Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 16.9.1 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

10 AWS reviews

External reviews

791 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ernest O.

Awesome product

  • January 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like Gitlab CI, continous integration that comes out of the box with Gitlab. It has runners for docker meaning you can test and build virtually any codebase just by setting up a gitlab configuration.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing comes to mind immediately. Plus, it's an opensource project, anything I find that I dislike can be a PR.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab has helped us adopt continous integration practices and deliver features faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Gitlab is really cost effective for teams, compared to competitors like Github. Github charges a monthly fee per user for private organisations. With gitlab on the other hand, all you need to do is deploy an instance and you have as many developers as your infrastructure can allow.


    Sebastian I.

I recently made the switch from GitHub to GitLab - couldn't be happier

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab is great because of their focus on development teams, rather than individual developers. I was originally using GitHub, which is great for personal projects and small code repositories, but it wasn't quite working for the needs of my business. GitLab has great features that made working with a team much more appealing: free private repositories, self-hosted GitLab management, and team management. GitLab also has an awesome activity report that shows very detailed information about exactly what each team member has been doing. This comes in handy when something goes wrong and we need some transparency and accountability.
What do you dislike about the product?
When I was first researching GitLab and creating my account, the user interface of the site seemed a little bit confusing. It took me a while to figure out the difference from their remote and locally hosted services. It was also a bit confusing figuring out how to create and properly manage my team.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GitLab is great for enterprise level repository management. They allow you to create different teams, manage permissions, and create private repositories all with their free plan. I recently used GitLab to integrate version control and a staging environment into my development process where I work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setting up your repository and team management takes a bit of time, but once it's all set up, the workflow is so nice and smooth.


    David L.

The best Git server solution around

  • January 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab has done an amazing job of building an all-inclusive version control system that integrates many of the tools that we use with Git like CI and chat.
What do you dislike about the product?
The UI for GitLab's web application isn't super great. Navigation is a little odd and it's hard to get to things like starting a new repository.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a Git server to host all of the code we write for clients. GitLab has offered limitless platform for hosting that code as well as a CI platform for ensuring the highest quality of our projects.


    Management Consulting

Robust enterprise ALM system

  • December 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
* Easy to setup using Docker - single docker-compose configuration file, run it and you're done.
* Single-sign-on Integration with LDAP providers such as Active Directory (an enterprise feature available even in the Community Edition!)
* It's no-nonsense continuous integration -- conceptually rock-solid with CI definitions maintained as part of the project's codebase; Multiplatform drop-in single-file CI runners\agents;
* Integration with a number of enterprise applications, notably Slack (and Mattermost) chat servers.
* Version updates religiously released on the 22nd of every month.
* Sensible issue tracking with optional Kanban boards.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is really hard for me to dislike anything about GitLab, especially as I am coming from a place where Microsoft TFS has traditionally been the choice for ALM.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our team is developing a microservices platform for developing containerized composite applications. GitLab's open-source distributed asynchronous programming model fits perfectly with the our development workflows.


    Duarte A.

The best way of having VCS on your Company

  • November 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab makes it easy to create a private platform for manage your company projects and have a lot of features present on public Version Control Sites like GitHub and Bitbucket - Wiki, Issues, Team Management.
What do you dislike about the product?
GitLab is kind of hard to integrate with Soucetree, and you can simply access to your company repositories directly from the app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With GitLab, we are trying to simplify the access to projects for users using macOS or Windows platforms, and provide a simpler way of practicing Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment.


    Jeremy H.

Excellent on premises GIT server

  • October 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It has a very modern interface, similar to GitHub. Installation is also very easy, and can setup with Active Directory.
What do you dislike about the product?
I had issues integrating with Active directory when we were bought out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed a place to store projects throughout our company, I knew we wanted a GIT server that was easy to use and setup, this helped fill that gap.


    Computer Software

Best free git repository management

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab is amazing. the most significant features are:
- Unbelievable user interface
- Can create private repository
- is FREE!
- Easy to create merge request and migrate repositorys
- Excellent handling permissions for projects and branches
- The most important feature. i can create mine git repository server
- 3rd party apps can be easily integrated. (trello, slack, etc)
What do you dislike about the product?
I have nothing to dislike. Gitlab have all i need for my job
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All developers should use GitHub allows us to have private repositories among other fascinating features. If have a company, You can create your git server and can save a lot of money .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Slack and Trello for major control of your projects and integrate them with GitLab


    Andrew M.

More Features Than GitHub, Yet Completely Free

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab is an entire suite-- what started out as a Git project website has turned into a full CI/CD and source management platform. By having everything in one place, you can not only push your source code, but test it, manage bugs and documentation, and test and deploy it with a CI/CD pipeline.

The best part is, it's open source so you can run it on your own servers, or you can use the GitLab.com service completely free for private repositories.
What do you dislike about the product?
The interface has become a little cluttered. Unlike GitHub, which is quite simplistic and well designed, GitLab can be kind of confusing to navigate. Add that to the fact that they change the UI every once in a while, and for newcomers it can be quite daunting.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source code management historically has either been expensive (GitHub) or lacking in features (BitBucket). GitLab has solved this, not only with its own platform, but by introducing competition that has forced GitHub to change their pricing to better compete.


    Евгений .

Excellent product from the people who love what they do!

  • September 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
A lot of features from the box! All you need to manage your source code are in GitLab.
They also have added features for collaboration with colleagues and oh god container Register!
Awesome product!
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing! Actually nothing! Even if I had a question or problem or feature request the team respond in about a day.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Git repositories for my personal projects.
Git repository and issue tracker for medium company.
It solves a lot of tasks!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the public installation on https://gitlab.com/ and install selfhosted after that.


    John B.

I host my code with GitLab.com and have in the past run CE on private servers.

  • September 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love that, in addition to being a free version control hosting option, they're a free and open source software community. I also love that gitlab.com offers unlimited free private repositories and SSL for gitlab pages.
What do you dislike about the product?
I've found setup for self-hosted instances to be a little bit difficult and overly complex. Other than that, I don't have a whole lot of issues with Gitlab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using it to host both public and private code for personal and professional code. It's allowed me to store code securely and easily without needing to worry about either the cost or the details/hosting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With Github's recent pricing changes for private repositories, the time to try gitlab has never been better. They tend to be really responsive to user requests, in part because it's open source software.