Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 17.0.2 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

10 AWS reviews

External reviews

810 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Diogo R.

Open Source Github

  • July 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Gitlab is an online or on-premisses github alternative with some unique features and a continuously evolving software. It has monthly release cycle, which means that every month you get new features. If you have the opportunity to use it locally, you're able to make it public or private (just for your collaborators). You can control individual, group and project permissions. You can also have public and private projects. Most of the features you might be used to on Github are available on Gitlab.

With the somewhat recent integration with Gitlab CI, you can automate tests and deployments to staging or production.
What do you dislike about the product?
Gitlab has some unique features, but some are restricted to the Enterprise Edition, which can quickly get expensive for a small team of 3 or 4 developers.

Gitlab uses Ruby on Rails so it needs a comfortable amount of hardware resources or it will feel slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing software even on a small group of developers can get messy without a proper version control system. Gitlab allows you to create projects and groups of developers, assign permissions (even for external users like clients which could just look at the issue tracker), protect code branches, enforce peer review.

Also, with some effort you can enable a Continuous Deployment environment.


    Internet

Gitlab is great

  • July 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fine grained access control. Easy to use inferface.
What do you dislike about the product?
Git implementation can be buggy with large repos
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source control, code sharing.


    Loris T.

A good open source system, nice for open source projects

  • July 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's a good thing that the software itself is open source (with the Community Edition). This means that you can use GitLab on their servers or, if you prefer, have it installed on your premises. Of course, you can have both ;-)
What do you dislike about the product?
The web interface is available in eight languages only. This prevents the use by people that are not fluent in one of those.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am involved in a couple of projects set up by the local Linux User Group. We are managing the projects with GitLab.


    Shahram J.

A nice online VCS

  • June 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
You can host your private project there. Continuous integration (CI) is also available. It can send the build job on your local machine which was at that time great for me.
What do you dislike about the product?
No sign-in with a linkedin account is possible.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a central location to share the source code of a web service of mine with some business partners oversees. GitHub was no choice, as I would not publish the source code to the world, but only to targeted audience. The build system could


    Information Technology and Services

Best version control online service

  • June 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The continuous integration feature like pipeline and docker registry. High transparency on what's going on during service downtime. Many integration with other services are allowed so user could just pick whatever they needed.
What do you dislike about the product?
The user interface could be improved. Sometimes it takes too many click in order to reach a specific page. The loading speed also has a room of improvement..
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
No related to business.


    Dimas B.

GitLab Awesome

  • June 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I migrated to Git from Subversion, I haven't looked back since. My primary reason for choosing GitLab was the offer of free private repos (I like to try before I buy). Being able to have real production projects while actually testing out GitLab basically sealed the deal. Despite Github getting all the attention, GitLab pretty much offers everything Github does. My team primarily uses GitLab, private repos and issues tracking. Additionally the platform is constantly being improved. GitLab is definitely worth taking a look at.
What do you dislike about the product?
GitLab needs to improve their social coding features and feel. Github still wins out in this area. I have no doubt that GitLab is very close here.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business wise we moved from Subversion to Git, we use GitLab because it offers free private repos and everything is managed in the cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very inexpensive to get started. For business you can immediately start trying GitLab out with their free private repos.


    Nicolas C.

Version Control done right!

  • June 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab is based on Git, a powerful Version Control System tool. It allows to exploit the maximum of file modification history. Gitlab offers great visualisation tools: commit trees, fancy charts... It simplifies communication: you can comment almost everything (commits, files, even line numbers). It also has a neat merge-request features, with code reviewing system.
What do you dislike about the product?
I think GitLab is ugly, it's UI forces users to click a lot, either to access features, or to explore the project files.
Also, you cannot add several collaborators as reviewers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In my job, we use GitLab to communicate on commits: we can send links to a specific line in a file, comment on code... We are also supposed to use it for code reviewing but my coworkers don't seem to be motivated for that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you know what you are doing with Git. You can lose everything really easily!


    Simon L.

Best self hosted web-based git repository manager

  • June 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Besides, being a fully functional Git repository, Gitlab integrates well with CI/CD. We currently are using the free version and cover most of our needs. The Omnibus package made Gitlab easy to install, update, and maintain. LDAP was a huge plus for our corporate integration.
What do you dislike about the product?
The UI/UX looks poor and cheap, sometimes buggy and not very user friendly.
Many functionalities are not production ready, such as artifacts archiving,
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Best free on-premise solution available. All in one solution. Git Repository + Issue Tracker + CI/CD + Many supported integrations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a fully functional CI/CD for Test and maybe QA Environment. But I won't recommend it for production yet.


    Roberto T.

Good Source Control

  • May 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The software is free and it has free private repository.
What do you dislike about the product?
The UI can improve, I found it not very clear.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Git Repository for small/medium project


    Sacha B.

Great free self-hosted git repository

  • May 09, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's free if you host it yourself. For private projects, it has all the features I love from GitHub, but not the cost of hosting private projects on GitHub.
What do you dislike about the product?
A better system of automatically upgrading would be nice, to keep it on the latest version at all times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's nice central repository for all our projects, complete with a web interface similar to GitHub.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to deploy a test GitLab setup on Digital Ocean in just a few minutes and it's a very inexpensive way to evaluate the software.