Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 15.4.1 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

626 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Design

The greatness of gitlab

  • January 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to contribute to a project. I can do many features in browser without having to use the command line. Merge requests are very simple and I like the email updates when a pipeline succeeds/fails.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes my pipelines will fail for no apparent reason, it might be a server timeout of some sort but I am never told why. I also dislike how slow gitlab can be at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Currently using it while working on a distributed team. It is very easy to understand and having roles makes it more organized. Albeit, it doesn't tell me I'm not allowed to make merge requests unless I'm admin; I had to search for user privileges.


    User in Computer Software

The best online git experience I have had.

  • January 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The available suite of tools is extraordinary. Though github has taken all the hype, the fact that I can host any type of repository free of charge is absolutely fantastic. GitLab leaves nothing to be desired and is the only place I now use for online repo.
What do you dislike?
The user interface and management can be a little clunky in certain areas. For example, the way the sidebar changes on context makes it hard to know where I am. I would like to see some polish in this area.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being an independent developer, cost and accessibility are huge issues for me. being able to share a project with a customer and allow them to participate in the wiki and the development process has changed the way I do business. It also allows me to collaborate with colleagues on a per project basis very easily when I need extra help. It has solved my cost issues for my needs by being free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I was hired as a contractor to evaluate the current cost climate and flexibility of repository services. Because they offer additional services including on-premise services, gitlab allows you to grow in any direction you need. This has been by far the best transition I have made for myself, and it was the choice made by the company that hired me to evaluate current offerings. I can't recommend it enough.


    Ernest O.

Awesome product

  • January 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Gitlab CI, continous integration that comes out of the box with Gitlab. It has runners for docker meaning you can test and build virtually any codebase just by setting up a gitlab configuration.
What do you dislike?
Nothing comes to mind immediately. Plus, it's an opensource project, anything I find that I dislike can be a PR.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab has helped us adopt continous integration practices and deliver features faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Gitlab is really cost effective for teams, compared to competitors like Github. Github charges a monthly fee per user for private organisations. With gitlab on the other hand, all you need to do is deploy an instance and you have as many developers as your infrastructure can allow.


    Sebastian I.

I recently made the switch from GitHub to GitLab - couldn't be happier

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is great because of their focus on development teams, rather than individual developers. I was originally using GitHub, which is great for personal projects and small code repositories, but it wasn't quite working for the needs of my business. GitLab has great features that made working with a team much more appealing: free private repositories, self-hosted GitLab management, and team management. GitLab also has an awesome activity report that shows very detailed information about exactly what each team member has been doing. This comes in handy when something goes wrong and we need some transparency and accountability.
What do you dislike?
When I was first researching GitLab and creating my account, the user interface of the site seemed a little bit confusing. It took me a while to figure out the difference from their remote and locally hosted services. It was also a bit confusing figuring out how to create and properly manage my team.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GitLab is great for enterprise level repository management. They allow you to create different teams, manage permissions, and create private repositories all with their free plan. I recently used GitLab to integrate version control and a staging environment into my development process where I work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setting up your repository and team management takes a bit of time, but once it's all set up, the workflow is so nice and smooth.


    David L.

The best Git server solution around

  • January 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has done an amazing job of building an all-inclusive version control system that integrates many of the tools that we use with Git like CI and chat.
What do you dislike?
The UI for GitLab's web application isn't super great. Navigation is a little odd and it's hard to get to things like starting a new repository.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a Git server to host all of the code we write for clients. GitLab has offered limitless platform for hosting that code as well as a CI platform for ensuring the highest quality of our projects.


    Management Consulting

Robust enterprise ALM system

  • December 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Easy to setup using Docker - single docker-compose configuration file, run it and you're done.
* Single-sign-on Integration with LDAP providers such as Active Directory (an enterprise feature available even in the Community Edition!)
* It's no-nonsense continuous integration -- conceptually rock-solid with CI definitions maintained as part of the project's codebase; Multiplatform drop-in single-file CI runners\agents;
* Integration with a number of enterprise applications, notably Slack (and Mattermost) chat servers.
* Version updates religiously released on the 22nd of every month.
* Sensible issue tracking with optional Kanban boards.
What do you dislike?
It is really hard for me to dislike anything about GitLab, especially as I am coming from a place where Microsoft TFS has traditionally been the choice for ALM.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our team is developing a microservices platform for developing containerized composite applications. GitLab's open-source distributed asynchronous programming model fits perfectly with the our development workflows.


    Duarte A.

The best way of having VCS on your Company

  • November 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab makes it easy to create a private platform for manage your company projects and have a lot of features present on public Version Control Sites like GitHub and Bitbucket - Wiki, Issues, Team Management.
What do you dislike?
GitLab is kind of hard to integrate with Soucetree, and you can simply access to your company repositories directly from the app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With GitLab, we are trying to simplify the access to projects for users using macOS or Windows platforms, and provide a simpler way of practicing Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment.


    Jeremy H.

Excellent on premises GIT server

  • November 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has a very modern interface, similar to GitHub. Installation is also very easy, and can setup with Active Directory.
What do you dislike?
I had issues integrating with Active directory when we were bought out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed a place to store projects throughout our company, I knew we wanted a GIT server that was easy to use and setup, this helped fill that gap.


    Computer Software

Best free git repository management

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is amazing. the most significant features are:
- Unbelievable user interface
- Can create private repository
- is FREE!
- Easy to create merge request and migrate repositorys
- Excellent handling permissions for projects and branches
- The most important feature. i can create mine git repository server
- 3rd party apps can be easily integrated. (trello, slack, etc)
What do you dislike?
I have nothing to dislike. Gitlab have all i need for my job
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All developers should use GitHub allows us to have private repositories among other fascinating features. If have a company, You can create your git server and can save a lot of money .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Slack and Trello for major control of your projects and integrate them with GitLab


    Andrew M.

More Features Than GitHub, Yet Completely Free

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is an entire suite-- what started out as a Git project website has turned into a full CI/CD and source management platform. By having everything in one place, you can not only push your source code, but test it, manage bugs and documentation, and test and deploy it with a CI/CD pipeline.

The best part is, it's open source so you can run it on your own servers, or you can use the GitLab.com service completely free for private repositories.
What do you dislike?
The interface has become a little cluttered. Unlike GitHub, which is quite simplistic and well designed, GitLab can be kind of confusing to navigate. Add that to the fact that they change the UI every once in a while, and for newcomers it can be quite daunting.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source code management historically has either been expensive (GitHub) or lacking in features (BitBucket). GitLab has solved this, not only with its own platform, but by introducing competition that has forced GitHub to change their pricing to better compete.