Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CockroachDB

Jetware | 170512-cockroachdb_1_0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

8 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Aman P.

Cockroach DB is best of the both world with Legacy SQL and No SQL

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Distributed SQL DB with focus on OLTP
The best feature of Cockroach DB is it is managed database ,
Horizontal Scalabilty which is very helpful as in modern world of stateful application .
Cockroach DB is platform-agonisitic
Multi Active Availability Database
Geo-replication startegy
It support all modern languages include Go , Python , JS
What do you dislike?
Large DB cluster requires manual start which is the drawback in production ready env
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scalabilty of Database
multi-availability with geo-replication
Strong Consistency with ACID Transaction
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Company who is looking for platform-agonistic Database with geo-replication startegy with consistency can go with Cockroach DB


    Telecommunications

Great database worth checking out

  • October 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature rich, has great online tutorials and Cockroach University.
Wish this was around 20 years ago! ACID compliant.
What do you dislike?
It can be simple but gets complex quite quickly as you start using Geolocation features, i guess there is a steep learning curve but worth it to master the advanced features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Distributed data that has all the bells and whistles.


    Banking

Exceeds expectations

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best documentation from CockroachDB helps adoption in a faster manner and DB works exceedingly better than expected. Postgres compatibility is really done in such a great manner that migrating from Postgres to CockroachDB was pretty easy than expected.
What do you dislike?
None as of now. My application needs do not get me into a state where I feel like i dislike to not have any needed feature in CockroachDB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My application was initially developed with Postgres and we decided to shift to CockroachDB for its Automated scaling, failover and repair feature and its compatibility with postgres so that our migration would be easier. It exactly solved our needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reliable and works well. Would definitely recommend others to consider CockroachDB usage.


    Gowtham C.

Easy Managability with High Availability

  • October 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High Availability feature, and easy to manage
What do you dislike?
Havent found anything as of now. May be exploring more will help
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
backup and restore of db is not required all the time with cockraoch db which is manditory step with all dbs


    Ali R.

Great Col/Value DB with strong ACID Transactions

  • July 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data Distribution
Access mechanism
ACID guarantee
What do you dislike?
Features are great did not find any conflict yet
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Can handle Huge Data store with distributed trx
Strong Trx features


    Sushant P.

Ease of setup and use with powerful global delivery of data.

  • July 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The initial setup, how straight forward it is to get started with the globally distributed data store. Beats everything I have tried so far from Oracle to Cassandra DB!
What do you dislike?
Missing capabilities to create SQL functions. They a very handy to manage complex relationships or to manipulate large data sets - instead of having to pull them in the application layer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Serving customer data, all local to them across the globe. Helped us achieve simplify the architecture, quick adoption of a truly globally distributed database right from PoC to MVP to now under development for production.


    Higher Education

Basic Cockroach DB usage to create a scalable DB in a few minutes

  • July 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful is how easy you can setup a cockroach DB with a few steps. Also their support can be absolutely helpful.
What do you dislike?
An upside is that some of their features are only in enterprise edition.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Strongly-consistent ACID transactions is a big feature for a distributed SQL, such as cockroach DB. You also do not need to care about how much you may need to scale your app in the future. The DB can handle this for sure
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The benefits are many. Try to use it and you'll probably earn from it.


    Information Technology and Services

A SQL Database That Actually Scales

  • January 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CockroachDB is an innovation solution to easily scaling our SQL database and the fact that scaling works out of the box is a huge advantage to our team. Some of the advice features, such as managing data locality, are also very convenient and have saved our team many, many hours of work by not having to implement these features ourselves.
What do you dislike?
Depending on what your requirements are, you may find this solution much slower than a traditional database solution. Latency can be an issue and some SQL queries are not sufficiently optimized by the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CockroachDB allows us to a SQL interface database for our web app that is extremely easy to scale. The fact that we can host is across cloud providers and utilize CockroachDB themselves for managing our database has resulted is much simpler database management.


showing 1 - 8