Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

AWS Storage Gateway

Amazon Web Services | 2.1.5.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

27 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jenni E.

Hybrid cloud storage by Amazon Web services.

  • November 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple, easy to comprehend, easy installation, and controls the workflow. It allows modification in your data easily. It offers safety while transferring the data and no information is lost during transfer. It has powerful integration with other applications. It allows easy execution of machine learning procedures for data analysis. As it offers cloud back-end, so the data availability is higher during performance.
What do you dislike?
It is vastly automated but not as much customizable. It does offer a good quality of support. Its implementation process is difficult. It is very time taking process to keep these hybrid clouds and you are required to put effort into each of them. It is not cost-effective. It requires more expenditures and investment. File sharing is limited. Consumers are not permitted to take a path surpassed from the boundary as it causes faults.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This tool is very easy and consistent and works efficiently. Its setup is very simple and easy. It operates on a wide range of virtualization software. it is remarkable for simple file incorporation to Glacier and S3. It empowers you to choose the operating system user interface design, language, and web apps. This software is strongly integrated into several other Amazon platforms including Amazon S3, EBS, etc.


    Nevil B.

Access to my data when I want

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good user interface
Ease of use and custom configuration
It can be used from my Smartphone with internet access
High level of Privacy and Security
Many GB, is the most that offers
Fast when it comes to hosting multiple documents and full access to the users of my work so they can use them.
Great configuration for a professional environment with many useful tools.
Perfect connection speed when I access my information.
What do you dislike?
The mobile App leaves to be desired, it is something unstable
Doubtful future.
One of the most striking alternatives for the privacy issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I open the application and download and save my files at the moment. Ease of use, user panel very simple and integrable with my smartphone. It guarantees me to have all my work integrated in a single application without the need to make multiple working copies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Cloud to save and recover files in the cloud with a high degree of security.


    Alicia S.

Excellent tool!

  • November 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wide range of data can be stored anywhere and safely. While you are storing data on AWS it will further assist you to locate the data and you can use the information for sharing. There are multiple places available for the storing of data.
What do you dislike?
The only problem with the software is that it provides instructions that are quite irrelevant and unreliable. Furthermore the instructions are limited and often provide some specific categories for the application of data storing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Best storage device for the purpose of storing and saving data of business. A businessman now needs no new storage devices and components that are costly. They help in making the storage process more easy and efficient. It helps in caseeating a strong and safe backend for the data of your business. The software helps all The sizes of businesses and lead them to enjoy multiple options for saving the info.


    Keane M.

Cloud management of my documentation

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?

Unify and order all my company information in one place.
I can access all the information, applications and data of the company from anywhere on the planet and at any time.
In a single system, I can control or manage various projects within the company
It allows to reduce management expenses.
It allows the early detection of any incident and the rapid implementation of solutions.
Facilitates decision making more quickly and safely.
What do you dislike?
The implementation is usually not perfect and sometimes complex, since it involves redesigning the work schemas and processes of saving the files.
It has a high cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

In my case, I work by storing infrastructure in the cloud where at certain times there is a lot of demand and the platform needs to be scaled, in addition to using container services (ECS), machine learning services, analytics (Athena and EMR), LDAP ( Cognito) and others (API Gateway, Lambda ...).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Large amount of data for professional users who need total security.


    Information Technology and Services

aws is fantastic

  • October 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Amazon cloud service getting improved day by day. virtual system over cloud and you can easily store data there. this is very secure. privacy conditions and recovery options are good
it works on NFS, SMB, and iSCSI. all are good storage protocols
What do you dislike?
price of the product is high.must be reduce the price
rest all is good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
never faced any problems. if in future i get any problems i must write here
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes


    Isabella M.

“The hybrid cloud storage”. It can be shared as well

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides you compression, encryption and management of your data. You can make changes in your data anytime. Your workload can be scaled easily.It provides you durability and security of your data transferring. No data loss.As it is integrated with other apps so you can easily apply machine learning algorithms for your data analyzing as well.It manages your workflows. As it provides you cloud back-end so its data accessibility is high at performance. It is very simple.No disruptions are required.It is easy to download and easy to install.
What do you dislike?
In AWS .it is very time consuming to maintain these hybrid clouds and very costly as well. You have to work on each of them. You must need expenses and more investment for it. There are limitations in file sharing. Clients are never allowed to make path exceeded from the limit otherwise causes errors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This gate way provides you access to your recent used data. The data transferring in this storage is way easier and save. Everything you use is stored. It can be shared as well. It provides you proper management of your backup.It provides you different gate ways types such as volume gateway, file gateway etc.Storage gateway is compatible with other backing up applications so it is very useful. It manages your complete cache.Many enterprises required cloud storage for data so if you have a large enterprise then AWS is perfect for you.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended, This gate way provides you access to your recent used data.Everything you use is stored.


