Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Enterprise Linux 6.7 supported by Navisite

Navisite | v2.0.0

Linux/Unix, Other 6.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

121 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wilmer J.

Oracle Enterprise Linux for Oracle Products

  • April 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The first that I was thinking when I get of Oracle Enterprise Linux(OEL) is cheaper than others enterprise operating systems, second is that is Oracle products friendly, I used the first version of OEL and my good impression was/are:

1. Kernel with support ASM native, it's not necessary to determine versioning ASM kernel, the repositories automatically download required versions, without dealing with license acceptance.
2. Oracle DB Prerequisites is easy install with only download a packages: oracle-rdbms-server-VERSION-preinstall, it automatically downloading and installing any additional software packages, creating the user oracle and the groups oinstall, modifying kernel parameters in /etc/sysctl.conf, power off NUMA support on systems, etc, this could take hours on other operating systems.
3. Basically, OEL is tuning for optimal performance of the database MySQL and Oracle Database v11/v12.
4. And not more important, patches of Oracle Database products are released on OEL first.
What do you dislike?
IMHO (and professional), OEL is optimized for Oracle Products: Oracle Weblogic, Oracle DB, Oracle MySQL, Oracle Primavera, etc, but if my business don't need other Oracle products, so, I should analyze and using other distributions.

Recommendations to others considering the product
If you used an Oracle Product on you IT Business company, have more sense used OEL as your operating System, at least for running the databases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast deployment of multiple Databases on client IT Bussiness, misconfigurations can put your data at risk, spend time and effort, OEL is faster to automated database deployments with Oracle Real Application Clusters(RAC) and PUPPET, it has helped me save a lot of time and effort.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Most focus for development Open Source and management tools


    Bruce E.

A robust distro for Oracle database users

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle Linux is a streamlined Linux distro without too much bloatware and is fairly fast. It has some robust features for setting up web servers, supports Oracle products, and offers kernel level security updates without requiring a reboot. Oracle offers very good technical support with a service contract. It also works with OpenStack technology. Users of Red Hat Enterprise Linux will find the OS almost identical.
What do you dislike?
Oracle Linux is not the best Linux distro for working with some third party applications. It also is fairly plain and lacks some of the "extras" found in other versions of Linux. Like other Linux systems, it can be challenging to configure, especially from the back end when compared to comparable server OS systems from Microsoft. In many ways Oracle Linux is a clone or copy of Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a basic enterprise level OS, the Linux distro has been a great use for basic networking needs without the higher costs of a Windows Server OS. Its similarity to Red Hat Linux is also an added plus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Would be buyers may want to look at Red Hat Enterprise Linux instead. It offers the same features and greater levels of compatibility with other applications.


    Joseph Y.

Perfect for task automatization

  • February 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I loved how simple is it. if you compare it to other Linux Distros(more popular such as Ubuntu, linux Mint, etc), it is much lightweight.
It is easy to use, and really makes it simple to develop on Oracle Products.
What do you dislike?
I do not like how the GUI seems to be a lot OLD. I understand the point of the OS, it is to make you productive, yet I believe a beautiful Graphic User Interface wouldn't come bad.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a Software Engineer, I was preparing for the Oracle certifications, and they recommended me to get this Linux Distro. I'm not aware of many technical things about this OS, but it came very handy during the practice process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not download it if it's not for an Oracle reason. I only used it for the certifications and to make some software using Oracle's APIs.


    Jose E.

My experience with Oracle Linux

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really enjoyed the simplicity. When you use other kind of OS like Windows or Mac, you are most likely full of bloatware. Oracle Linux provides you just what you need, and the tools to make your computer a great workspace.
What do you dislike?
You're always gonna feel like this OS was built for Oracle products, I dislike the GUI(feels antiquated).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a Web and Software Developer, a Linux system is a must. So far Oracle Linux has been performing great.
I need to have full control of my machine when debugging Software, and Oracle Linux does that right. I feel secure due to the stability of this Operative System.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a Linux operating system only for entertainment or for personal use, then go for another Operating System.
But, if you're looking for an OS focused on productivity, on an IT-Business company, then this is for you.


    M. Serhat D.

Power of Linux with Support from Oracle

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle Linux is an enterprise level distro with support of Oracle behind. The power of Oracle Linux comes from popular Oracle software stack including databases, management tools and middleware. Stability, zero-down time updates, global commercial support and GNOME interface are the best features about Oracle Linux.
What do you dislike?
Oracle Linux seems to be focused for Oracle products. Limited support and restrictions for 3rd party applications is an obstacle. When I compare Redhat and Oracle Linux, Redhat seems to be more versatile to me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux is a stable operating system designed for critical operations. We have been using Oracle Linux for last 2 years for our payment operations which requires zero downtime. Oracle Linux is also a well supported operating system, Oracle team is always ready to help when things go wrong.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not try to deal with critical operations alone, get an enterprise Linux distro and benefit from expert experiences. Oracle Linux is a big family with many members, trainings, conferences and certifications. Being a part of a big family saves a lot time for you with their endless support.


    Arvind K.

Linux User

  • December 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its a great operating system i like most.. in speed wise and performance wise too
What do you dislike?
I do not have any negative points as i find this operating system the best. I would personally suggest others and my clients to go for this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It should be fully secured, not allowing any intruders to hack our system. I think security wise I felt its really very good.


    Yucheng L.

use it for production

  • September 17, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
perform well, like other linux systems.
What do you dislike?
hard to diagnose crashes. not enough dump info.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
standardize servers for oracle dbs


    Information Technology and Services

So far so good

  • July 23, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It based on Red Hat Linux. So not much difference. It has all the features of Red Hat Linux. Some features are suppressed and some new features.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much. Can do whatever Red Hat Linux can do.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux hosts the OBIEE software. It was given to us by Oracle when we got Exalytics and Exadata machines
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not bad


    Satish S.

unparalleled support of Oracle team makes it possible.

  • June 26, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I feel Oracle Linux almost equal to Red Hat Enterprise Linux with regard to features and installation procedures. But with the support we receive from Oracle it surpasses Red Hat and I really appreciate Oracle team for that.
What do you dislike?
Oracle team didn't do much development other than introducing some debugging and trouble shooting in ream time. This catches the eyes of the experienced users, that what could be the use to switch to Oracle Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Like I mentioned some debugging and troubleshooting the issues in real time. The support we receive from the team is unparalleled.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
you can try it. You will like for sure.


    Ahmed S.

The right operating system for Oracle Software

  • August 31, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I'm running Oracle Linux for a while now and It is very stable and reliable and you can rely on because the company makes it for Oracle. It is smooth to work with and very easy.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to say
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended. Try it. :)