points we've had to deal with. Deploying customizations to multiple servers can be a bit of a headache, due to the time it takes to get setup for the first time. However, when deployed using an automated process, this is only a temporary discomfort. Additionally, I have had trouble with the online documentation not being up to date with the latest version. Although, that problem was remedied quickly by the Jams staff.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem that we solve with Jams are automated scheduling. In our environment we rely on a service oriented architecture, and want a system that is easy to modify how tasks are triggered. Jams provides this additional outer layer enabling us to customize how tasks our carried out in our environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jams has excellent documentation and very helpful support staff, so I wouldn't hesitate to dive in and tackle any automation task.


    Timothy K.

You can Depend on JAMS to make your work easier

  • February 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS simple to use interface and functionality with JDE made it easy to implement and use. The dependencies on jobs and groups of jobs (setups) allows for the most efficient use of system time. Grouping jobs together as a setup allows flexibility to make changes very quickly for entire groups of jobs at one time. The projected schedule gives great visibility. Having windows scripts, FTP, and JDE in one place makes for easier system monitoring. Lastly, alerts give you the exception handling that is required to handle issues when they arise, without it propagating an issue.
What do you dislike?
I honestly have no dislikes of this toolset or the people that I have reached out to for help with any questions. JAMS has been one of the BEST solutions that we have put in place. It's positive effect on the Business Applications department has been fabulous.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have decreased the time to perform system activity and improved the ability to react to issues if and when they arise. When a temporary or permanent change in schedule has arisen, the time to accommodate has been small and simple. Condensing system time for batched activities has opened up additional time for other IT system activities.


    Natasha F.

Fast Service

  • February 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great support team, Fast responses, friendly staff
What do you dislike?
I am still learning how to use this so i do not have any dislikes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of import, great support, great documentation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Thorough testing


    Sam H.

Wonderful product and support

  • February 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The support to allow our teams to explore new automated jobs.
What do you dislike?
Keeping jobs in sync between different environments was a home grown deployment method
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Consolidated multiple tools to one job scheduler with more opportunities to move our company forward


    Higher Education

JAMS--it just works

  • February 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Smoothly handles impersonation; allows for powershell, old style batch, and other Windows scripting languages; has cli for job manipulation; provides alerts on job failure. Scheduler supports node failover and queue mechanism can support failover in the event of an agent/worker node failure.
What do you dislike?
lacks a panic button (stop all work immediately); licenses per agent so it would be expensive as a compute farm grid management tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When we migrated from an OpenVMS cluster to a Windows domain JAMS allowed us to schedule across both systems during the transition, and under Windows to support complex job dependencies. Continues to allow us to run many maintenance tasks with minimal operator/programmer supervision. Complements the system health monitor--JAMS can run jobs to check on the health of the monitor, and vice-versa.