Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CockroachDB

Jetware | 170512-cockroachdb_1_0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

13 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Versatile SQL Based database

  • September 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about cockroach db is that it supports various datatypes not only the standard one.
What do you dislike?
It does not store timestamps properly and effectively.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using CockroachDB to store dimensions and measures of data. It is simple to use, easily scalable and provide support for all data types like string, array etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation thoroughly before using and it supports all postgres syntax.


    Rishabh G.

Highly scalable and available database for distributed data needs

  • December 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are many cool features like:
1. Live cluster scaling options
2. Geo partitioning
3. High availability
4. backup options
5. archiving of data
6. change data capture implementation
7. different topologies for different needs
8. ACID properties
9. Authentication model
and many more..
What do you dislike?
Not exactly something I dislike but it certainly lacks consumer forums as of now because it is quite new in the market.
There are some features also that are missing in cockroach DB. Though it is coping up very good even after not having those but still sometimes those features are missed. These features include:
1. We can not write procedural code here (no support to PLSQL)
2. GIN index is a great feature but partitioning of GIN index is not yet supported
3. Some functions related to array that were present in postgres that makes the processing simpler are not available in cockroachDB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted a robust, highly scalable and a distributed database with very low read latency across multiple geographical locations. CockroachDB solves this in a very effective manner.
CockroachDB also support change data capture(CDC) on its own. We just need to redirect the CDC traffic to the end solution where we want to store our CDC data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a highly scalable, robust and high availability distributed database, You can always consider cockroachDB. Though the consumer forum is not that great as of now but the customer support is really quick and awesome.


    Banking

Experience was good but found few performance issue when compared to mysql

  • December 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Found good as distributed, and gets updates frequently
What do you dislike?
Performance issue regarding transactional support with java
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not solving any problems of cockroach. Used with containerized apps which is great.


    Ashutosh A.

Perfect Distributed SQL DB for ACID consistent transactions requirement

  • December 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are multiple benefits of using CockroachDB, however, some of the best features which I like the most are: Ideal for ACID consistent transaction requirement, create multiple data copies across multiple nodes to provide the highest availability in case some other node goes down or fails. Robust SQL Interface, don't need to learn a new dialect for administering data. You can easily scale it and couple it as per your application necessities without much hectic as it balances data automatically as more nodes are added. Operational Simplicity is another great benefit of using CockroachDB. Due to which a cluster can easily be started using a few commands along with data replication to multiple regions. Focus on taking advantage of cloud scale and developed primarily for cloud-based applications making it perfect for modern-day requirements.
What do you dislike?
Though it supports most of the Postgres SQL dialect, still it lacks support for some very useful Postgres queries which is a major drawback. Moreover, as the complexity increases it can lead to difficulty in large-scale data querying and can cause frequent crashes. Due to the major focus encompassing strong consistency & availability it results in multiple data replication. Overall the performance becomes considerably slow which can be a major drawback depending on the application requirements and architecture.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CockroachDB ensures the highest data availability which is the most crucial requirement for some use-cases. It creates multiple data replications across multiple regions, so that system data remains available irrespective of any disaster/ node failure. Moreover, it presents a very easy mechanism to scale nodes and simply engage with the existing architecture.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent choice for applications requirement focusing around maximum availability and strongly consistent ACID transactions.


    Vishal S.

Just Like Cockroach its hard to kill.

  • December 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like it auto replicating which makes it hard to kill.
We are using this where high traffic is going on , so if one node crash we are still operational.
And it's SQL is just like postgreDB.
It can be used on heavy traffic project.
It's Auto replication features provide high abilities.
What do you dislike?
Few features like concat is not available for community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CockroachDB is helping us on high availability.
High amount of data can be handled.


    Aman P.

Cockroach DB is best of the both world with Legacy SQL and No SQL

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Distributed SQL DB with focus on OLTP
The best feature of Cockroach DB is it is managed database ,
Horizontal Scalabilty which is very helpful as in modern world of stateful application .
Cockroach DB is platform-agonisitic
Multi Active Availability Database
Geo-replication startegy
It support all modern languages include Go , Python , JS
What do you dislike?
Large DB cluster requires manual start which is the drawback in production ready env
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scalabilty of Database
multi-availability with geo-replication
Strong Consistency with ACID Transaction
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Company who is looking for platform-agonistic Database with geo-replication startegy with consistency can go with Cockroach DB


    Telecommunications

Great database worth checking out

  • October 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature rich, has great online tutorials and Cockroach University.
Wish this was around 20 years ago! ACID compliant.
What do you dislike?
It can be simple but gets complex quite quickly as you start using Geolocation features, i guess there is a steep learning curve but worth it to master the advanced features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Distributed data that has all the bells and whistles.


    Banking

Exceeds expectations

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best documentation from CockroachDB helps adoption in a faster manner and DB works exceedingly better than expected. Postgres compatibility is really done in such a great manner that migrating from Postgres to CockroachDB was pretty easy than expected.
What do you dislike?
None as of now. My application needs do not get me into a state where I feel like i dislike to not have any needed feature in CockroachDB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My application was initially developed with Postgres and we decided to shift to CockroachDB for its Automated scaling, failover and repair feature and its compatibility with postgres so that our migration would be easier. It exactly solved our needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reliable and works well. Would definitely recommend others to consider CockroachDB usage.


    Gowtham C.

Easy Managability with High Availability

  • October 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High Availability feature, and easy to manage
What do you dislike?
Havent found anything as of now. May be exploring more will help
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
backup and restore of db is not required all the time with cockraoch db which is manditory step with all dbs


    Ali R.

Great Col/Value DB with strong ACID Transactions

  • July 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data Distribution
Access mechanism
ACID guarantee
What do you dislike?
Features are great did not find any conflict yet
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Can handle Huge Data store with distributed trx
Strong Trx features