Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Genymotion Cloud : Android 7.0 (nougat)

Genymobile Inc., | v9.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

45 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Cédric T.

Perfect Android emulator

  • December 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fastest Android emulator available, easy to use plugin in Android Studio and lots of choice for device configuration
What do you dislike?
Must use addons to install google play services which is required by many application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Developing mobile apps for customers


    Jorge Alberto H.

Poor performance launching our native application

  • August 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install the app, easy to sign up and easy to use the app.
What do you dislike?
Poor performance for native application, not able to log into the google play.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Portability - easy to access to real devices from anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is good for responsive applications, but not good enough for native apps


    Iain S.

Best android emulator available

  • January 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Doesn't crash like the other emulators I have used, has big selection of devices and good features like gps mapping. They keep up todate with the latest version of Android usually a couple of days after a version release. Can emulator device features like camera, GPS, battery levels, Phone capabilities, network conditioning.
What do you dislike?
Nothing it's a great product. The performance is great and the selection of devices is great too latest devices are always availability.

Occasionally crashes on my macbook when left for a long period of time e.g. 3-4 days.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running a simulator to test android applications in a quick manner. Emulating device features with out having to buy all the android devices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Update this product regularly as the updates are great too. Requires virtual box when installing so keep that updated too.

Try to only have a couple of emulators at the one time as they take up large amounts of hard drive space, I limit my self to 1-2 and just delete and re-add as needed.


    Pedro M.

Easy to use Android Virtual Device Manager

  • November 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use. It's really amazing how quickly you can setup an android simulator and start testing any code. Genymotion offers a lot of speed and stability.

I'ts great that it works on Windows, Linux and Mac. Installation is super easy, however you must have Oracle's VirtualBox on your machine.

What do you dislike?
First of all, I don't like the fact that you have to create an account to use the free version even if this version has so many limitations for development options.
It's not available for older versions of Windows (XP/VIsta) or any 32 bit Windows.


What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing and debugging.

There is no better and faster emulator.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a great, speed and efficient tool for Android Developer.

It's also a very good tool for a Virtual Android.

Doesn't work for production.


    Luis Felipe A.

Excelent Emulation for app testing with Linux mint

  • November 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like genymotion because it is an application excelent when I want to play my favorites games in Android from my computer directly. In genymotion is posible emulate any smarthphone and version of Android. Also it is the only one working with Linux SO.
What do you dislike?
Some versions of android available don't have gapps compatible. This is a problem when I want to install some applications or games using google play.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Genymotion is very important for testing Android apps from my computer with Linux Mint OS, especially because this Emulator is the only one that working on Linux in this moment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend that minimize increasingly using RAM memory.


    Ian C.

Easy to get started android emulator

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really love how quickly I can set up an android emulator and start testing my code. I can select from a myriad of devices to emulate, which mostly just changes a "skin" that wraps the phone and the resolution that the app(s) run in. Very quick to get started.
What do you dislike?
I can't stand how limited the free version is for development. I can't save any kind of settings (like a location on the GPS between different sessions of testing). I considered buying a license to get unrestricted, but the price of the license was too high to justify an annual subscription. I would have preferred to purchase the software outright over subscribing at such an astronomical price. Also, it turns out that the emulator runs android in x86 mode only as opposed to emulating a mobile process, which leads to phantom bugs that don't show in the emulator but do show on device.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm able to test android software quickly and efficiently.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's quick and easy to get up and running since all you have to do is select which device you want to emulate, and initially it was faster to run apps in Genymotion because it ran Android in x86 mode as opposed to trying to emulate a mobile processor. However, the native android emulator provided with the android SDK has advanced leaps and bounds in the last year and a half and can perform emulated mobile processor at a much faster speed now, and is just as easy to get started with. There is no longer a need to use Genymotion, and it's far too expensive to get started with. They will only continue to increase their pricing because with the free (and better) Android SDK emulator being available for commercial use Genymotion will need to price gauge their existing customers to stay in business.


    jim p.

A faster alternative to Android Virtual Device Manager

  • October 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
If you are looking for a testing platform for your android apps, your options are the AVD that comes with Android Studio, running android on a virtual machine or a standalone application like Genymotion.
While AVD is a very capable option, Genymotion offers some clear advantages, the main ones being speed and stability.
Its speed is closest to a real device, from boot time to app usage. Other unique features that Genymotion has are: simulate a GPS, use your computer's webcam as android cam and simulate battery levels.
You can select from many pre-configured android devices and choose on which android version you'd like to test your app.
I've never had any stability issues, which can happen with AVD at times.
Genymotion works on Windows, Mac and Linux. Its system requirements are modest, so any computer purchased in the last few years will run it comfortably. Installation is easy, however you must have Oracle's VirtualBox installed on your machine.
The user interface may not be as polished as Google's AVD, but it still looks nice, clear and easy to use.
The price for the personal version is reasonable (there is a more limited free version available).
What do you dislike?
The main "con" is that Google's Android Virtual Device Manager is available for free and is a very good option that does most of what Genymotion does.
Genymotion is not available on older versions of Windows (XP/Vista or any 32 bit Windows).
You have to create an account in order to use the free version. which is something I don't like.
There is no ARM support,no Android Wear support.
While Google's AVD always has the latest version of Android, Genymotion requires some time until it supports the latest versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If you are looking for the fastest nd most stable Android testing platform, Genymotion should be in your short list.
Testing and debugging on multiple android devices and versions with ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give Genymotion a try if you are looking for a faster and more stable platform.


    Andrew T.

Rather good and convenient

  • August 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can simply drag and drop files to emulated device. They will be copied or installed whether it is .APK
What do you dislike?
You have to rebuild app twice to make changes apply. You cannot drag and drop if you started genymotion as administrator.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Develop apps. Genymotion is fast, and easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not start it under administrator account


    Internet

Fast and easy to use

  • August 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fastest Android emulator in the market. Easy to setup and use. Free for personal use.
What do you dislike?
Somewhat quirky. If things are going well then that's awesome but if something starts to fail then debugging the issue is hard.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Emulation of Android apps. One of the biggest benefits is that I can do the testing using my laptop without a test phone.


    ronner m.

Genymotion

  • July 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything I like .. because with this application could emulate an android on my PC so test applications without leaving you stop using the computer
What do you dislike?
nothing disgusts me , all excellent in this application , the best android emulator application I've tried
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
many benefits because they do is emulate or run in desktop computers where they are creating applications , mobile devices generally require the most popular
Recommendations to others considering the product:
100 % recommended for all people who want faster when emulating a android on your computer