Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Genymotion Cloud : Android 7.0 (nougat)

Genymobile Inc., | v9.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

45 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniela A.

As an Android Jr Dev, Genymotion has made debugging a bliss.

  • May 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When you're working with Android Development you need to test your applications fast, hassle-free and within some parameters you might need. Genymotion will help you make that really easy to try, debug and present your applications without any kind of issue when setting up your desired virtual android.
What do you dislike?
The price can mean some real expenses if You're beginning into Android Development, luckily they offer a free version you can use to test and debug your applications without any kind of limitation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Genymotion + Android Studio for Android development is the final IDE. I've been using it for months and haven't looked into the defaults virtualization environment of the IDE.


    Jiahao L.

This is a much better emulator than the stock emulator

  • April 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Emulator is much faster than the stock emulator provided from Android Studios.

Easy to setup virtual devices and use.

Polished, straightforward, and updated UI.
What do you dislike?
Needs Virtual Box software to start the virtual devices.

Using Geny Motion to sync with Android Studios or other IDEs may be a little bit confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For Android app development, I had used Geny Motion in place of the stock Android Studios emulator for the virtual devices for testing my apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Prepare to spend some initial time for the setup process. Once that is complete, it's smooth sailing from there.


    Mohammed E.

The best emulator yet!

  • April 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Mac for development and use split screen with Android Studio and Genymotion emulator, its very nice fast, reliable, good features, drag and drop
What do you dislike?
sometime when i put my device to sleep and comeback after a while, the emulator is running fine, but the pipe to adb is broken, i think this is the main issue for me, so i had to restart the emulator again to make it work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The time when Genymotion presented there was no other good option, the native or the official emulator for Android development sucks and slow, and Genymotion was the best replacement for it.


    Egor A.

Great alternative to native Android emulators

  • March 17, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Genymotion simulators are very fast compared to the Android emulators coming with the Android SDK. Additionally, Genymotion seems to be more robust than native emulators, I've experienced a lot less issues with Genymotion than with the emulators.
What do you dislike?
There's no straightforward solution for setting up Google Play Services on a Genymotion simulator. Most of the apps nowadays use Play Services, so it would be a huge improvement if Genymotion provided out-of-the-box support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using Genymotion for active development, when I need to deploy the apps and test them quickly.


    Constantine C.

Genymotion - the best Android emulator

  • March 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and configurate emulated device. Good customer support.
What do you dislike?
New Android versions are very slow. For example, it's impossible to test application on Android 6.0.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing and debugging android applications. Genymotion faster than default Android emulator.


    Robinson A.

Android developers must have!

  • February 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a rookie android developer, the current state of the Android Studio virtualization suite is still new and sometimes bug. I got Genymotion as a virtualization enviroment for my application debugging. Haven't looked back to the standard Android Studio AVDs.
What do you dislike?
It can't be run on low-end pcs, even if you have a nice amount of ram and a decent CPU it can take forever to boot a virtual device. Looking forward some fixes about this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Android Studio's device virtualization can be a pain and sort of bug sometimes. Using Genymotion i can easily debug my applications in no time, adb connection is just perfect and no issues at the moment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're into Android Development or you're looking to get into it, i encourage you to give Genymotion a try when creating a virtual device to testing. It will save you a lot of time and headaches.


    Mohamed Z.

Brilliant tool!

  • January 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing in my opinion is the optimization of this tool, run very quickly and dont stuck.

Other thing i like is the compatibility with many OS.
What do you dislike?
Truly i don't dislike something form this tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I wasn't having problem but this tool helps to have all in one screen.


    Gauri G.

I have been using this for personal and profession application testing.

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It actually starts a device emulator like i have plugged in actual device to my computer, the installation of application through adb works like piece of cake.

You get real feel of devices like some apps i work with need a particular VPN connection and the emulator picks up same internet as my laptop, not requiring any specific configuration.
What do you dislike?
Thats a tough one to answer, the one thing though (for all i know its related to ADB install) the custom tablets don't pick my app that well sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I started using it as part of my personal training of react-js android development. I really liked it at that point.

Soon after that at work, i was moved on a project with android-ios developement. As i work from home on certain occasions and don't always have access to physical devices genymotion comes as huge help to me. (In some cases you need to be logged in to device, the chrome emulator doesn't work in that case so genymotion is cool in that aspect)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's very important to test on most of well selling devices since there might that difference by .1 on a certain device which you want/need to change. At the same time, we can't buy all the devices we want to develop for in that case genymotion is just the thing you're looking for.

If you're learning android development and don't want to mess up your personal phone/tablet with all the settings related to allowing third party installation et al, genymotion is just the tool to come in handy.


    Computer Software

Love the product! Fast emulators that closely follow AOSP.

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is as fast as you can get on a x86 machine, and much much faster than official Google emulators that saves time for each apk installs and execution.
What do you dislike?
Genymotion doesn't always have the latest OS images available, there is usually a gap in the range of a few weeks to two months.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As android developer, we need fast and reliable way to test our app against; Genymotion emulators reduced the turn around time in development cycle, as well as reduced a lot of test flakyness that you get with slower official emulators.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My apk install time using official arm emulator: 40 seconds, official x86 emulators: 10 seconds; genymotion: 2 seconds. 10 installs you saved 80 seconds of productive, in the zone time.


    Luis M. G.

Best

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the emulator performance you got with Genymotion. I also like the different devices you can try on and the integration with the OS (for instance, copying and pasting text from your PC to the Android emulation is seamless. Also installing apk files to the Genymotion emulator with the drag-and-drop is practical). Its user interface is really easy to use and even the inexperienced user can install and have it running in seconds! Having the most commercial images is another plus of using Genymotion, because you can quickly discard possible issues in the most used devices. Be able to create custom devices is also appreciated, because you can test your apps in more specific or odd devices.
What do you dislike?
Some features are closed in the free versions, but you can live with that if you are an independent developer. Those features are more focused for business niche, which can afford them. For example, in the free version you have to redownload the images when a new Genymotion version is released to enjoy all the provided features and make it compatible with that new version,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm an independent developer, thus the main benefit of using Genymotion is you don't need extra or expensive hardware to run recent images or most used Android devices, as you would need with Google's standard emulator .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Genymotion is really easy to install and run. Your development and QA procedures will benefit from Genymotion emulator. It's a must!