Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Couchbase- Distributed NoSQL document database software

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

92 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

Pretty fast and easy to learn

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Service layer separation, easy to start, simple administration.
What do you dislike?
Support engagement and their knowledge needs some improvements
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Multiple layer of process in developing using traditional RDBMs.


    Dzmitry N.

It's a good DB engine with high performance.

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* read and write data performance;
* data JSON format;
* easy N1QL query language;
* replication provides great data resiliency;
* user-friendly interface.
What do you dislike?
* Couchbase is self-hosted, and as such, it required internal DevOps resources to maintain;
* Couchbase can not be used without proper knowledge and practice, so new users have to learn first;
* Couchbase has less community support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* performance of the pages loads;
* variant of the data cache.


    Sakthivel S.

Using couchbase in e-commerce inventory management system

  • July 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I used couchbase to store and retrieve inventory related data for an e-commerce website.

Couchbase provides a robust SDK for multi platform integration. All we did was to build a wrapper layer around it and integrated with our inventory API. Ease of use and solid documentation played a vital part in the success of the integration.

I also liked their dashboard where a lot of server health related metrics were updated in realtime. I also liked the ability to search and view the stored documents from the dashboard.
What do you dislike?
Documents search feature can be improved like adding advanced search options which can improve the entire search user experience
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used couchbase to improve the overall user experience in the e-commerce website by maintaining inventory data. Couchbase was much faster and was able to handle a lot of load than a traditional relational SQL database which was a huge benefit.


    AMIT P.

Efficient, easy to use and well documented

  • June 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's pretty fast, indexing and all can be done with just one line and it makes the queries execute 100 times faster. And the best thing I find is the documentation, many times I come across a new usecase and am unable to implement then I look for that in the documentation and find all the answers to all the usecase I had.

Couchbase UI is also very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Not dislike but one improvement I would suggest is -
Give a builtin mechanism to handle concurrent updates to a document in db.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on a usecase where millions of records will be saved in db and they need to be fetched many times and filter them based on some inner field or a value inside an array. Couchbase gives solution to this in the form of "unnest".
And with proper indexing queries works pretty fast too.


    Gaurav P.

Review

  • June 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cost effective, and easy to setup and host your services
What do you dislike?
No tutorial or less community support available
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I hosted microservices to reduce latancy and increase performance


    Information Technology and Services

Couchbase Server has a user friendly UI and all it needs is a basic knowledge of SQL query.

  • June 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I loved Couchbase because :
1. We can query it using SQL queries.
2. Monitoring is quite easy as we have Dashboard which and Statistics section which gives a good knowledge of the CPU utilisation.
3. Query monitor is another great tool which tells which query is faking most of the CPU time.Hence developer can use this tool to know which query is problematic and focus on fixing the same.
4. Index creation is easy and simple. We have Indexes , where we can view all the created indexes. We can also use Statistics section to know which Index is getting used and which is not.
5. The Bucket section provides all necessary information like which bucket has how many documents.
6. Statistics/Server section is very helpful as it can gives us the insight of how many ops/sec a bucket is receiving.
7. Now we have Query Advisor , which gives advise us on what index is more appropriate for a query. This saves a lot of CPU memory.
8. Document insertion , deletion and updation is easy as we have UI for it.
9. Query execution section provides all information for monitoring like query execution time, indexes used , document affected etc.
What do you dislike?
1. We cannot create more than 10 buckets.
2. If there is no Index created on a bucket, the queries on bucket would return empty response rather than user friendly messages describing root cause.
3. Buckets having huge documents takes time to query and usually times out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We uses Couchbase for storing huge amount of data undergoing frequent updates ans Couchbase turned out to be really amazing for this purpose.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Couchbase Server when you are looking for a NoSql database that can easily integrate with programming languages like for example Java.


    Broadcast Media

Couchbase is good for caching

  • June 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI which I feel is a cherry on cake. It gives a nice view and couchbase becomes easy to use. The sdk also is easy to use and integrate.
What do you dislike?
It is slow when we talk about performance compared to peers. The UI is also slow while loading pages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for caching the data. Millions of records and it did pretty well. The retrieval latency was good. We used couchbase because we already had a license for some othrr use cases. And it was really good choice.


    Omprakash D.

Crud operations are very simple and we couchbase is having sub-document api also.

  • June 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Curd operations are simple and also Sub-document api is good one.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike side. But it would we better if we have some better gui for index creation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using mostly to storing data documents and I feel it is very good nosql db.


    Paras A.

Right choice as a cloud database provider

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Highly available
- Easy to integrate
- Low read and write time compared to other cloud databases
What do you dislike?
- Bad GUI
- Ability to find options on UI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using this as a data store for website with servers with no data storage
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, It is highly recommended as it provides good read and write speed. Also it is handy when it comes to integration with your code


    Kumar S.

Best NoSQL Document base DB

  • June 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's user friends usage and integrated to multiple languages and handle all DB complexity through internally and the user should focus only on business logic.
What do you dislike?
It sometimes intermittently fail the CRUD operation and hide the exact reason of failure. Exception handling and logging should be imprioved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data modeling is easy, and storing data is super easy once understood how it internally reserves data. Also it's data accessibility & high availability and zero downtime were some of key features which were most crucial non-functional requirement client always look for a NoSQL DB.