Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

AWS Storage Gateway

Amazon Web Services | 2.1.5.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

32 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ankit J.

Best Storage service and gateway -AWS

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration and management. Using cache it can work faster and for security purpose its use SSL. Tape, S3, File and volume gateway setup on AWS is the easy part.
What do you dislike?
Storage gateway setup in on-premises is a little bit difficult for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using S3 and solved many real-time issues. Like Avabilitties, Latency and storage space. We have configured with web-mobile based app and we are storing all data in S3. Working fantastic currently.
For Backup purposes also we are using S3 and very easy to configure automation using CLI and lifecycle.


    Wilcox Y.

Product Works well in hybrid environments. Easy to setup and configure

  • October 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about this service is the easy low cost secure. It has all of your storage needs and you know everything is securely backed up. Allowing clients access via AWS S3 to only their files is important. Confidentiality unpins my business. I also store all my course modules on AWS, this allows me to know the course content I produce is not sitting on a website or other platform - everything links with one click.
What do you dislike?
Remembering not everyone is an IT person - could be more user friendly. I am technical so it's easy to understand but maybe more challenging for those standard users so sometimes you have to dumb down the technical jargon on the site.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
AWS storage gateway provides this service for high availability and low latency. It is good for items such as being good for data backup solutions, S3 attachments to traditional servers and relatively easy to manage once it is configured and setup.


    Ajit Kumar k.

AWS Storage Gateway easy way to share storage workload to cloud

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gives a hybrid environment for data storage wherein you can store your data in a cloud environment from your datacenter/application.
What do you dislike?
Nothing such dislikes but If it can have any tool integration for faster data transfer feature(May incur some cost for it) it would be little better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have an on-premise application that stores data into the cloud, so we used this service to perform data transfer seamlessly.


    Abhinav J.

Amazing for storing all our files, movies and stuff, without any limit to Storage

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS S3 backs AWS Storage service; I use it to keep all my videos and photos on this. it provides access to those files from anywhere and that too with very low latency.
What do you dislike?
It's bit costlier compared to other products in the Market, but the AWS ecosystem compatibility provides a great addition.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using AWS Storage Gateway for storing all my files as after I started using this, I never have to think of a Storage limit anymore. The compatibility of this with other AWS Services provides a great addition to those who are using AWS Services.


    Confucius

Needs clarity on Documentation

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Storage Gateway works when configured properly, BUT the documentations are not clear. There are different types of Storage Gateway to choose from and it gets confusing when the documents does not specify each options.


    Frustrated

OLD VERSION! DOES NOT WORK!!!

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I spent two days working with AWS Support running through their Tier 1 checklist before I figured out that this is an old version of the Storage Gateway AMI that DOES NOT WORK! DO NOT USE!!!


    Juliet M.

Excellent Cost Effective Cloud Storage Service

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS storage gateway has all your data easily & securely backed up. It is also very economical. You simply pay for whatever place you use only. It can be used as file backup and at time of disk crash you can restore them quickly. Its snapshot restore is an amazing feature that lets you keep track of files even if you delete them. They have efficient and robust customer services. It is a perfect tool for taking backups, archiving and disaster recovery.
What do you dislike?
AWS storage gateway does not provide enough transparency around data consistency between local and remote copies. There’s no consistency of snapshotting. All snapshot copies will seem like “crash” copies of data. Its reporting is also quite poor and inefficient. The lag in time of having the AWS console pull back latest configuration information from a gateway appliance is also quite annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
AWS storage gateway provides this service for high availability and low latency. By chance, if any server crashes then AWS storage gateway provides a backup Machine to the user to continue using their services. It also reduces the risk of losing data. Medium or big scale organizations can use it to protect confidential data and files. It is also quite an inexpensive solution
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Medium or big scale organization uses this feature to protect confidential data. This is a very useful service in any organisation. It provides high availability and the user can observe that Machine is always up to use. It provides local performance with virtually unlimited scale. We can transfer the data into and out of the Cloud. We can use the service for backup and archiving, disaster recovery, cloud data processing, storage tiering


    Jenni E.

Hybrid cloud storage by Amazon Web services.

  • November 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple, easy to comprehend, easy installation, and controls the workflow. It allows modification in your data easily. It offers safety while transferring the data and no information is lost during transfer. It has powerful integration with other applications. It allows easy execution of machine learning procedures for data analysis. As it offers cloud back-end, so the data availability is higher during performance.
What do you dislike?
It is vastly automated but not as much customizable. It does offer a good quality of support. Its implementation process is difficult. It is very time taking process to keep these hybrid clouds and you are required to put effort into each of them. It is not cost-effective. It requires more expenditures and investment. File sharing is limited. Consumers are not permitted to take a path surpassed from the boundary as it causes faults.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This tool is very easy and consistent and works efficiently. Its setup is very simple and easy. It operates on a wide range of virtualization software. it is remarkable for simple file incorporation to Glacier and S3. It empowers you to choose the operating system user interface design, language, and web apps. This software is strongly integrated into several other Amazon platforms including Amazon S3, EBS, etc.


    Nevil B.

Access to my data when I want

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good user interface
Ease of use and custom configuration
It can be used from my Smartphone with internet access
High level of Privacy and Security
Many GB, is the most that offers
Fast when it comes to hosting multiple documents and full access to the users of my work so they can use them.
Great configuration for a professional environment with many useful tools.
Perfect connection speed when I access my information.
What do you dislike?
The mobile App leaves to be desired, it is something unstable
Doubtful future.
One of the most striking alternatives for the privacy issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I open the application and download and save my files at the moment. Ease of use, user panel very simple and integrable with my smartphone. It guarantees me to have all my work integrated in a single application without the need to make multiple working copies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Cloud to save and recover files in the cloud with a high degree of security.


    Alicia S.

Excellent tool!

  • November 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wide range of data can be stored anywhere and safely. While you are storing data on AWS it will further assist you to locate the data and you can use the information for sharing. There are multiple places available for the storing of data.
What do you dislike?
The only problem with the software is that it provides instructions that are quite irrelevant and unreliable. Furthermore the instructions are limited and often provide some specific categories for the application of data storing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Best storage device for the purpose of storing and saving data of business. A businessman now needs no new storage devices and components that are costly. They help in making the storage process more easy and efficient. It helps in caseeating a strong and safe backend for the data of your business. The software helps all The sizes of businesses and lead them to enjoy multiple options for saving the info.