    Cassandra D.

An excellent storage gateway by Amazon Web Services

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS storage gateway delivers gateway-cached volume that allows you to get in touch with Amazon S3 for crucial information. AWS Storage Gateway carefully transfers your information to AWS over SSL. It is familiar with iCloud but it is more easy to use in a working setup and more consistent. It is a great platform for business use and links to other Amazon platforms.
What do you dislike?
The installation requirements i.e.: minimum processor and ROM/ RAM requirements are high of this appliance. There is nothing to identify or quantify the amount of data that has been written on S3 or how much memory space has left on it. It provides no uniformity of snap shooting. SS copies seem to crash. It there is a network outage, the status of the appliance would be difficult to check.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is linked to a file server. The file interface provides on-premises apps and servers access to the Storage Gateway as a network file segment. The heavy interface takes the Storage Gateway to on-premises servers and apps as local disk. Data stored in them can be moved into Amazon S3 cloud storage and is reachable via the Storage Gateway service. It saves data locally for maximum performance.


    Kristen D.

The AWS Storage Gateway is a service, associating an on-premises programming machine.

  • August 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS offers Gateway-Cached volumes which enable you to use Amazon S3 for your essential information, while holding some segment of it locally as well. Gateway-Cached volumes and Gateway-Stored volumes give the capacity to make and store point-in-time previews of your stockpiling volumes in Amazon S3. The AWS Storage Gateway safely moves your information to AWS over SSL and stores information scrambled very still in Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier utilizing Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) 256, a protected symmetric-key encryption standard utilizing 256-piece encryption keys. There is no compelling reason to re-engineer your on-premises applications. Passage Cached volumes and Gateway-Stored volumes uncover a standard iSCSI square circle gadget interface and Gateway-VTL presents a standard iSCSI virtual tape library interface.
What do you dislike?
For an average user, AWS is considered to be hard to implement. And making things worse, it’s for an average user highly automated and less customizable, which makes it less feasible for a user who is looking for customizations. Furthermore, there are mixed reviews for the quality of support offered by AWS Storage Gateway as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If there was a one liner to identify the value of AWS Storage Gateway, it would be that it can manage cloud storage backup and recovery automatically, absolutely without any hassle at all.


    Hospital & Health Care

Gateways are promising, but not ready for primetime

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup - they run on a wide variety of of virtualization platforms. Great for very basic file ingestion to S3 and Glacier. We continue to use the SMB gateway to write from legacy applications and ingest the data sets to S3.
What do you dislike?
We've had problems with performance on Virtual Tape Gateways, NFS Gateways and SMB Gateways. The gateway has no problem keeping up with uploading objects to Glacier and S3. However, virtual tapes had issues retrieving data virtual tapes - we were only able to restore 1 file at a time when attempting batch restores. SMB & NFS gateways were able to upload to S3 as fast as we could send data, but failed to flush the buffer - resulting in failed writes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used the Virtual Tape Gateways with our backup product. The NFS & SMB gateways were used to ingest small data sets from legacy applications to S3.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. Ensure that you're meeting the sizing recommendations for the virtual appliances.
2. Be aware of your data sets sizes - we needed to churn the maximum cache size every 8 hours. The appliance was unable to do handle this level of ingestion.
3. If you're doing a 1-time ingest from legacy storage, check out the aws cli s3 sync tool (for small datasets) or rclone (for large or complex datasets).


    OldSysMan

Unreliable instructions

  • December 12, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Product may well be fantastic, but as a total newbie trying to assess if this is the future of system backups, the documentation is apparently out of date/misleading. Where oh where is the '1-click launch' the documentation mentions? Skipping over that, I am directed to continue setup on marketplace by choosing the 'Manual Launch tab', which also doesn't exist.

So, next thought is to fire off an inquiry to tech support - but wait, I can only raise questions about 'Account or Billing' or 'Service Limit Increase', not about how to actually use the product.

And I thought Microsoft support and documentation was bad......