Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Genymotion Cloud : Android 7.0 (nougat)

Genymobile Inc., | v12.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Axel M.

Best alternative to slow android studio avd

  • June 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Genymotion is very easy to use to begin with. It also gives developers access to different devices of different android versions that consumes less ram than android avds in android studio. Genymotion also lets me to easily set dummy device location while testing location aware mobile applications.
What do you dislike?
Genymotion is the best alternative to the slow android avds in android studio. It saves me time so I would only reccommend it to those still using android studio avds instead of genymotion.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used Genymotion in building, debugging and testing android applications. Its easy to integrate with the current version of android studio, its fast not like the android emulators thats comes with android studio, its easy to add new devices and its also easy to install gapps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a faster android emulator to test, build and debugg android applications just go for genymotion. Its faster and easily integrates with android studio. In short am just trying to help you save time and increase productivity.


    Rebecca T.

Straightforward device simulator

  • April 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Genymotion is extremely easy to get up and running.
What do you dislike?
If anything, the UI is a little bit unpleasant.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Genymotion as a mobile developer to test the apps I'm building. The biggest benefit is being able to test an app on a wide variety of virtual devices within one platform.


    Cédric T.

Perfect Android emulator

  • December 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fastest Android emulator available, easy to use plugin in Android Studio and lots of choice for device configuration
What do you dislike?
Must use addons to install google play services which is required by many application
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing mobile apps for customers


    Jorge Alberto H.

Poor performance launching our native application

  • August 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install the app, easy to sign up and easy to use the app.
What do you dislike?
Poor performance for native application, not able to log into the google play.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Portability - easy to access to real devices from anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is good for responsive applications, but not good enough for native apps


    Pedro M.

Easy to use Android Virtual Device Manager

  • November 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use. It's really amazing how quickly you can setup an android simulator and start testing any code. Genymotion offers a lot of speed and stability.

I'ts great that it works on Windows, Linux and Mac. Installation is super easy, however you must have Oracle's VirtualBox on your machine.

What do you dislike?
First of all, I don't like the fact that you have to create an account to use the free version even if this version has so many limitations for development options.
It's not available for older versions of Windows (XP/VIsta) or any 32 bit Windows.


What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Testing and debugging.

There is no better and faster emulator.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a great, speed and efficient tool for Android Developer.

It's also a very good tool for a Virtual Android.

Doesn't work for production.


    Luis Felipe A.

Excelent Emulation for app testing with Linux mint

  • November 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like genymotion because it is an application excelent when I want to play my favorites games in Android from my computer directly. In genymotion is posible emulate any smarthphone and version of Android. Also it is the only one working with Linux SO.
What do you dislike?
Some versions of android available don't have gapps compatible. This is a problem when I want to install some applications or games using google play.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Genymotion is very important for testing Android apps from my computer with Linux Mint OS, especially because this Emulator is the only one that working on Linux in this moment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend that minimize increasingly using RAM memory.


    Ian C.

Easy to get started android emulator

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really love how quickly I can set up an android emulator and start testing my code. I can select from a myriad of devices to emulate, which mostly just changes a "skin" that wraps the phone and the resolution that the app(s) run in. Very quick to get started.
What do you dislike?
I can't stand how limited the free version is for development. I can't save any kind of settings (like a location on the GPS between different sessions of testing). I considered buying a license to get unrestricted, but the price of the license was too high to justify an annual subscription. I would have preferred to purchase the software outright over subscribing at such an astronomical price. Also, it turns out that the emulator runs android in x86 mode only as opposed to emulating a mobile process, which leads to phantom bugs that don't show in the emulator but do show on device.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm able to test android software quickly and efficiently.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's quick and easy to get up and running since all you have to do is select which device you want to emulate, and initially it was faster to run apps in Genymotion because it ran Android in x86 mode as opposed to trying to emulate a mobile processor. However, the native android emulator provided with the android SDK has advanced leaps and bounds in the last year and a half and can perform emulated mobile processor at a much faster speed now, and is just as easy to get started with. There is no longer a need to use Genymotion, and it's far too expensive to get started with. They will only continue to increase their pricing because with the free (and better) Android SDK emulator being available for commercial use Genymotion will need to price gauge their existing customers to stay in business.


    jim p.

A faster alternative to Android Virtual Device Manager

  • October 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
If you are looking for a testing platform for your android apps, your options are the AVD that comes with Android Studio, running android on a virtual machine or a standalone application like Genymotion.
While AVD is a very capable option, Genymotion offers some clear advantages, the main ones being speed and stability.
Its speed is closest to a real device, from boot time to app usage. Other unique features that Genymotion has are: simulate a GPS, use your computer's webcam as android cam and simulate battery levels.
You can select from many pre-configured android devices and choose on which android version you'd like to test your app.
I've never had any stability issues, which can happen with AVD at times.
Genymotion works on Windows, Mac and Linux. Its system requirements are modest, so any computer purchased in the last few years will run it comfortably. Installation is easy, however you must have Oracle's VirtualBox installed on your machine.
The user interface may not be as polished as Google's AVD, but it still looks nice, clear and easy to use.
The price for the personal version is reasonable (there is a more limited free version available).
What do you dislike?
The main "con" is that Google's Android Virtual Device Manager is available for free and is a very good option that does most of what Genymotion does.
Genymotion is not available on older versions of Windows (XP/Vista or any 32 bit Windows).
You have to create an account in order to use the free version. which is something I don't like.
There is no ARM support,no Android Wear support.
While Google's AVD always has the latest version of Android, Genymotion requires some time until it supports the latest versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
If you are looking for the fastest nd most stable Android testing platform, Genymotion should be in your short list.
Testing and debugging on multiple android devices and versions with ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give Genymotion a try if you are looking for a faster and more stable platform.


    Andrew T.

Rather good and convenient

  • August 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can simply drag and drop files to emulated device. They will be copied or installed whether it is .APK
What do you dislike?
You have to rebuild app twice to make changes apply. You cannot drag and drop if you started genymotion as administrator.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Develop apps. Genymotion is fast, and easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not start it under administrator account


    Internet

Fast and easy to use

  • August 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fastest Android emulator in the market. Easy to setup and use. Free for personal use.
What do you dislike?
Somewhat quirky. If things are going well then that's awesome but if something starts to fail then debugging the issue is hard.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Emulation of Android apps. One of the biggest benefits is that I can do the testing using my laptop without a test phone.